Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CloudGuard Network Security Next-Gen Firewall with Threat Prevention

Check Point Software Technologies | R80.40-294.1237

Linux/Unix, Other Gaia 3.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

363 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sofia E.

Checkpoint as Genuinely next generation firewall

  • January 18, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The name speaks for itself - next generation firewall. This concept appeared much later than UTM. The main idea of ​​NGFW is deep packet inspection (DPI) using built-in IPS and access control at the application level (Application Control). In this case, IPS is just what is needed to identify this or that application in the packet stream, which allows you to allow or deny it. Example: We can allow Skype to work but prevent file transfers. We can prohibit the use of Torrent or RDP. Web applications are also supported. Or we can allow facebook.com but not the games. Essentially, the quality of an NGFW depends on the number of applications it can define. Moreover, the security gateway itself, which is usually placed on the network perimeter and performs the functions of a firewall, streaming antivirus, anti-bot, IPS, etc.
What do you dislike?
I expected more from smart console which is a client console for connecting to the management server (SMS). Typically installed on the administrator's computer. Through this console, all changes are made on the management server, and only after that you can apply the settings to the security gateways (Install Policy).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its Network protection tools have been used in the construction of security systems. The main difference between next-generation network devices is the ability to work with network traffic at different levels of the OSI model, including layer 7 - applications. Check Point NGFW assisted us n data security as well.


    Nijat S.

My Favorite Generation Firewalls

  • January 10, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like to use IPS in order to identify this or that application in the packet stream, which allows me to allow or deny it.
What do you dislike?
The fact that everything is combined within one UTM solution, which is easier in terms of integration, configuration, administration and monitoring, and this, in turn, has a positive effect on the overall security of the network.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I wouldn't say that it does me any good. But during work, if there is no time, it helps to reduce it.


    ANDRES FELIPE G.

NGFW, The Best Security Product For The Company

  • January 06, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
An experience for more than 10 years whose results have shown a high protection in the security of our company. The product has adjusted to our growing needs and has allowed us to improve the protection capabilities in out private and public network.
What do you dislike?
So far we have no criticism of the product. The manufacturer quickly makes adjustments that improve the firewall management experience, in addition to including updates against new types of attacks and vulnerabilities, which ensure greater protection.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Improve compliance & risk management
2. Drive innovation
3. Create internal/operational efficiencies
4. Improve business process outcomes
5. Improve business process agility


    Financial Services

Trustworthy and Scalable

  • December 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Maestro infrastructure is the most important point in last years for Check Point. Horizantal growth is possible with Maestro. Also local support is very good. Because this vendor is one of the oldest and lots of people has high level of knowledge.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes we can face some performances problems. When you open IPS blade, you can loose performance. Maybe routin mechanism can be improved. We have to write route on each gateway seperately. If there is a missing route when cluster switch, problem occurs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Check Point devices are in the middle of our environment and it has lots of benefits like segmentation, perimeter internet access. We use full blade active, IPS, AV, AB etc


    Information Technology and Services

Strong functionality suites with reportings

  • December 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Checkpoint Firewalls have a wide variety of blades built in and central management for all sites make it so easy.
What do you dislike?
Documentation is lacking for the level of organization
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
WE have a lot of security blades enabled to protect from malware


    Ray D.

Excellent firewall for threat prevention

  • December 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use - SmartConsole management is not difficult to learn. Many answers to questions are available to the public, and they have a dedicated community to support them.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's hard to get the right support engineer to help with the issue. Some tickets requiring a more profound understanding take a little too long before they escalate to the right person.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
URL filtering, IPS threat prevention, detailed logs, among others. I was impressed with the way Checkpoint handled the log4j vulnerability and made it effortless for us to update our IPS configuration to be protected from it.


    Banking

Great firewalls, easy to manage, especially when you have more than 2 devices.

  • December 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Management is one of the best. Easy to configure and logging is great. All in one place.
What do you dislike?
Hyper production of software versions lately. It brings lots of bugs and instability. But it is getting better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Firewalls are easy to manage, or replace in case of failure. Good visibility, reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really easy to deploy and manage. Also logging capabilities are among the best in the industry. Warm recommendation!


    Computer Networking

Excellent product for all organisation sizes

  • December 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Check Point offer a consistent security experience for all organizations from SMBs to large enterprises and ISPs. The feature set that is offered allows complete security on the appliances from IPS, anti-virus, anti-bot through to zero day threat prevention. Check Points management solution is second to none and has been an industry leader for over 20 years, and is now available in the cloud for a true cloud first experience.
What do you dislike?
Check Point firewalls are complex devices and can be tricky to setup in the most secure or performant environments. Because of this, it can trip up people who are not experienced with the devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
They allow me to have confidence that I am applying consistant, industry leading security on my network perimeters. The ability to trust that I can allow the firewalls to do their jobs without constant management and upkeep is amazing


    James R.

Check Point Firewall, consistently functional and strong

  • December 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As with any security process, there is a learning curve, but Check Point has always had detailed and easy documentation to learn from. The product has always been very stable, and on the very few times it reached a condition where the system had no idea what to do, it would send alerts quickly. We have been using the product since 2000 with no issues.
What do you dislike?
There are still some very outlying options that you have to drop to a prompt and run a script on. While I understand that adding a gui sometimes can lower security, the once or twice a year I have to go to the prompt always involves much refreshing and reading before hand.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Keeping the company secure from internet threats while providing a secure and fast onramp to the internet for the company. With so many business processes on remote internet-connected sites, having both security and speed to access those sites is critical.


    Haris E.

The Most secure firewall available in the market

  • December 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to manage. Support tickets are easily answered
What do you dislike?
No SDWAN capability. So no proper load balancing of ISPs to utilize the range of IP addresses provided
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Proper URL filtration
Detailed log entries for each rule
Scans every object for vulnerabilities
Backups and image snapshots.
Frequent OS update to address the latest threats