Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CloudGuard Network Security with Threat Prevention and SandBlast

Check Point Software Technologies | R81.10-335.986

Linux/Unix, Other Gaia 3.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

314 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    David R.

The best in the development of advances technologies

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The use of Threat detection or the sandboxing technology I think that are betters than others firewalls manufactures. They provide scalability allowing multiples configurations of high availability, for example you can configure HA with the standar VRRP, or you can use ClusterXL technology or you can use the new Maestro technology.
What do you dislike?
May be the most traumatic experience with Check Point could be the upgrade process if you need to upgrade from very old versions, although the process has been improved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
One of the problem that Check Point are helping to solve is in detection of the unknown threats. CheckPoint can help security administrator to stop unknown attack in early stages preventing expensives damages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a firewall that help you with new threats attacks vectors Checkpoint is one of the best in class.


    Matt M.

Versatile Security Protection --Like a Swiss Army Knife for Security

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Checkpoint Next Generation Firewall proves to be a great solution for our small business infrastructure. R80 Security Management has allowed our company to easily (and significantly) improve our protections over time. With blades for IPS, Firewall, and Application Control, we feel our network is secure from cyber threats. Overall Checkpoint NGFW has been an easy to manage and efficient Firewall solution.
What do you dislike?
Not very much negative to say about the product itself. I do however wish it wasn't so costly to get certified in the Checkpoint realm. With no self study approaches, the cost to get training is really high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have slowly decreased the risk landscape of our network by implementing HTTPS inspection, IPS features, mobile access, and more. The main benefit I have seen would be how easy configuration was compared to other vendors.


    Biotechnology

Checkpoint customer for 20 years

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
support. Checkpoint support is probably one of the best in the field. It is very rare that you get a technician who does not truly understand the product.
What do you dislike?
Price point. While the Checkpoint products are well worth the price you pay, the initial pricing can be high and possibly will persuade a company to look elsewhere.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use checkpoint products throughout our organization and have for well over 15 years. We use all the firewall blades to watch both internal and external networks. This allows us to monitor all our entry points to our networks and provides us with much needed control of huge amounts of data. side note, we also use a 3rd party SIEM to then report on these logs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are new to the checkpoint line of products the learning curve to get started can be a little tough as the way they do things can seem a little odd at times. however once you get used to that all the products tend to flow together and compliment each other very nicely.


    Hugo v.

Works well, but it requires a good understanding to operate well.

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Insight through the logs.
I have not yet seen another firewall with the same insight into traffic and events.
What do you dislike?
Some odd missing features like full SDWAN capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have choosen Check Point as our main firewall product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I strongly recommend to follow the administrator level training as minimum.
And if you can build your own lab I strongly recomemnd to us that to fidget with options.


    Wine and Spirits

CheckPoint NGFW is a game change for an SMB moving to true Enterprise.

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CheckPoint NGFW is a game changer for a company like ours that is in the transition of going from being an SMB to a small enterprise. Having moved from Fortinet to CheckPoint, there is no real comparison. CheckPoint NGFW really is the next evolution for the modern firewall.
What do you dislike?
The only "downsides" to CheckPoint NGFW when making a conversion like ours is are your typical challenges with such conversion. There is a learning curve, and the documentation takes some to get used to navigating and understanding.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We initially had some issues with one of our site-to-site VPN tunnels, but were able to work with support to resolve. We have had some issues with SecureXL, and have had to disable it for now. However, we sized our firewalls very well and this has not presented us with any performance degradation.


    Heine V.

Very friendly user interface

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SmartConsole interface is very intuitive
What do you dislike?
Application control and inspection features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A very complete understanding of the network in little time.


    Vighnesh R.

Check Point Next Generation Firewalls - My experience

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GUI / CLI capabilities. MDS domain , APP IP feature.
Vendor support
What do you dislike?
Could be competitive with firewalls like Palo Alto NGFW, the APP ID feature could be more smooth, custom App ID creation could be easier,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
N/w firewall policies, perimeter infra security, APP ID Vs ports.
Benefits - easy to navigate, hotfix/build patch update is smooth. Vendor support /diamond support is smooth, logs monitoring is also easy in R80.77 or other platforms


    Engels F.

Excellent experience, very satisfactory.

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As vpn concentrator. to bring secure access to internal network.
What do you dislike?
Fisical size look like poor performance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Stability in our vpn service.


    Financial Services

not great for more than layer 4 FW

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
not too much can think of, it works well on layer 4 filtering,
What do you dislike?
lot of the so called advance functions, but that isnt do great
when Tshooring, support needs us to send this send that, also Vi this and that makes the system not standard, what we needs is an appliance but not just piece of Linux with software which needs lot of manual configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
NA
Recommendations to others considering the product:
this core still based on the very old core design
all core code and folder still showing FW-1

I am not linux guru and checkpoint required you login ssh for all the fix check and test which is not the expectation -- did cisco asked you login to their core and tune some parameter when trouble shooting? no I believe

even R80.30 part of the tools that still not integrated, and those screen are still 77 style look and feel,


    Financial Services

Easy to use, robust, and value add product. Much better than entry level ASAs

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface makes managing firewall and other policies super easy. The combined functionality of our checkpoint cluster helped us cut down on rack space requirements and really sophisticate our security posture from what it used to be.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes getting support can be challenging. Once you get the right person, things usually end up going well however getting there can be difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our clients expect our infrastructure to be secure, which was difficult for our small team with our old collection of appliances. With Checkpoint, we were able to meet or exceed our clients' requirements without having to significantly increase our staff size.