Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SonicWall NSv (Firewall/Security/VPN/Router) - PAYG

SonicWall | 7.0.0-1129

Linux/Unix, Gentoo SonicOS 6.5.4.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 1
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mauro R.

Independent security company

  • January 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
An independent company, with powerful solution.
What do you dislike?
I think that some time they can improve the report part to show how good are they working
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security firewall in the branch office, with all the security features of an UTM firewall


    Insurance

No complaints

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy remote access when I need to check my work email
What do you dislike?
Sometimes doesn’t load properly the first time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I just use it as a login portal to my Remote Desktop


    Sam P.

Sonicwall net extender

  • December 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact it gives access to remote users on all their devices including iPads!
What do you dislike?
you Must uninstall it on the user account that installed it. Not always ideal if you give users local admin rights and then they leave or the profile corrupts!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems was users needed access to our network from a remote location and on their iPads. This means our sales managers can use this while out on site, and visiting customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sonicwall in my opinion is the best firewall out there, it is easy to use and very reliable


    Jenny C.

Complex interface

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The product is considered among best of breed for high end security appliances
What do you dislike?
Security is only as good as your ability to implement it. Despite my experience with configuration of many other routers, switches, modems etc, I found it extremely hard to get the port configurations working as desired due to their unwieldy and unique user interface. I brought in networking experts, and still could not get configuration working as I wanted. I could not find SonicWall certified technicians in my area. What\s the use of security appliance if the user can't control it easily?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enterprise network security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For the purpose of this review - number of users included number of users using the SonicWall software and interface, not number of people using the appliance


    Mohammad S.

Great Small to Mid-Size Business Firewall

  • December 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use! Functionality and feature sets are comparable to Cisco, Palo Alto, and other high profile vendors.
What do you dislike?
The overall reliability and support options for the product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote branch offices connecting to the internet and/or back to Headquarters via IPSec tunnels
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly consider Sonicwall when comparing against Cisco and Palo Alto. Though the other two vendors are industry leaders, the cost and feature sets provided by Dell and Sonicwall are equally comparable.

URL filtering, Application Level/L4 inspection, etc.


    Ryan B.

Security

  • November 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of use and the simplistic design meaning that you can get straight on with any task
What do you dislike?
Can sometime be slow to load up certain pages that contain a lot of data, E.g. the junk box
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
increase the email security to prevent virus outbreaks and potentially unsafe content reaching the end user


    Pharmaceuticals

Easy to use Firewalls

  • November 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of creating NAT policies, access rules, and configuring content filters.
What do you dislike?
Limited reporting through SonicWALL Analyzer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Content Filtering to block inappropriate websites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will benefit from SonicWALL with its built-in content filtering capabilities.


    Sean M.

Better than nothing

  • November 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When properly configured it does its job, until it doesn't
What do you dislike?
UI is not friendly, simple things like NAT or port forwarding are overly complicated to set up
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Honestly, Sonicwall is not a product we use by choice, normally it is the relic of a client's former MSP. It does secure a client's network, and while it is robust it is not user friendly
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you don't have a better option the sonicwall will work for you as long as you take the time to make sure you have it configured correctly, it is more robust than any consumer grade firewall, but is not as user friendly as something like a Watchguard Firebox or a Meraki product. When the sonicwall decides its done good luck, in the past year I personally have pulled at least 5 Sonicwalls because they would frequently stop responding to the network until power-cycled, and if you come across an older unit that hasn't had its firmware updated you might not be able to get in at all unless you happen to have a very old browser installed


    Aaron P.

A powerful router and firewall, but difficult to setup and use.

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
An incredibly powerful firewall with proactive threat protection. Supports the creation of multiple and isolated vlans. Has built in VPN capabilities, with a dedicated vpn client for Windows and the capability to enable an L2TP server for use on other systems. There are multiple hardware tiers for businesses of all sizes. With a subscription, threat protection rules and firmware are kept up-to-date. Support is quite good (and very necessary).
What do you dislike?
Doing any setup outside of the provided wizards is extremely difficult. Things such as port forwarding requires multiple steps adding and changing settings in 3 different locations. While both threat protection and support are great, they require an activation subscription with Sonicwall that can be quite pricey.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used as the primary firewall/router, DHCP Server, VPN Server and vlan manager. It’s powerful features allow for creating a large, flexible and secure network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a lot of other equally as powerful firewalls out there by companies such as Cisco and Sophos. While the Sonicwall is undeniably powerful, secure and flexible, it’s extremely complicated to use. It is definitely worth looking at other solutions before deciding on a Sonicwall.


    Simon L.

Nothing fancy, doesn't need to be

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to set up--I can walk an employee through it over the phone--and it does what it needs to.
What do you dislike?
It's pretty bare bones, and I would love a little more insight from the back end.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a small number of employees that work remotely on occasion, and this allowed them access to our servers at a low cost. And it works with our firewalls.