Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.4.2 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

626 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Juan M. C.

Gitlab review

  • March 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to have private projects enabled, with the free service.
What do you dislike?
Some times can be very unstable do to the amount of traffic their servers handle.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Personal projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to compare it to Github and see which of both has the features that your project requires. Both of them are great!


    Josh T.

A great free solution for hosting git repositories

  • March 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you get included access to Gitlab CI and pipelines which allows you to run continuous integration and continuous delivery in one simple configuration file.

I also like that you can host unlimited amount of repositories for free privately. This is better than hosting with Github.
What do you dislike?
They have recently experienced quite a bit of downtime, and also the web app can be quite slow at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the issue of being able to host our git repositories. It allows us store our repositories privately for free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try using it on a few projects first, see how it fits into your workflow and take advantage of the pipelines features.


    Tiago S.

The best free git repository manager I've found

  • February 22, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Interface is extremely intuitive and setup is dead-easy. It isn't resource intensive, meaning I can run this on an old linux-rooted chromebook as a secure physical repository for some of my personal experiments. Unlike some other products, administration has been minimal since I've set this up. Git is cleanly exposed, meaning I can hook up other git clients to communicate well with gitlab. Also has a quick and easy zip and download feature for repositories.

Has a great issue tracker.
What do you dislike?
The interface could be simplified. I like to see the file structure of a repository when browsing into it, as well as the README.md below the file structure. Instead gitlab tends to show the readme if available, and you manually have to browse to the file structure if you wish to see it.

Wish gitlab had an issue tracker app, so I could use gitlab to track enhancements and defects for specific project using an easy-to-use dedicated app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Git repository manager that's accessible through a website, free, but can be hooked up to any git clients to manage and maintain git repositories.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Set it up and give it a try. It's the best free option I could find.


    Dan O.

Solid Source Control, with some odd quirks

  • January 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Community (free) version is surprisingly full featured. It's fairly easy to install the software, and configure new groups and projects.

It also integrates well with automated build and deploy tools like Jenkins and Maven.
What do you dislike?
Getting LDAP authentication with Active Directory was somewhat painful. I also was never able to get the hook into our JIRA defect management system working properly. The documentation on this was incorrect and out of date.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted to get away from using Subversion, and modernize our source control system with something that integrates better with automated build and deploy products.


    Design

The greatness of gitlab

  • January 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to contribute to a project. I can do many features in browser without having to use the command line. Merge requests are very simple and I like the email updates when a pipeline succeeds/fails.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes my pipelines will fail for no apparent reason, it might be a server timeout of some sort but I am never told why. I also dislike how slow gitlab can be at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Currently using it while working on a distributed team. It is very easy to understand and having roles makes it more organized. Albeit, it doesn't tell me I'm not allowed to make merge requests unless I'm admin; I had to search for user privileges.


    User in Computer Software

The best online git experience I have had.

  • January 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The available suite of tools is extraordinary. Though github has taken all the hype, the fact that I can host any type of repository free of charge is absolutely fantastic. GitLab leaves nothing to be desired and is the only place I now use for online repo.
What do you dislike?
The user interface and management can be a little clunky in certain areas. For example, the way the sidebar changes on context makes it hard to know where I am. I would like to see some polish in this area.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being an independent developer, cost and accessibility are huge issues for me. being able to share a project with a customer and allow them to participate in the wiki and the development process has changed the way I do business. It also allows me to collaborate with colleagues on a per project basis very easily when I need extra help. It has solved my cost issues for my needs by being free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I was hired as a contractor to evaluate the current cost climate and flexibility of repository services. Because they offer additional services including on-premise services, gitlab allows you to grow in any direction you need. This has been by far the best transition I have made for myself, and it was the choice made by the company that hired me to evaluate current offerings. I can't recommend it enough.


    Ernest O.

Awesome product

  • January 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Gitlab CI, continous integration that comes out of the box with Gitlab. It has runners for docker meaning you can test and build virtually any codebase just by setting up a gitlab configuration.
What do you dislike?
Nothing comes to mind immediately. Plus, it's an opensource project, anything I find that I dislike can be a PR.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab has helped us adopt continous integration practices and deliver features faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Gitlab is really cost effective for teams, compared to competitors like Github. Github charges a monthly fee per user for private organisations. With gitlab on the other hand, all you need to do is deploy an instance and you have as many developers as your infrastructure can allow.


    Sebastian I.

I recently made the switch from GitHub to GitLab - couldn't be happier

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is great because of their focus on development teams, rather than individual developers. I was originally using GitHub, which is great for personal projects and small code repositories, but it wasn't quite working for the needs of my business. GitLab has great features that made working with a team much more appealing: free private repositories, self-hosted GitLab management, and team management. GitLab also has an awesome activity report that shows very detailed information about exactly what each team member has been doing. This comes in handy when something goes wrong and we need some transparency and accountability.
What do you dislike?
When I was first researching GitLab and creating my account, the user interface of the site seemed a little bit confusing. It took me a while to figure out the difference from their remote and locally hosted services. It was also a bit confusing figuring out how to create and properly manage my team.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GitLab is great for enterprise level repository management. They allow you to create different teams, manage permissions, and create private repositories all with their free plan. I recently used GitLab to integrate version control and a staging environment into my development process where I work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setting up your repository and team management takes a bit of time, but once it's all set up, the workflow is so nice and smooth.


    David L.

The best Git server solution around

  • January 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has done an amazing job of building an all-inclusive version control system that integrates many of the tools that we use with Git like CI and chat.
What do you dislike?
The UI for GitLab's web application isn't super great. Navigation is a little odd and it's hard to get to things like starting a new repository.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a Git server to host all of the code we write for clients. GitLab has offered limitless platform for hosting that code as well as a CI platform for ensuring the highest quality of our projects.


    Management Consulting

Robust enterprise ALM system

  • December 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Easy to setup using Docker - single docker-compose configuration file, run it and you're done.
* Single-sign-on Integration with LDAP providers such as Active Directory (an enterprise feature available even in the Community Edition!)
* It's no-nonsense continuous integration -- conceptually rock-solid with CI definitions maintained as part of the project's codebase; Multiplatform drop-in single-file CI runners\agents;
* Integration with a number of enterprise applications, notably Slack (and Mattermost) chat servers.
* Version updates religiously released on the 22nd of every month.
* Sensible issue tracking with optional Kanban boards.
What do you dislike?
It is really hard for me to dislike anything about GitLab, especially as I am coming from a place where Microsoft TFS has traditionally been the choice for ALM.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our team is developing a microservices platform for developing containerized composite applications. GitLab's open-source distributed asynchronous programming model fits perfectly with the our development workflows.