Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SonicWall NSv (Firewall/Security/VPN/Router) - PAYG

SonicWall | 7.0.0-1129

Linux/Unix, Gentoo SonicOS 6.5.4.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 1
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    David W.

Firewalls that work

  • March 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sonicwall has pretty decent support that if they can't solve it over the phone will do a webex session and collect data to replicate the issue in their lab environment and be able to work a solution up.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes with the new GUI for our firewall, changes do not save, which requires us to re-enter the data again.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our setup is 2 SonicWall NSA 5600s setup for HA failover in case of a failure on one. This minimizes downtime as the failover is seamless. This keeps the business operational with little to no downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sonicwall is a good company that understands how to design hardware and software to make firewalls that work. This product works great in our environment and meets our needs to secure our network and monitor the traffic that we have coming in and out of our network.


    Shelby D.

Sonicwall makes life easier

  • March 08, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the Sonicwall Global VPN client and how it integrates with the sonicwall. Love the content filtering and sonicwall support is always helpful.
What do you dislike?
My only dislike is when uploading and booting to new firmware glitches out as there is no way to repair that remotely.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
VPN tunnels are a breeze with the sonicwalls, as well as adding an extra layer of antivirus.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great product that is easy to manage

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have 3 devices in 3 locations and they are easy to setup, connect and manage
What do you dislike?
We haven't had any issues with these devices. They are not the cheapest, but still reasonably priced.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
These firewalls allow us to control traffic to our environments and they are great because they can be remotely managed for our sales offices.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Easy, no problems

  • January 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy, no problems. We use this to connect remotely to our VPN server. Never hav any issues.
What do you dislike?
It’s so benign that there’s really nothing to dislike!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Makes remote access convenient and secure for our employees


    Staffing and Recruiting

SonicWall - VPN Goodness!

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sonicwall VPN makes it easy to access your VPN remote from any location in the world.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the settings we have on our Sonicwall access (it stops my MacBook Air from being able to browse the internet & access our VPN).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connectivity to our databases & private network remote.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend Sonicwall to any business wanting to create work-from-home environment.


    Kylie D.

SonicWall Customer Review

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SonicWall allows me to connect to my home office's network via a VPN and thus, allows me to work remotely. I've even use it internationally to seamlessly establish a remote connection.
What do you dislike?
It does require a basic knowledge of how VPN's work, which I had to learn prior to using this product. Once you have your network's IP address and other mandatory technical information that SonicWall requires, a remote connection can be seamlessly established.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Prior to using SonicWall, my office used Microsoft Remote Desktop. However, we have since found that SonicWall works well with, and even in lieu of, Remote Desktop to establish a remote connection. My office uses PC computers, and my home machine is a Mac, so I find that SonicWall is better at working around the technical difference in operating systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are experiencing technical issues with Remote Desktop or any other remote network software, I would recommend trying Sonic Wall.


    Ariel B.

Good Investment

  • January 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Specifically i like the Firewall - you have the freedom to customize it based on your network. Second thing is i liked how easy it is to configure the content filtering services
What do you dislike?
What i dislike is the Capture ATP sometimes it will stop sending files to back end for scanning
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You never realized how many it is that is trying to initiate connection to your internal network. With the GAV Security services this solves/eliminates threats going in to my network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For those who wants to protect sensitive information with less cost.


    Legal Services

VPN access with SonicWall NetExtender

  • January 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how, for the most part, how user-friendly it is. As long as you have the correct server info, domain and credentials you're good to go. It's also pretty easy to troubleshoot on the admin side. In most cases logging into the admin console to correct permissions, credentials and other settings only takes a few minutes.
What do you dislike?
There are a few quirks with it, meaning, when you receive an error due to invalid credentials, domain or server info, it will cycle through for about 5 minutes or more at which point, you'll have to wait for it to time out or end the process through task manager. Also, if your internet connection is weak, expect frequent disconnects.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to work remotely anywhere in the world and access everything I need within my company's network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's really easy to use, as long as you have a good strong internet connection. If you don't it will drop out and sometimes without any warning to let you know you've lost connection (no error messages). So if you're working on a document and it's not saved, you could possibly lose it.


    Jonas D.

SonicWALL NSA series Firewalls. The price is really great, the ability is even better.

  • January 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that fact that in the 5 years I've had 8 NSA 2600's and 2 NSA 5600's I've not have one hardware failure or issue. I've updated firmware for stand-a-lone's and HA pairs and I've not had issues with the Firewalls.
What do you dislike?
I wish there could be better training but lets face it, there are a lot of products that could use this. Training at a better price and training that move at a pace for people that want to get stuff done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are doing Site-to-site VPN tunnels between all of our locations. We are doing Bandwidth management for specific traffics using SonicWALL's built in product/traffic/protocols based
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are using a Sophos, Bluecoat, or any other high-end firewall I recommend throwing in a SonicWALL as a trial or backup. You will not be disappointed.


    Libraries

Long on Features, low on ease of use

  • January 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The two sonicwall firewall/security appliances my institution has used have both had some exceptional features and capabilities for their price range. We had some very astonishing experiences using these devices in terms of the safety and convenience that is offered by Sonicwall appliances.
What do you dislike?
Customer service from the Sonicwall technical support staff has been lacking since day 1, especially when utilizing their customer sales support staff recommendation for a replacement device when our first appliance failed in the middle of service year 7.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sonicwall appliances offer a wide array of very functional and useful security features for network administration and subdivision, as well as a comprehensive filter, firewall, and other services for administering networks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sonicwall, as a producer of networking devices/software, are a poor second to other technical brands, in terms of customer service and support. Recommendations for replacement appliances gave us a device that failed to meet actual requirements, and the device interface is excessively complicated, even given the functions that it provides. Additionally, for the provided services, functions, and support, the price is substantially higher than ideal.