Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

30TB all-flash predictable high performance for Qumulo file storage

Qumulo | 3.2.0.1

Linux/Unix, Other 4.15.0-1063-aws - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    E-Learning

Unmatched support

  • March 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We use their support on Slack. There is no lag on waiting for emails and the impersonal nature of emails. The right person has the answer or gets it promptly.
What do you dislike?
There is always that fear that they are small enough to get bought out and we lose the support that we like so much
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had terrible performance problems with our previous storage large due to the configuration we purchased (capacity over performance). Our all flash array is no longer any limitation on our users data usage.


    Oil & Energy

Amazing company and after sales support is top tier

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The team at Qumulo is very helpful in any issues we have had. They are proactive and are always monitoring our Storage Stack. They have many times informed us of issues with the stack we haven't even noticed.

Even at those times, they have always excelled and always ensured we are kept in shape.
What do you dislike?
Nothing I can think of that I dislike about them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
They are provided a large data platform for our company which is fast, informative and great to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can assure you that you cannot go wrong with choosing Qumulo. The device, support, and vision that the company has enabled us to look to them only for storage.


    Graphic Design

IT'S AMAZING

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
QUMULO WAS THE BEST CHOICE WE COULD MAKE, IT'S PERFECTLY SCALABLE, FAST AND IT'S INCREDIBLE ON ADVANCED GRAPHIC PROJECTS.
What do you dislike?
I HAVE NOT FOUND DEFECTS UNTIL THIS TIME. THE STORAGE IS PERFECTLY WORKING
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
WE NEED A HIGH-PERFORMANCE AND LARGE STORAGE, BECAUSE THE COMPANY THAT USES IT HAS A BIG HANDLING OF LARGE SIZE FILES. AFTER SPENT YEARS OF CONTINUOUS CLEANING OF GRAPHIC PROJECTS, WE FOUND THE SOLUTION WITH QUMULO.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I strongly suggest, before the rack installation, to take all the measurements of the device and to take pictures of the appliance, because in case of need to contact the support, they require all this information.


    Broadcast Media

Qumulo Cluster for our transcoding production

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the API which allows you to do everything, and get all the necessary metrics.

Fetching metadata "instantly" is also a huge plus, as is full access auditing.
What do you dislike?
The API is great, but you need to have some development skills to code what you want.

It is therefore necessary to have internal DEV resources, but if this is the case, the API remains simple to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have our entire file transcoding chain on it. The auditing allowed us to find bugs in our own applications.


    Dave L.

Great hybrid-capable storage solution - upgrading from Isilon

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No tree walks, easily have storage on prem and in the cloud with replication across the platforms. They have migration solutions available to make it an easy swap from your old system.
What do you dislike?
I haven't seen any down sides yet. If I had to say anything, maybe cost? However, the cost is reasonable for what you get and it was cheaper than Isilon, so we haven't seen any reason to go think about another solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No tree walks, so it's much easier to filter through the data. Being able to create a hybrid storage environment from day 1. They have migration solutions available so it's easy to move from an old/different system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get a demo now! It may not be the best fit for everyone, but this was a great solution for a small to mid size business.


    Matt D.

Qumulo a scalable high performance file system that is easy to deploy and manage

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Having worked with other storage platforms for number of years, Qumulo is a breath of fresh air, it is is simple to deploy and simple to manage. The UI is simple and straightforward to use and the documentation takes you through every thing you need to do, step by step. From receiving the equipment on site, deploying, migrating 200TB of data and bringing the system into production, all of it was completed in days.

The best feature is being able to see where your data is, how big it is and how its grown, it allows me to provide valuable insights to the business.

Their support is via Slack, has been a very good experience with a quick and helpful response.
What do you dislike?
So far after 4 months I haven't found anything to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Qumulo to consolidate 4 separate file systems to one and to provide disaster recovery and business continuity by replicating data to a remote Qumulo system.

The benefits were:

Reduced Power consumption and cooling requirements
Reduces space needs (8U vs 36U)
Simplified admin
Greater performance, single tier, so no need to move files around
Overall reduced TCO
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you understand your performance requirements


    kevin m.

Great storage for Media and Entertainment companies

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support, cannot rave about it enough, they have become an extension of our service desk. They are very helpful and response. The model they use is slack based so you simple chat in slack and are talking direct to the engineers about your issue.

The software is also very simple and well documented, the rest API is fully featured since the web interface is built on top it.

Onboarding was incredibly easy and they had an engineer to help us get started

They are also a heavy agile shop so updates come out every 2 weeks, with the option for a quarterly roll up, they are very active in seeking out end user feedback on features and direction
What do you dislike?
Early on there was no RBAC support and upgrades had to be planned due to outage of file services. Those have all been fixed, not much I can say I dislike. They are not the most expensive in the market place but also not the cheapest

During implementation we ran into issues with how they implemented SMB 2.1 protocol, so we worked with engineering a lot and had to revert a lot of users to NFS while some users were able to stay on SMB
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had a very expensive fibre channel SAN which made it very hard to scale and upgrade. We are in a season of agressive growth - 25-35 TB a year so adding storage with Qumulo is easy

Also understanding storage is easy - the metadata they provide helps me understand heavy users in terms of IOPs and storage breakdown and growth

Also as work loads mix across devices having a NAS vs a SAN is helpful for a simple sharing experience, Qumulo also does a good job with SMB and NFS sharing at the same time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend them over any other company, the support is what is the best part, one of our concerns going from block level fibre channel to NAS was performance and interoperability with Adobe products. We have not noticed issues and have not missed a beat


    Pavel R.

Good solution for Petabyte scale

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplycity and performace. New feature coming in new releases.
What do you dislike?
Networking management would be better.
Some improvements in multi-tenancy is required from my opinion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
High performance petabyte scale storage for video platform


    Media Production

Qumulo Real-Time Analytics

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Qumulo real-time analytics on the cluster are great. It is awesome to be able to see where files are being written and who is writing or reading those files. It really helps with troubleshooting issues. The ease of management is also great.
What do you dislike?
I wish there were some sort of email system for alerts. Their cloud based management is great but we would like local alerting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to reduce storage expansion. The Qumulo analytics have really helped us eliminate dupication.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great product with growing feature set

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We switched from a legacy vendor that charged twice as much per TB as Qumulo. In addition to SMB & NFS access, we have begun to use a wide variety of Qumulo features, including the API and replication.
What do you dislike?
Our biggest complaint was the lack of effective cross-protocol permissions. This has been fixed in the newest versions of Qumulo by XPP.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have solved a multitude of problems using Qumulo - including replicating our very large on-premise data sets for disaster recover scenarios and using the API to accelerate file transfers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Know your use case well and determine if cross-protocol permissions are right for you. Our largest pain points have come from users wanting POSIX permission bits on ACL files, which did not work well until XPP. Now that XPP is out, we need extended testing to ensure that it does not cause additional pain points.