Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SonicWall NSv (Firewall/Security/VPN/Router) - PAYG

SonicWall | 7.0.0-1129

Linux/Unix, Gentoo SonicOS 6.5.4.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 1
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Construction

Great security software for organization.

  • September 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sonicwall is a great all in one tool that allows use of content filtering to whitelisting and many other features.
What do you dislike?
It can take some time getting used to but it is a great tool overall.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security


    Construction

SonicWall VPN

  • September 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to connect to the office network without hassle.
What do you dislike?
No specific issues with this VPN solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to access internal applications remotely


    Ravi Kumar R.

Most easy to use firewall

  • September 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Secure
Ease of use
Capture ATP
VPN
Content Filtering Service
Gateway Antivirus
Intrusion Prevention System
Anti Spyware
What do you dislike?
Too many places to configure a simple policy
Capture client needs to be more informative
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Stability of the product
SonicWall switch


    Danl

Sonicwall NSV - missing cloud native features

  • July 17, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This product works like many other Firewall/VPN/Routers available through AWS marketplace and seems fine for that use. I had specifically looked at this one as Sonicwall advertise the ability to directly pass logs through to cloud watch. Unfortunately this is not the case with this product. Their NSA series (physical hardware) devices can, but there cloud native product NSV, running on the same firmware release does not have the feature available, or it is hidden from where it should be in the Manage-Network settings page. Seems very odd that their AWS native product cannot talk to AWS cloud watch, whereas their Hardware (on Premise) appliances can.


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

SonicWALL for comprehensive modern protection

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our SonicWALL NSA4650 device in high availability mode gives near seamless failover across devices in the event of an outage on one device, which is fantastic. The device with the Advanced Gateway Security Suite offers a huge amount of protection - AV, IPS, Malware, Content filtering, application control, bandwidth management/QOS, as well as DPI-SSL - an absolute must nowadays. Capture ATP is a superb new addition to protect against unknown and zero day threats. Cloud management and reporting too is a new feature that I'm glad has arrived.
What do you dislike?
The new Capture Security Centre interface on SonicWALL Cloud is a little new and rough around the edges. Some of the reporting detail is lacking, but it's being developed constantly and I'm told a new release is imminent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since changing from a traditional state full packet inspection firewall, we've realised just how much activity is going on in our network. The devices allows granular monitoring to highlight things we didn't know about and couldn't have done before. We now have a far higher standard of security to our networked devices, and we simply couldn't run without this device now. The SonicWALL protects us from almost all angles and seems to offer an awful lot of security from a single device.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Upgrade from an existing device and save a great deal of money on the list prices. Take your time to fully configure and understand the elements of the devices protection, and do not over-complicate your configurations.


    Financial Services

Secure VPN for remote employees

  • February 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SonicWall Net Extender provides the capability to seamlessly and securely access the corporate network, internal files, servers, or custom applications remotely.

The connection can be made on numerous devices, including desktops, laptops, smartphones and tablets, which allows users to access important information remotely as if they were in the office. Our company has offices in locations all across the world, this VPN client gives employees remote access from anywhere. The software can also be used on an administrator level to regulate employee access.

SonicWall provides excellent security to help protect private communications and information when using an unsecured, external network. These networks can be vulnerable to hackers, and can cause immense repercussions if information is leaked.

SonicWall pairs well with DuoMobile two step verification login; this adds another layer of security when accessing corporate information on unsecured networks. Once the user has been authenticated, SonicWall creates an IPSec Layer-3 connection between your computer and the corporate network to ensure the confidentiality of private data.
What do you dislike?
The biggest frustration with SonicWall Net Extender is the software's data transmission speeds. When there are a large number of users using the VPN network it puts a strain on the tunnels and begins to bog down the application and reduces the speed and reliability of the network. At times this can cause the remote connection to drop, requiring the user to re-authenticate and reconnect to the VPN network.

Port forwarding is more difficult than it should be to implement. I had to search the web and watch YouTube videos to figure out how to set this up.

The price is also off-putting. It is a pricey VPN client that may not be accessible for smaller companies on a budget.

Customer support is also lacking and wait times are substantial.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SonicWall Net Extender provides an easy to use solution for secure, encrypted access through the Internet for remote users. This ensures that confidential data is protected when accessing company files on an unsecured network.

The benefit to this is that employees are able to work remote when needed. The VPN allows them to access the company server and files as if they were in the office. The ability to work remote has increased workplace flexibility and improved employee moral.

The ability to work remote is also beneficial for employees traveling for work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
SonicWall is a great VPN client that allows users to access corporate servers from anywhere in the world. Employees are able to work from home and have all of the capabilities as they would in the office.

The user interface is not very intuitive so it requires some level of VPN knowledge to get the hang of it. It is also pricier than some competitors so that may be a factor to consider especially for smaller companies. Despite the downsides, SonicWall offers excellent security and ensures that confidential documents remain safe, even when accessing them on an unsecured network.


    Michelle P.

Easy to use, quick and seamless!

  • January 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the simplicity best of all. Once it is sent I just click a button to enable and disable!
What do you dislike?
I have not experienced anything I did not like about this program. Only positives from me!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work as a remote employee for my company. I am able to access their remote server via use of the SonicWall. It is so quick and easy to turn on and then back off when I am done with my work.


    Information Technology and Services

It's reliable! Sonicwall UTM

  • January 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Overall, I like most of the feature of Sonicwall, but here, I would like to mentioned about one the feature from the bundle, and which is IPS. Off course, when IPS is enabled performance may goes down due to multitasking, and consumption of other resource, still it's gives best performance. When IPS is enabled, we can evade number of illegal traffic towards our network. And Sonicwall has great database of IPS signature with perfect classification.
What do you dislike?
Well, there are couple of things that can be improved, such as when GUI is being access is very slow, rules managing, log monitoring is not available on the device where you need separate device/cloud service to store the data. One more thing, which is when you integrate AD with device, you can not create custom group as it use from AD server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
After the deployment of product, we noticed that many issues was resolved and it's being. Firstly, performance is excellent. when we check the load on device with full function, it was great deal. We did stop many illegal/illegitimate to and from traffic. We believe that it's more stable then the expectation. Off course, remote users are getting no issues while connecting to infra and while accessing through this device.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Absolutely, any one is looking for UTM with full function within their budget, I guess that's the device for you.


    Public Relations and Communications

SonicWall hasn't been the same since Dell bought them

  • December 04, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SonicWall device performs well to distribute our network load for our office over 2 upstream providers.
What do you dislike?
SonicWall used to be lean and mean - since being purchased by Dell it hasn't seem to be moving as quickly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Given that most websites are moving to HTTPS, the content protection afforded by the SonicWall is mostly useless unless you turn on DPI-SSL -- and that brings with it other issues (cpu load, deploying the local RootCA, etc)


    Higher Education

SonicWall Firewalls

  • November 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This has been an easy system to maintain and support
What do you dislike?
I hate that we need a product like this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Limit access into our network.