Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.4.2 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

626 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Duarte A.

The best way of having VCS on your Company

  • November 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab makes it easy to create a private platform for manage your company projects and have a lot of features present on public Version Control Sites like GitHub and Bitbucket - Wiki, Issues, Team Management.
What do you dislike?
GitLab is kind of hard to integrate with Soucetree, and you can simply access to your company repositories directly from the app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With GitLab, we are trying to simplify the access to projects for users using macOS or Windows platforms, and provide a simpler way of practicing Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment.


    Jeremy H.

Excellent on premises GIT server

  • November 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has a very modern interface, similar to GitHub. Installation is also very easy, and can setup with Active Directory.
What do you dislike?
I had issues integrating with Active directory when we were bought out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed a place to store projects throughout our company, I knew we wanted a GIT server that was easy to use and setup, this helped fill that gap.


    Computer Software

Best free git repository management

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is amazing. the most significant features are:
- Unbelievable user interface
- Can create private repository
- is FREE!
- Easy to create merge request and migrate repositorys
- Excellent handling permissions for projects and branches
- The most important feature. i can create mine git repository server
- 3rd party apps can be easily integrated. (trello, slack, etc)
What do you dislike?
I have nothing to dislike. Gitlab have all i need for my job
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All developers should use GitHub allows us to have private repositories among other fascinating features. If have a company, You can create your git server and can save a lot of money .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Slack and Trello for major control of your projects and integrate them with GitLab


    Andrew M.

More Features Than GitHub, Yet Completely Free

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is an entire suite-- what started out as a Git project website has turned into a full CI/CD and source management platform. By having everything in one place, you can not only push your source code, but test it, manage bugs and documentation, and test and deploy it with a CI/CD pipeline.

The best part is, it's open source so you can run it on your own servers, or you can use the GitLab.com service completely free for private repositories.
What do you dislike?
The interface has become a little cluttered. Unlike GitHub, which is quite simplistic and well designed, GitLab can be kind of confusing to navigate. Add that to the fact that they change the UI every once in a while, and for newcomers it can be quite daunting.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source code management historically has either been expensive (GitHub) or lacking in features (BitBucket). GitLab has solved this, not only with its own platform, but by introducing competition that has forced GitHub to change their pricing to better compete.


    Евгений .

Excellent product from the people who love what they do!

  • September 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A lot of features from the box! All you need to manage your source code are in GitLab.
They also have added features for collaboration with colleagues and oh god container Register!
Awesome product!
What do you dislike?
Nothing! Actually nothing! Even if I had a question or problem or feature request the team respond in about a day.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Git repositories for my personal projects.
Git repository and issue tracker for medium company.
It solves a lot of tasks!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the public installation on https://gitlab.com/ and install selfhosted after that.


    John B.

I host my code with GitLab.com and have in the past run CE on private servers.

  • September 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that, in addition to being a free version control hosting option, they're a free and open source software community. I also love that gitlab.com offers unlimited free private repositories and SSL for gitlab pages.
What do you dislike?
I've found setup for self-hosted instances to be a little bit difficult and overly complex. Other than that, I don't have a whole lot of issues with Gitlab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using it to host both public and private code for personal and professional code. It's allowed me to store code securely and easily without needing to worry about either the cost or the details/hosting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With Github's recent pricing changes for private repositories, the time to try gitlab has never been better. They tend to be really responsive to user requests, in part because it's open source software.


    Giorgi D.

Internal source control tool

  • August 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about gitlab is that it can be hosted on premises and is very easy to setup even for a linux newbie like me. I had it up and running in about an hour or two. It can also import git repositories from other systems making it very easy to migrate to gitlab. The built in diff viewer is also comfortable for making quick code reviews.
What do you dislike?
The biggest disadvantage of gitlab is probably it's speed. It's not slow but it would be nice if it was faster. Also it would be useful if it could import svn repositories too.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab allows us to easily host internal source control without paying a lot.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest configuring groups before creating any repositories because moving repositories between groups or renaming groups changes repository url.


    Siarhei K.

Good OSS Github alternative

  • July 06, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With GitLab you have full control over the installation. This may be crucial in closed perimeters where you cannot use hosting like Github Enterprise. I remember the times where the alternatives were Gitosis or Gitolite. Gitlab is a vast improvement.

Also, GitLab offers more stuff, then Github, like out-of-the-box CI, feature rich issue tracker, and, recently, Docker container registry.
What do you dislike?
I cannot recall any major flaws in GitLab. GitLab team is constantly improving it and listens for feedback. As a side effect, GitLab is always on the move and changes frequently (especially UI).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use GitLab for my private projects. Also, I use it as a backup for Github (thanks to it's mirroring features).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a manageable Git hosting consider using GitLab.


    Sean Francis N.

An excellent GitHub alternative for private projects

  • July 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab can be seen as an alternative to GitHub but also, it can be seen as a compliment to GitHub. GitLab provides free private repositories for your projects. So, if you are in need of a private repository, GitLab can be a solution.

GitLab, feature-wise, is also on par with GitHub. It has a wiki that you could set up and use for your whole team. GitLab also features web hooks that you can use to integrate it with other online services your team might be using. Design-wise, GitLab is an excellent looking product with an intuitive interface.

As a bonus, GitLab provides a continuous integration feature that is available for use in your projects.
What do you dislike?
GitLab has its flaws. Its user interface can be confusing at times especially when you are already used to similar services such as GitHub.

The sidebar can sometimes feel obstructing to your work and you might feel you would prefer that the sidebar be placed somewhere else. Maybe follow a GitHub style user interface?

When pushing code, you might be using SSH over HTTPS. The pushing speed is okay but when compared to GitHub, it is slower. Sometimes on other networks, you will not be able to push to your private repository.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Version control systems are important. The tech industry uses it and we are no exception. GitLab provides us with a private repository where we can store our code safely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When considering to use GitLab, remember that you might feel a bit alienated by the interface at first but over time, you will get used to it


    Ghada B.

The best solution to store private repositories for free

  • June 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab presents a lot of interesting features that I found useful:
- Open source
- Create private or public repositories.
- Private repositories for free .
- Easy to install, update and maintain.
- Easy to collaborate with the team and sharing the code.
- Easy to back-up your self-hosted GitLab instance.
- Easy to create merge requests, so code can be easily reviewed and discussed.
What do you dislike?
I can't really find anything that i dislike. Gitlab is fulfilling all my needs as for now. Maybe, the only thing that bothered me was the UI is a little bit complex and hard to understand.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I currently use Gitlab to build and push up my projects in private repositories. I can work with my team by enabling us to push, pull, and merge our code together on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Gitlab for anyone who wants to create a private projects for free and save your money. It's the best solution for that. More than that it's fast because files can be edited directly on the web UI without downloading the repository.