Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Device42 BYOL - Comprehensive Hybrid IT Discovery and Inventory Mgmt

Device42, Inc. | v16.15.00

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS Linux 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Great CMDB tool with lots of integrations

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The autodiscovery is a great way to easily keep track of every virtual machine and their operating system, (virtual) local area network, IP address, datacenter location, type of hypervisor (in our case Hyper-V or VMware), customer it belongs to and so on...

Also we had a small issue regarding the autodiscovery: some of the VM's in our new Hyper-V cluster we're not being discovered. The support was quick and very helpful. We managed to solve this issue within a day thanks to the great support of the Device42 team!
What do you dislike?
The only downside I experienced is when a clone of a Windows virtual machine creates a conflict with the original virtual machine. A simple sysprep can do wonders however. No issues with Linux.

A nice extra feature would be the ability to test if an IP address is listening to a specific port (let's say 3389 for Windows and 22 for Linux as an example)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our company we use Device42 to keep track of all the virtual machines in our datacenter, customers, VLAN's, SQL licenses and so on. It's also being used for submitting and keeping track of billing of our services (like monitoring, backup, patching, licensing and so on).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Device42 is a great tool to keep track of your resources, especially virtual machines and all their relateable data such as customer, VLAN, IP address and so on


    Aaron B.

Senior Linux Engineer

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Device 42 is by far the easiest to administer of all the CMDB asset tools that we have used. It user interface and robustness are unmatched and pricing is esxtremly attractive
What do you dislike?
The only issue i have is and it may be just with me as i find it difficult to find accurate information on the api. They may be do to the continued upgrade and improvments device 42 roles out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We didn't have a automatic way to inventory and place infrastructure in and out of service. This tool allowed for quick and easy discovery with excellent reporting that allowed us to save a ton of infrastructure costs based on system that were powered on but forgotten or under utiliezed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to communicate expectations clearly to your team.


    Information Technology and Services

Device42 - New Generation Discovery Tool

  • September 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration and easy job scheduling. Good reporting. Good graphical view of portal.The tool is easily configurable and easily accessible.There are lot of options available for getting the infrastructure details. You can do the infrastructure as well as Network discovery using Device42 tool. It also has a feature to monitor infrastructure Resource Utilization which is helpful in predicting the required VM size on cloud. Also it can be integrated with Azure cloud for doing the Assessment. The DOQL utility is very helpful to run the scripts to get different types of reports from your discovery. The best part is they have very good support people and they provide best support in less time
What do you dislike?
The tool is getting updated frequently and sometime you need to update the version of your tool on the fly to resolve the bugs or issues occurring in discovery. The Remote Collector and Main Appliance Log Bundle sizes grow very fast which become hard to find the errors in them and upload them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We get a summarized reports for customer environments by doing the discovery. Migration from on-prem to cloud becomes easy by doing discovery and assessment. We have done the infrastructure discovery for four customers using this tool. We have also done the network discovery for clients which gives details of customer network devices as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a best tool for Device discovery of your infrastructure. Also it can give the information regarding your network devices as well. Along with it have a new option of Resource Utilization. So you can get the resource utilization details as well using this device and can easily predict the VM size for Cloud. The company has very good support. The support people are very friendly and provide very best support in less time.


    Esteban C.

The solution for stop using excel sheets and documentation bad habits

  • September 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The possibility to have in one tool IPAM, IT Asset Management and Datacenter Management
What do you dislike?
Maybe could have more widgets in the dashboard with all the information that it collects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- IPAM
- Rack Management, specially if you are not physically in the DC, it will very helpful
- Asset Management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent product to replace the bad habit of using Excel sheets or shared documents that are hard to maintain,
If you have a large number of devices the search bar could help you a lot trying to find an specific hardware, by name, ip, mac address, etc,
The datacenter map including rack view is one of the best features of the tool,


    Military

A smooth program with many setting options.

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to modify and use only the modules you want.
Also just show the modules needed for each tech.
Easy to use and get started.
What do you dislike?
I wish it was a little easier with reports on wiring between patch panels.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IP planning simple and clear. Quick overview if I have space in my server room. I also like the password management module.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to get started, don't start implementing everything at once.


    Telecommunications

Good DC asset inventory

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup of VMware vcenter autodiscovery
What do you dislike?
need a better understanding of Application Dependency Mapping features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Asset & IP management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ease to install and upgrade
Good asset management utility


    Rafael E.

Solid and Stable CMDB Software

  • August 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Device 42 is the best CMDB Program in the market. Allows to monitor IT Assets and create reports and data models which are useful in decision making processes. Highly recommend.
What do you dislike?
Depending on the IT structure of the company, the information of particular device is not available depending on the support DB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For companies in Chile and South America is imperative to asses their IT inventory and improve their inventory management process, We have support several companies addressing these needs and meeting their objectives.


    Government Relations

My experience in Device 42

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Device42 because of automating data center management with a variety of auto-discovery tools for network, physical, or virtual infrastructures and easily manage IT spare parts hardware inventory.
What do you dislike?
Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All Equipment are discoverd via Device42.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Presentation materials for the marketing strategy.


    Lavi B.

Administrating device42 for the last 4 years as our private cloud main source of true

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Device42 is very easy to install, backup or restore its data (if needed).
It provides an out of the box discovery according to pre-defined jobs (e.g. network, windows, ucsm's etc...)
It provides a very good Rest API which is very helpful for adding new fields as customized fields to device42 DB using a script that runs on the servers.
Device42 license cost is very low (comparing to other products).
What do you dislike?
device42 server is one appliance server and by that, it can get very loaded in case of too many API calls or too many activities on it at the same time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Device42 data is our private cloud data replication. the data we get via reports and/or via scripts (Rest API) is our source of truth to manage our cloud and a very real-time data.
that regards to capacity management, getting data per every aspect in our cloud servers and components.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very much recommending device42 as one tool to administrator data centers


    Ravikanth B.

User Friendly & Great Product

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Device 42 is so for the easiest and quickest infrastructure discovery deployment software i have ever seen in discovery and configuration management space. Its cutting edge features and capabilities created to handle Infrastructure Planning and Migrations are awesome.
What do you dislike?
As there is continuous development going on to improve the capabilities of the tool, sometimes its getting difficult to understand the changes happening from version to version. I believe creating a release notes to its users for every release and with every download helps to understand the changes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Device 42 for different types of client deployments (Tool based, Script based, Agent based) to collect the most accurate and complete Infrastructure data.