Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Device42 BYOL - Comprehensive Hybrid IT Discovery and Inventory Mgmt

Device42, Inc. | v16.04.02

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS Linux 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

26 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Esteban C.

The solution for stop using excel sheets and documentation bad habits

  • September 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The possibility to have in one tool IPAM, IT Asset Management and Datacenter Management
What do you dislike?
Maybe could have more widgets in the dashboard with all the information that it collects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- IPAM
- Rack Management, specially if you are not physically in the DC, it will very helpful
- Asset Management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent product to replace the bad habit of using Excel sheets or shared documents that are hard to maintain,
If you have a large number of devices the search bar could help you a lot trying to find an specific hardware, by name, ip, mac address, etc,
The datacenter map including rack view is one of the best features of the tool,


    Military

A smooth program with many setting options.

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to modify and use only the modules you want.
Also just show the modules needed for each tech.
Easy to use and get started.
What do you dislike?
I wish it was a little easier with reports on wiring between patch panels.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IP planning simple and clear. Quick overview if I have space in my server room. I also like the password management module.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to get started, don't start implementing everything at once.


    Telecommunications

Good DC asset inventory

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup of VMware vcenter autodiscovery
What do you dislike?
need a better understanding of Application Dependency Mapping features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Asset & IP management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ease to install and upgrade
Good asset management utility


    Rafael E.

Solid and Stable CMDB Software

  • August 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Device 42 is the best CMDB Program in the market. Allows to monitor IT Assets and create reports and data models which are useful in decision making processes. Highly recommend.
What do you dislike?
Depending on the IT structure of the company, the information of particular device is not available depending on the support DB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For companies in Chile and South America is imperative to asses their IT inventory and improve their inventory management process, We have support several companies addressing these needs and meeting their objectives.


    Government Relations

My experience in Device 42

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Device42 because of automating data center management with a variety of auto-discovery tools for network, physical, or virtual infrastructures and easily manage IT spare parts hardware inventory.
What do you dislike?
Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All Equipment are discoverd via Device42.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Presentation materials for the marketing strategy.


    Lavi B.

Administrating device42 for the last 4 years as our private cloud main source of true

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Device42 is very easy to install, backup or restore its data (if needed).
It provides an out of the box discovery according to pre-defined jobs (e.g. network, windows, ucsm's etc...)
It provides a very good Rest API which is very helpful for adding new fields as customized fields to device42 DB using a script that runs on the servers.
Device42 license cost is very low (comparing to other products).
What do you dislike?
device42 server is one appliance server and by that, it can get very loaded in case of too many API calls or too many activities on it at the same time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Device42 data is our private cloud data replication. the data we get via reports and/or via scripts (Rest API) is our source of truth to manage our cloud and a very real-time data.
that regards to capacity management, getting data per every aspect in our cloud servers and components.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very much recommending device42 as one tool to administrator data centers


    Ravikanth B.

User Friendly & Great Product

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Device 42 is so for the easiest and quickest infrastructure discovery deployment software i have ever seen in discovery and configuration management space. Its cutting edge features and capabilities created to handle Infrastructure Planning and Migrations are awesome.
What do you dislike?
As there is continuous development going on to improve the capabilities of the tool, sometimes its getting difficult to understand the changes happening from version to version. I believe creating a release notes to its users for every release and with every download helps to understand the changes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Device 42 for different types of client deployments (Tool based, Script based, Agent based) to collect the most accurate and complete Infrastructure data.


    Jeremy R.

Great product for organizing our data center

  • June 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that it stores all of my data center information in one place with great relational capabilities.
What do you dislike?
For our specific needs, it is a bit on the expensive side. I wish that there was a lower entry point price-wise.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to organize all of our information in one place with an easy to use interface.


    Yasin S.

Superb product, allowed us to view/manage our infrastructure from a desk properly!

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Complete DCIM Management, the ability to easily capacity plan, manage assets, carry out impact assessments etc is invaluable, together with value for money.

Very easy to setup, excellent discovery options, good integration with other products and good support. They will find the root cause to issues, even if it takes time.
What do you dislike?
Currently no show stopping issues, we have a few feature requests that we would like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Documentation of infrastructure, ease of capacity planning, secure access to data centre information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a trial, you will love it. Ensure you outline the issues you are trying to solve so they can guide you accordingly, because the support is awesome, but only if they know what you need. They have cloud only options.


    Information Technology and Services

The overall experience of D42 tool , its features\functionality & support is extremely good.

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Device 42 is a very good tool for agentless automated discovery.
The features this tool offers are far more than its competitors offers.
Its easy to implement & use.
Most important thing is if you stuck somehwere you will get excellent support from D42 support team.
What do you dislike?
The topology diagrams should be more presentable and you cannnot download all diagrams at one click. You need to open each device then you can download the diagram one by one. Few reports like service dependency reports are huge in size. We should get separate queries for fetchign inbound and outbound reports.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its easier to get server utilization reorts and to find out server dependencies. You will get exact details like by using which port server its communicating, what dependecy server should go along while moving the particular application server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Device 42 is a very good tool for agentless automated discovery.
The features this tool offers are far more than its competitors offers.
Its easy to implement & use.
And the most important thing is if you stuck somehwere you will get excellent support from D42 support team. They are technically sound and of helpful nature.