Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Enterprise Linux 6.10 supported by Navisite

Navisite | v2.0.0

Linux/Unix, Other 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Germari C.

Professional Stable System

  • September 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Install on PC and server for control, security and stable for users main system, full user registration, compatible with Fedora and RHEL applications, connect with different Oracle software and open source for control and visualization.
What do you dislike?
It demands a lot of system resources for low performance tasks, the system itself demands more and more with recurring updates.
Integrating the server requires time and a lot of Linux knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database registration, data control and stable and secure administration of extra Oracle applications and other independent services.
Increased performance compared to Windows servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Update server to have better performance main system manage Orable applications and much more.
Works together with RHEL.


    vinoth k.

Best and free database operating system

  • September 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use oracle Linux to replace our old windows database servers, It is easy to handle and compatible with all oracle applications. Since it is free to open source even startups can also make use of it. We do have a community where we can post our doubts In. The advantage of Linux is it does have multi-user support with windows we do not have this.
What do you dislike?
One should have the more technical knowledge to operate this. It does need a learning curve but it is totally worth having it.
It does have some bugs while updating the patches. Since it lacks GUI support it is not easy for beginners to handle.
They can improve customer service a bit.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We do use it for our database servers to manage our data. Since it is cheaper than windows server and security-wise Linux stands out of crowd
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is only for Linux-skilled personals who have prior experience in Linux commands. Once we learn those commands it is quite easy to handle this. It is way more secured than windows and it is also much cheaper.


    Information Technology and Services

Best OS for Hybrid Cloud

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's zero downtime automated patching is very good feature
What do you dislike?
It takes time to get feature upgrades, issue with bugs and patches while running
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is stable without sudden reboots and have better memory managment


    Sneha M.

Oracle linux: Compatibility and Scalability

  • July 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to install. It is an open source platform with open cloud network.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult to understand. It requires specialized employees and technical knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security is enhanced. It has optimizes the environment for better performance. Connection to Oracle database applications can be done easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try. It is a platform that provides high performance and scalability.
You can easily work with Oracle Linux if you have required skill set.
It has an extensive community.
It has high efficiency.
Oracle linux accelerrates digital transformation.


    Government Administration

Must have for working within the Oracle framework

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Before moving over to the Oracle Linux environment, we had used UNIX. LINUX has a better system architecture and has better compatibility. We also preferred it over Windows since it had multi-user support and was better with threading.
What do you dislike?
It takes some time to get used to the new command-line syntax and a bit of a learning curve with that. Still use a cheat sheet for that. We had some difficulty with drive mapping as well and user privileges when connecting from the Oracle DB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security has been enhanced going into Oracle Linux from Unix. There were some scripts that needed to be changed slightly for LINUX, but it was a minor fix. LINUX integrated with Oracle better since it optimized the environment for better performance. We received better support directly from Oracle as well when we ran into system issues.


    Anand s.

Best alternate for centOS "Oracle Linux"

  • July 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Found that Oracle Linux is providing similar features similar to centos. Performance is better because it is highly optimized. The kernel is tuned very well, the memory management is specifically excellent, so it makes for a very stable platform. Like more on security features. Linux is available in a number of easy to install packages that work well with Oracle databases.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have any GUI. OL require some technical knowledge. Commands are changed when upgrade from OL 6 to OL 7. Oracle Linux is available in a number of easy-to-install packages that work well with Oracle databases. Oracle Linux has very less number of users than other versions, which has lack of outside help. Very less number of open community to dicuss topics. Ads-on like Oracle and Zabbix support are insufficient.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OL has good security features. Scalability of the system. Using Linux security hacks can be avoided. easy to install packages that work well with databases. Installation of security patches automatically without a kernel of the operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Should give a try to whoever is looking for opensource alternatives. I would recommend using it for Database Server.


    Information Technology and Services

Oracle Linux Best OS for Oracle Applications

  • July 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its very easy to use for our oracle applications,Most secure and very easy to connect and resolve any issues related to applications,One of the Best OS that we are using for Oracle applications,One of the cheapest and best OS for enterprise applications and support most of Oracle applications
What do you dislike?
More graphical and vnc features needs to be added ,Should be more friendly to the Naive users,Need to introduce more tools which comes by default to the OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our applications are well certified and compatible with the Oracle Linux and very easy to use and install our Oracle applications with Linux,One of the Best OS To use for Oracle Applications,Secure and easy to install and connect,easy to maintain
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent OS For Oracle Applications,very easy to use for Oracle Applications and other enterprise applications,Better than other OS such as Windows OS which is very costly and not easy to use compare to Linux


    walter g.

Oracle Linux

  • July 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its kernel offers extensive performance and scalability improvements for the process scheduler, memory management, file systems, and the network stack
What do you dislike?
not widely used yet, not many installations that use it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ksplice technology updates the kernel, hypervisors, and critical user-space libraries, without imposing a restart or service interruption


    Maitry S.

It streamline our infrastructure development

  • July 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It improves security and lowers the cost.
It also optimizes performance.
It also improves scalability.
Its open cloud network.
Open source platform.
Vast community.
Easily avilable solutions.
Highly efficient and effective solutions available.
Easy installable with proper documentation.
What do you dislike?
It requires highly qualified technical administrators who are specialized in some skills set like shell scripting and vi editors.
It doesn't have any GUI, which makes it hard for less qualified people to understand it.
Because of lack of UI people don't preder to use it more compared to other open source platforms.
Required some coding standards which needs to be followed.
It require some technical knowledge.
Not UI friendly which is why it has less users compared to other open source platform because it decrease interaction for non technical people.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is supported by an oracle.
It has good security, which lowers the cost and improves the performance of any system.
It improves the scalability of the system.
Using Linux security hacks can be avoided.
It is an open-source platform that provides a big community.
It has an extensive community, which is good at times to get better solutions.
Efficiency is good, and that provides more solutions to it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Effective and highly efficient.
It has good security which prevents some failures and hacks.
Open-source platform.
It Improves scalability and flexibility.


    Mohammad S.

Oracle Linux Operating System

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle Linux is the best option as OS when you are using Oracle as database. It Is best for the cloud and data center platform with lower cost.
What do you dislike?
I don't find anything which I dislike about Oracle Linux but one with very limited knowledge of shell scripting and database concept will surely struggle
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux accelerate the digital transformation, and it is a complete operating environment which is open as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's time to move to oracle Linux to enter the era of digital transformation and cloud-based applications.