Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netspectrum's Ubuntu Desktop 18.04 LTS (arm64)

Netspectrum Inc. | arm64-18.04lts-211122-211126

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

96 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joji J.

Best OS to choose if you need 'Open Source'

  • January 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The transparency and ease of use is the primary advantage of Ubuntu as compared to other paid operating systems. As Ubuntu is open source, there is a contribution from an extensive group of people and is less likely to have silly common bugs. The Ubuntu community is pretty large and active and has releases almost every six months with more and more advanced features. Ubuntu OS is generally very easy to update. Very intuitive graphical user interface. One other advantage is its free and opensource. As the contributing community is comparatively very large, the errors or bugs reported are easily addressed and shared as patches.
What do you dislike?
Though many people contribute to the Ubuntu community, there are several areas where attention is required. Especially on the UI front. Rarely, the unity crashes and can be annoying to users. Also, compared to several other popular operating systems available today, Ubuntu can be a little bit confusing and difficult to use for naive users. It could have been more user-friendly though the user-friendliness is improving day by day. Ubuntu doesn't have good support for new games. It's graphic quality is not that great. Ubuntu needs to be installed manually. One needs to have good knowledge of how to run installs and basic Linux commands to install Ubuntu. It doesn't come pre installed in existing PCs and laptops.There is no dedicated support team as compared to other paid services that comes with other operating systems. Beginners find it really diffcult to adept to many features and settings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main advantage is on the cost side. As Ubuntu is free to use, there isn't any cost included with it. As a wider population uses the Ubuntu community, the support is also broad. A very much customizable user interface as a wide variety of user interfaces is available, whereas most other paid operating systems like Windows and MAC have only limited customization on the interface, Ubuntu is really developer friendly most of the dependent libraries are installed inbuilt and if not is really easy to install using the apt-get method.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a new user, give yourself some time to adapt to Ubuntu. Once you are used to it, you will start loving it. Ubuntu experince is relatively very rich compared to other operating system experience. Ubuntu desktop is highly recommended for server contexts.


    sumit s.

The best OS for low configration system and for developers

  • January 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most thing of this OS is it takes very little memory like right now, I am using Ubuntu 20.04 LTS even before this I used 18 and It is taking only 1.9 GB for OS memory although window take approx 4-5 GB so If your system configuration low like you have only 4 GB Ram That time you can use this one more thing If you want your system work like mac that time It is the best choice and compares to other Linux system It's UI is best like you have ubuntu software you don't need to download each and everything from the terminal and one more thing when your os will hang like windows you don't need to restart you can kill the process from the terminal and most important part is it is free open source so for downloading of deploying any software you don't need to pay to anyone
What do you dislike?
The most disliked part in all previous versions is it wifi driver like many times it's disconnected from the hotspot, so you need to restart your system but that time I try to download again wifi repo to resolve this issue but that time which repos mentioned in ubuntu official docs did not exist so I go with another one, but none of then is working so, please provide proper support for that
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Previously In 2019, there was a lockdown imposed in work that time all persons doing work from home that time I had windows PC with 8 GB ram but that was very slow, so that time I installed ubuntu, and it was working very fast, and for downloading purposes here we have ubuntu software and you know i am working on ubuntu since a very long time to during deployment time I use ubuntu instead for Linux because In ubuntu server it is really easy for me to find errors
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you were tried with hang is the system does not support issue also if you are using another Linux version, then please try ubuntu ones you will definitely liked this one


    Varun P.

Ubuntu Desktop Review based on my experience of using it daily in office life

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Software Center has almost all the software I want to use for my software development. The UI and performance while working on so many tools, browsers and software is excellent.
What do you dislike?
I don't know whether it is related to my hardware only. But on my ASUS VivoBook, when I shut down the laptop flap, Ubuntu does not get in hibernate mode or sleep mode. It continuously keeps running, and it eats the battery when I close my laptop and keep it in my bag. Generally, when I leave my office to go home, I do not shut down the laptop. Just close the flap and then move. It does not happen with Mac and Windows I have, so this is the improvement I want to see in it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a software developer. I program in Java and Kotlin using Android Studio to develop mobile applications. The best thing I love is Ubuntu Performace to run my Android Studio. Another thing is that its command line is so powerful to use my ADB shell to do my work. I am also an iOS developer, so I use Mac for iOS Development and Ubuntu for Android, and believe me, Ubuntu is far better than Windows when it comes to Android development.


    Kevin de Jesus S.

I really loved the opportunity to have an independ O.S

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The latest interface was amazing since it gives the idea that the Operative System became fully interactive like Windows or Mac, additional the new apps and features.
What do you dislike?
I really would like to get more drivers compatibility since I was using hardware that did not install their respective driver and the system went unstable like VGA.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was able to use several computers, mostly old computers with low specifications and Ubuntu was able to run smoothly over these systems. The Operative System is free.


    Srikanth N.

Ubuntu Desktop

  • January 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu was the secure application and we can do anything via cmd and it was easy to use the application and UI
What do you dislike?
Everything need to be cmd based few are not,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helped me to connect to the server easy rather than to windows and unbutu was easy.


    Vaibhav M.

The best OS till I have used.

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First I have used Ubuntu when I was doing my internship in Embedded systems at vector India. And best part is I like it more day by day. Wakeup time is too short as compare to windows.
What do you dislike?
Everything is good in ubuntu but one thing that I don't like is some windows application are not compatible with ubuntu and some debugging application not useful in ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using ubuntu for embedded software development as well as debugging that software. To develope the software i am using vi or vim editor, arm cross compilers and all this are available easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will give advice to everyone you can use ubuntu for your all types of work. This os is light weight for running.


    Romeo M.

Most Practical Operating System to use outside of OS X and Windows

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's not as user friendly as Windows or Mac but of all the Linux flavors I've used, Ubuntu Desktop was the easiest to install, set-up and use for work, study and other various stuff.
What do you dislike?
If you are a Microsoft Office fan, you have to make some workarounds to make them work over Ubuntu or else, install the OpenOffice or the like which are not as smooth or as cool as the Office suite we know.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Usually, when I have an old PC or laptop which lags due to updates in Windows OS or the computer is just deteriorating for some other reasons, I install Ubuntu Desktop and it makes the machine alive once again. Also, if I'm trying to avoid buying licenses for a machine which doesn't really need Windows for tasks like programming, design, video editting, gaming and the like, I install Ubuntu Desktop because I can have what I need in there without spending money.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are cost-cutting for a project or work and need a computer for stuff like programming, video editing, gaming, and the like, you don't need to spend money on Operating Systems. Just install Ubuntu Desktop.


    Shadab A.

I have brilliant experience using Ubuntu Desktop

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Response time is fast compared to other Linux flavours.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike. Overall experience is awesome.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For hosting varius applications. Boot time is less and system readiness time is fast.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu Desktop is really good, it can be used by students and business.


    Oil & Energy

Used it as virtual desktop

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was pretty accessible and fast with minimal lags considering it was our way to access the client's desktop remotely.
What do you dislike?
One weird thing was the way of selecting any item. We usually click double left on the mouse to open an application or folder. To my surprise, it was the opposite in case of ubuntu. It took a while to accustomed to it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was using it to remotely access client's virtual desktop. Benefits would be it being fast and having minimal lags.


    Computer Software

Best Operating System

  • January 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI of the Operating System and the CLI interface
What do you dislike?
Application store with unnecessary applications
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It save time to login and complete the work using command line
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Strongly recomment to use