Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Black Duck

Synopsys, Inc. | 2020.6.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.8.2003 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

15 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Very basic UI

  • September 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Comprehensive analysis. It does a good job finding everything.
What do you dislike?
The output sucks, there's no comprehensive reports or nice UI or anything. It's all very basic/raw. They expect you to take all that raw information and make your own "pretty" reports with it, they have no product that can do that nor do they have any recommendations on 3rd party vendors that will do it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Finding any open source being used either directly or indirectly (ie through libraries or libraries of libraries) and all licenses that are being used.


    Computer Software

Really useful tool

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gives you the information about security issues and licence constraints of known 3rd party libraries your project is using. Usually you don't have control or knowledge over all 3rd party libraries used in your project it is crucial to know whether current version has any kind of issues (security or licence). Having a tool to give you this information is a next level of quality of your product. It also suggests the update version with no known issues.
What do you dislike?
I had an issue it reporting a library version that officially wasn't released. It was hard to get additional details from the internet about that library to make an assessment. But that's not a big issue as it anyway suggested to update it to a latter version.


    laura c.

Black Duck Hub provides excellent opportunities for finding vulnerabilities.

  • November 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is really an amazing and outstanding product that provides us a lot of information and it is progressing day by day with the passage of time. Hidden vulnerabilities and security exposures can easily and efficiently be identified with the help of this splendid software. It's interface is absolutely clean. Powerful tool for creating awareness related to legal security. Fit for open source packages. This software works very fast and really easy to scan. I love the integration offered by this software.
What do you dislike?
I am fully satisfied with this software but I would say its reporting should be improved and it should have more preferable API experience. Another con is that users have to face difficulties while installing this software. Because of billing model, this application seems to be quite expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For the business it is no doubt very useful and helps us in code security, quality analysis and audits. I can say in simple words that it saves user's time and it is one of our great benefits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
IT field must try this tool. Even start from trail. Because of its being well-developed. Recommended !!


    Banking

Makes open source security a breeze!

  • September 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to look up if you are effected by a security vulnerability. The product makes enforcing security policies so simple. Blackduck helps in detecting vulnerabilities before you use open source software and avoids unnecessary rework.The Black Duck KnowledgeBase is up to date and very informative.I can't t
What do you dislike?
I can't think of anything I don't like about the product


    Britanny C.

Waste of money

  • January 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The premise of the software is nice, but they did not deliver.
What do you dislike?
Missed key open source licensing issues and locked us into a 2-year contract. Expensive with no benefit since we ended up needing to check all the open source code we had personally. If we hadn't we could have faced significant licensing issues. Not a legally sound solution for open source licensing management.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Attempted to use BlackDuck for open source licensing management and, considering even a quick check found issues, realized it was a complete waste of money.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't get locked into a contract, better yet don't sign up at all


    Printing

It does what you need it to do.

  • November 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very thorough. As a best I included a small snippet of code I copied from a obscure blog. It identified the code.
What do you dislike?
It can be a pain at times with false alarms, and setup could be cleaner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It gave my management a safe feeling that our flagship enterprise product did not have any code that we were not entitled to.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the trial and give it a good test.


    Haresh S.

Quality open source detection

  • November 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a big knowledge base and when we started using it first for our new project to provide enhanced and ensured security ,we were able to understand them quite easier,thanks to the intuitive design and user friendly approach of design and layout they have enforced and most importantly open source detection on all cross platform browsers and dependency information for different languages like c++ and java
What do you dislike?
Devops integration is a time consuming process and we had to wait for a day to get them completed and got to track the complete progress and also to enforce them in IDE,build CI tools and container deployment platforms all the time and time reactive dynamic features for code snippets are a a hassle
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps in code security audits,code quality analysis, and encryption audits which are out of our scope and saves us a lot of time in understanding the requirement documents and saves a lot of dollars for the client and the vendor in a way
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use,understand the comprehensive data storage knowledge warehouse repository base


    Telecommunications

Difficult and tedious to use.

  • November 09, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
That it will, eventually, perform its task.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult and tedious to use. That it is incapable of recognizing subtle differences in versions that do and don't matter. That its tasks require multiple steps that could be simplified.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing software licenses for software components in our software.


    Computer Software

Seems over-complicated

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The quick response from the team to know if we can add it or if is already approved
What do you dislike?
There are so many different pages/screens where you have to enter information-I felt it could be consolidated-Also, it was like using DOS-If you don't search for exactly how the SW title and version were originally entered-The tool won't bring it up-Very frustrating-Could be more user-friendly & auto-fill when close-Like Google
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Once everything is entered properly-The turn-around time for answers were pretty fast
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its hard to say since I am not sure if all of the issues were 100% Black Duck SW or a combo of it not playing well with the environment-So, I guess be sure to be clear on how well it operates in your environment


    Information Technology and Services

Black Duck: Great for Open Source Governance

  • September 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Black Duck help company in easy and compleate governance of open source use.
People can manage legal, security and operational risks using Black Duck Tools like Black Duck Hub, a really complete ad useful platform to monitor open source components in your software also as part of Continuos Integration/Continuos Delivery cycle.
What do you dislike?
Not so much detailed documentation available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are helping our customer and internal Business Line in a better governance open source usage and in monitoring and managing legal, security and operational risks in using open source components.