Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for Arm 15

Amazon Web Services | 20200904

Linux/Unix, SUSE 15 GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

40 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Very good for SAP SYSTEMS

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best administration for SAP systems which is very good
What do you dislike?
Gui based is the main drawback of the Suse system
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
So many business benefits..like easy to administration


    Telecommunications

Excellent Quality, Stability and Performance

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked this system for the stability, performance, and UI it offers compared to competitors. The system is simple and the interface is very user-friendly. Suse is best for the Community rules, it's an easy-to-install software, and it's excellent out of the box experience.
What do you dislike?
The incompatibility with Office and other Windows programs. Rather than this everything else is on TOP.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security, stability, and also performance. It uses the resources very efficiently and we used the SUSE® Linux Enterprise High Availability Extension and never had a downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend it as it is very stable and had a great performance.


    Government Administration

SLES

  • August 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the robustness and ease of use of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server. The support is very good and also the documentation.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Lineux Enterprise Server solves my issues, I don't have any particular thing that I dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for several things, containers, web applications and databases for example.


    Automotive

If you are going to use a Linux operating system, let it be SLES.

  • December 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you need an environment that requires uninterruptedness, it will be very useful for you to use suse enterprise. If you have too many servers, you can use it with susemanager to manage it very easily.
What do you dislike?
The prices are expensive. Especially because they are released very often, they want a lot of money from the versions that enter LTSS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Continuity and management of Linux servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest you prefer this over other distributions


    Maximiliano P.

A robust enterprise linux distribution

  • June 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME experience for GUI is excellent. Also the zypper repositories management is straight forward. I've used it for MicroStrategy server and it was a good experience overall. SUSE joined the openstack project. It is healthy to have another player on GNU Opensource disputing the throne of Redhat. Using Redhat content delivery is also a great feature.
What do you dislike?
If you are more familiar with RedHat/CentOS you find some annoying differences that you need to get used to (E.G. apache2 vs httpd). Also the GUI experience is resource intensive. But overall no big complaints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've implemented MicroStrategy Intelligence Server, Apache & Tomcat with mod_jk and a custom JSTL Based app for authentication againts Teradata sources. We implemented multiple environments for dev, prod, uat, etc on virtual servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No advise, but personally I'd rather work with Red Hat.


    Information Technology and Services

SUSE is the best OS for people who like the GUI

  • April 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE works well for beginners to learn the Linux OS as it features an (YaST) tool which is a GUI interface to install packages, manage storage, among other things.

SUSE also works very well on the IBM Mainframe running z/Linux.
What do you dislike?
I haven't encountered anything that I have had issues with in regards to SUSE.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SUSE has made it easy for me to maintain and manage servers running on Mainframe.


    stephen k.

Enterprise quality Linux distro that you can depend on.

  • April 07, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support is top notch with custom vetted secured packages.
What do you dislike?
Since it's corp oriented distro you are not going to get the latest kernels or packages. It's probably better to stick with ubuntu or debian
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
System admin and light servers for http server and print servers. And hosting containers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If it's too much risk to try it right away, openSuse is out there for ones to test-drive this product before deploying to production.


    Telecommunications

Upgrowing Linux Enterprise Server is a Linux-based operating system

  • April 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Suse have its own specialty on delivering high-quality Linux and open-source programs and services to customers.
What do you dislike?
There is not much dislikes for suse. Its complete solution for linux based operating system and products. But little upgrade also required on interface.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Suse has solved problems on delivering high-quality Linux and open-source programs and services to customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Suse over redhat performance wise.


    Matt W.

Suse in a DC Datacentre

  • April 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Formed from the roots of a community developed OS, the operating system is very resilient and fails hardly ever. Software is also very easy to install. Excellent control centre.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that i dislike is some software doesnt come packaged for SUSE
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using SUSE to run webservers. The low footprint and resource usage allow us to have many containers running SUSE


    Mitch S.

I have used SUSE on my servers for decades.

  • March 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Yast is a decent UI for server management. The SUSE and linux documentation is served pretty well. It is a very stable system. Not much down time. Installation and upgrades usually work pretty well with not too much for problems. Mostly, I am a great linux fan and SUSE is a decent distro.
What do you dislike?
Yast could manage a multitude of things that it does not. Some applications have obscure bugs that take a while to find and fix and/or work around. Most of the problems I've encountered are difficulties with linux not SUSE based.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The primary packages we use are survey tabulation, statistical analysis, and the LAMP stack. These allow us to conduct large market and employee research studies. SUSE helps me to keep this software and my servers running well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look around at the different distros and pick one to suit your needs. SUSE works well for me.