Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Rocket.Chat Enterprise Edition

Rocket.Chat | 2.4.9

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

101 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Human Resources

Like Slack but WAY better!

  • May 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple setup and cross platform makes it a win. Then add to that the super low cost to use it and not run out of storage is fantastic. Working on transitioning the entire team to Rocket Chat now.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that I haven't figured out how to do, and maybe it can't do it, is to do audio calls and screensharing. This is something we used it Slack quite frequently but have alternative tools to fill the bill until it can be baked into Rocket Chat
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We aren't really solving problems other than the imposed restrictions we are hitting with Slack in terms of storage. Rocket Chat is saving us money on the cost of the system while providing a much larger amount of storage capacity.


    Wholesale

A good chat system for our internal communications

  • May 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Web based so our users don't need to install a client. Able to integrate authentication to rocket chat from our web based software. Bot capabilities enabling us to integrate alerts and interaction into our internal software.
What do you dislike?
Took us a while to figure out why our logging into rocket chat was slowing down so much. After lots of trial and error and other research , figured out we need to manually clear our the tokens so it doesn't get extremely bogged down.

Also there was an auto installed update that completely broke the hubbot for us. Was a disruption for our business. We ended up having to install the server a different way so we could roll back to and older version of rocket chat in order to get it to work again.

We don't auto update anymore due to several occurrences where it auto updated and broke things and ended up disrupting our business.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
use for instant messaging between our users, using bot to integrate into our software for notifications


    Alec K.

Great chat software, limited security due to AWS servers

  • May 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RocketChat doesn't have too many extras and it almost works offline. I.e. you can read and post messages even when offline. The cheerful interface is a welcome departure from low contrast "modern" design.
What do you dislike?
Rocket.Chat is a Brazilian company. One would think you would be safe from the endless spyware of American providers (American tech companies are legally obliged to spy on you and barred from telling you about it by law). But no Rocket.Chat instead of hosting their chat independently on servers in neutral countries decided to build their infrastructure on AWS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rocket.Chat gave us low maintenance high quality chat at a single monthly fee and reduced our dependence on our primary intranet provider. Sometimes we used LiveChat on our website. We were happy with it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Self-host unfortunately, as the Rocket.Chat corporate hosting is now on AWS which means zero security for you and your company. You may as well post Facebook instant messages to one another.


    Steve C.

Excellent enterprise chat tool

  • May 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We liked that we could host our own chat solution and we owned the backend data. We also gained features that hangouts chat was lacking since hangouts was going away.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the chat nodes were not respo sive and required a full OS reboot in order to.clear up. We ended up having to schedule reboots in order for the servers not to go down.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trying to find a chat solution to meet our company needs since hangouts was retiring. We liked the slack like features at a cheaper cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you understand mongo db.


    Aminda C.

So close but with a few caveats

  • May 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We love the flexibility. As a small growing company the ability to add on new people as we grow, without worrying about outrageous upgrade costs. the interface is simple.
What do you dislike?
Updates can cause significant interference with workflow. The search function is lacking, it would be nice to be able to toggle between channel and global searches. (maybe there is a way but we haven't found it yet?) but the one thing that keeps me from loving this is the lack of followup notifications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RC is necessary for our business. I can't imagine trying to function without keeping us all connected especially with our remote employees. My favorite most recent addition was adding a Zappier that updates a social media channel with mentions. That has helped us really interact with our community!


    Julio C.

Rocket Chat, the wordpress for the Chat, ChatBots and Live Chat

  • May 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source and have a VERY active community. It is going to to be for Chat what wordpress is for websites today.
What do you dislike?
It is not much a dislike but yet annoying is the constant changes it goes through. It is hard to keep up with the changes and updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
integration between NLU engines, mobile chat applications and Live Chat agents in several different business websites.


    Aviation & Aerospace

Some nice features but not a Business Product

  • May 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use, had good options for locking down channels and was easy to see channels that had been setup for public use. Private chats worked great.
What do you dislike?
Very little contact from the Dev team, the push notification change was discovered after a bunch of troubleshooting. The documentation was spotty, we ended up going to slack over Rocketchat enterprise so I did not have experience with their priority support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a chat program that could meet the CUI rules. It worked for a bit but then ran into issues. As stated above we switched programs before trying the enterprise level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for very small teams


    Banking

The free team chat and productivity booster

  • May 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rocket.Chat provides teams with a way to co-ordinate and disseminate information without the noise created by email. By using Rocket.Chat, answers can be obtained and decisions can be reached immediately or in minutes by reaching out to the relevant parties, instead of first scheduling a meeting, inviting multiple parties (often very many not even concerned with the issue at hand) and trying to find a suitable time to bring everyone to the same place, where the actual issue is usually buried beneath many others. Rocket.Chat helps cut through the noise by providing focused discussions.
UPDATE - 15 May 2019
I just had to add an update to this review as we have just upgraded to Rocket.Chat 1.0 which brings cool new features, including threaded replies and discussions. These are things I haven't exactly missed, as the existing features were good enough, but I have sometimes thought they would be nice to have. Having started using them, I think that we will be using them very much going forward!
What do you dislike?
Rocket.Chat still needs an easy means to start ad-hoc private conversations between a group of individuals, the way that Skype allows you to do. Currently, you have to start a new private group and invite a list of individuals. It does not have the simplicity of starting a private group chat that simply involves selecting a number of individuals and sending a message to them.
Another small niggle is that, when replying to a message, the user's IDs are shown on the original message instead of their names. When the IDs are based on numbers, this becomes a little confusing as you may not know who sent the original message (although you still see the user avatar, which helps if they have set one).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rocket.Chat saves time that would be spent on pointless meetings. With Rocket.Chat, people can focus on their deliverables and be involved only in the discussions that are relevant to them.
Our team, for example, uses Rocket.Chat to do our daily stand-ups, where we share what we are working on. Previously, this required everyone to be in the same place at the same time. With Rocket.Chat, we can share this information without the need for this, and a stand-up does not need to interfere with anyone's work.
In using Rocket.Chat, we have found that adopting a team chat solution involves a great mind shift and cultural shift. The best value from such a solution is derived from keeping chats "in the open", i.e. using public forums so that different teams and managers can easily see, without querying individuals, what is happening on the ground. However, this requires a level of trust, especially in a large organization, that is not always present. That trust has to be established between individuals and teams in order to get the best benefit out of the product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For ease of installation, use the snap package provided with Ubuntu. It is the easiest way to install and maintain the application and you receive automatic updates.


    Farah W.

not slack but close

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
my company made the switch to rocket chat from slack to avoid fees for archived and old messages. We needed our messages not to expire after a certain amount of time, and slack requires a premium subscription for that feature. as a small company, we couldn't afford that. So I like that it's accessible to smaller businesses.
What do you dislike?
the mobile app is hard to use. There's no mobile option to add members to a channel, and it's hard to mark your message as unread to save it for later. I don't like that users can't specify what their job title is in their user profile. This makes it difficult to keep track of colleagues across a big network.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My wide network of remote colleagues uses Rocket Chat and the biggest benefit is that messages remain intact instead of expiring like on slack.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
desktop UX is better, mobile app needs work


    Civic & Social Organization

Rocket.chat is a great tool for on-line mentoring projects

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The platform is very stable and easy to use. The app is also very friendly and cool.
What do you dislike?
Layouts cannot be changed and the customization is very limited.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It solved the problem with chat platforms in my Mentoring projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a very good platform for on-line mentoring and coaching projects.