Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic (Arm)

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 ARM 20220616

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,184 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Kyle Q.

One of the most User Friendly Linux Distros!

  • September 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to use, and not as daunting as some Linux Distros.
- Able to go to work right 'out of the box'.
- Able to use the 'Software Center' to get Word Processing Software, Alternative Browsers, and etc.
- Easy to update using the built in terminal.
- Easy to install applications using the terminal.
- GUI is a joy to use, and if you want you can customize every aspect of your experience.
- Steam runs perfectly if you are a gamer.
- Most Windows applications can be run using a application called W.I.N.E, (Wine Is Not an Emulator).
- Community is very helpful if there are any support issues, and so is Canonical.
What do you dislike?
- A bit difficult to use if you switch from a Windows Operating system, (Win 7 and 8) to Ubuntu, but that is the same with any Linux Distro.
- Sometimes programs on Software Center are outdated and need to be updated through the terminal after installation.
- AMD driver support leaves much to be desired, I have a R9 260X and have some issues with a couple graphical issues, but Nvidia support is spot on. Was able to use my older GT card with no issues. Their is talk to increase the support in the future. Regular applications work well on both AMD/Nvidia, but as far as gaming or design software it can have a couple issues. Not a game breaker but does need to be advised of.
- Some windows applications may or may not run due to it being a different Operating System.
- Sometimes some weird bugs do pop up every now and then, nothing a quick google search can't resolve however.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A lot of what we do when it comes to Software Creation we always try to test on other Operating Systems to be sure, and I test more on the Unix-Linux side where my business partner focuses on Mac OSX and Windows, I have figured out that Ubuntu is a good starting point to test what needs to be improved if on some systems things don't operate as they should. So for what I use, Ubuntu is the starting point for our applications to be converted over to the other Distros, such as Red Hat and XFCE.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Have some experience with a Linux Distro, or just a quick rundown just in case.
- If you ever need anything, the Ubuntu Community is one of the more friendly Linux Distro Communities.


    Nicole A.

The Only OS I want to use

  • July 13, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I'm the sort of Linux user who wants to open a terminal and use Emacs and not mess with much of a GUI. Ubuntu lets me do that. I frequently need assistance with configuring (and years ago, using) Linux - Ubuntu has a great support community. I want to be able to buy or build a computer that will work with Linux - Ubuntu has great support for lots of hardware. It is possible to buy a laptop already running Ubuntu - I will likely never get a laptop any other way.

I've used Ubuntu for almost 10 years, on at least a dozen different computers. It has gotten easier to use with time and the hardware support has drastically improved. I've experimented with other flavors of Linux, but haven't found any reason to switch to them.
What do you dislike?
I don't love Unity. I liked gnome-shell and was sad when that wasn't implemented. Some of my computers (old and underpowered) have difficulty running Ubuntu; it seems to be the graphical requirements of Unity and Compiz. I have turned off as much as possible, but it seams like the newer versions of the OS just don't work well on a 10-year old computer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My work computer is "required" to run Windows. I solve that by running a virtual machine with Unbuntu. Ubuntu makes python, LaTeX, emacs, and Gimp easy to use. When my students need help getting anything to work, I tell them that step 1 is to install Ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I typically serve as my own Administrator. Compared to a Windows computer, it is difficult/impossible for a user to install software and configure the system without Administrator privileges.


    Computer Software

Reliable and easy to use

  • June 26, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is cool. It is stable. You can change a lot of settings according to you.
What do you dislike?
Not every software is available for this OS. Also the graphic cards are not supported, so cannot use GPUs for image processing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a linux OS and this is one of the easiest and nice looking OS out there.


    Biotechnology

Ubuntu and MAAS And service orchestration, Openflow

  • May 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I used ubuntu for MAAS , Openflow and service orchestration deployment. It was great solution with a lot of detailed document and un believeable support, for open source solution.
I liked the support and community to make this product better and better, it seems they are on right track , specially i heard they or on path to deploy ubuntu as an os for mobile devices, I believe they are gonna be leader in cloud and scalable system deployment, recently Wlmart deployed 100,000 servers using this platform, UBUNTU and MASS.
What do you dislike?
I like its simplicity and power to create a strong framework for private cloud deployment and cretate an scalable infrstucture which is really powerfull and well managed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I designed whole back- end system in new architecture using ubuntu and its MAAS and JUJU , service orchestration.i tworks unbelievable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is best solution to deploy scalable and serivce orchestration, without any doubt.


    Eric S.

Benefits of using Ubuntu

  • May 05, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its free and easy to install on the PC and Server and its getting better every year.
What do you dislike?
Linux scripting is hard work, not being a developer the slashes and dots in the scripts take time to figure out and need a number of Google searches to find the answers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Able to use as a testbed and with Apache middleware can add other Systems or applications on top.

Built and tested a number of Content Management Systems (CMS) products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Useful to have a Developer with Linux scripting experience.


    Anthony E.

An OS That I can Live By

  • December 16, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the community-driven, open-source aspect of Ubuntu, as well as its definition "a quality that includes the essential human virtues; compassion and humanity." Ubuntu has recently replaced Windows as my daily-driver - and for good reason! This operating system has finally come into its own and incorporates ease of use, functionality, design, and speed into a one-stop, open-source solution to all my computing needs.
What do you dislike?
Being accustomed to Windows, Linux poses its own set of challenges when making the jump to Ubuntu. I feel that Ubuntu is a great stepping-stone into the world of Linux due to its incorporation of graphical user interfaces, providing users with similar functionality to Windows. My dislikes all stem from nothing more than lack of experience and working knowledge at this point - again all my questions have been answered thus-far by seeking assistance online through forums and technology articles. Ubuntu has proven to be a great platform capable of everything I have looked into.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu provides a free and stable replacement to Windows without sacrificing any functionality, support, or usability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Utilize the fantastic community support knowledge-base - it is there for a reason!


    Jon J.

Potentially a major competitor next to Apple and Microsoft

  • August 13, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The vision that Ubuntu is starting to launch includes features and products that could potentially give it a very high competitive advantage over companies like Apple, Microsoft, and Android. They're are now revealing some pretty amazing products like "Ubuntu Edge."
What do you dislike?
The bummer about it is that with being a part of an open source community, your funding suffers. Their current crowd funding project on indiegogo for the Ubuntu Edge will probably not even fund.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out. Open source rocks!


    Ahmed S.

Most reliable and sucure operating system

  • August 12, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Ubuntu operating system for the past 2 years. Ubuntu is very fast in start-up, shutdown speed and also it has a very simple and nice GUI customizations. I've been using it for installing oracle weblogic server and deploying my oracle java applications on it and to be honest Ubuntu is very fast in retrieving data from the database and also it is very secure and reliable.
What do you dislike?
The most thing I dislike in Ubuntu is the complexity in using it and I don't mean the normal using I mean the professional working such as programming, applications development, servers, etc. You have to spend sometimes in using it so if you have a problem then you'll solve it quickly otherwise you have to search for sometimes to reach the solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to use it and you will never use another operating system.


    Michael S.

Great When Applied Properly

  • June 12, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am tech savvy but I am not a developer or IT guy. I used Ubuntu when I needed a simple operating system for my newly purchased Raspberry Pi. Raspberry Pi's have limited memory space because your hard drive is an SD card. I only needed to run XBMC to play movies one my TV through my Raspberry Pi from an external Hard Drive. Ubuntu was perfect. I am 100% certain that any other OS would have crash my Raspberry Pi. The UI for Ubuntu and Linux in general allows for much more freedom than either Windows or OSX.
What do you dislike?
Huge learning curve. Definitely not for everyone. Really only works if you can get it write, but when you get it right it shines bright.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Before venturing into the world of linux make sure you understand certain system fundamentals.


    Mitch M.

Best Flavor

  • May 26, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Coming from the Mac/Pc world Ubuntu is a surprisingly easy transition, it has a much easier UI than I had expected.
What do you dislike?
Linux is definitely not for the average user, it does have a learning curve and your mainstream OS are much better equipped with simplicity and ease of use for non programmers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mint is very similar and many would argue is a little better, I would weigh the two options before deciding.