Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.7.1 on Ubuntu (June 2019)

ESRI | 10.7.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

411 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Emmalee D.

Easy to use and easy to automate processes (more R!)

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've seen vast improvements in functionality. Processing power has also improved. I find the most useful aspect of ArcGIS is its integration with Python. There are a ton of pre-built tool available, but every so often a custom tool is required,
What do you dislike?
The lack in integration with R. The bridge was introduced this past year, but the ease of integration is still very poor. ArcGIS needs more statistical functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The automation capabilities within ArcGIS are hugely beneficial to efficiency and productivity.


    Sarah R.

Useful for visuals, but can be tedious.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the interface that GIS uses. Specifically the Desktop version (I mainly use ArcMap10.2, and ArcCatalog,). I find Arc products to be very consistent, and as such, I feel comfortable using the various software in different situations. Its is also amazing for visual analysis.
What do you dislike?
Arc, and ESRI products can be very tedious. Many tools and applications will only work if action are performed in specific ways and steps. Arc licensing is also expensive and can be a deterrent.

I am a Mac user. The company I work for is a Mac company. The fact that Arc products do not work on Macs is a major issue for me. I had to get my own computer specifically for the ArcGIS needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My most recent project was to determine where targeted marketing for a company should occur. I used Arc to create a cluster analysis of where the company had the highest program uptake and the highest program results. I then created maps outlining where I suggest targeted marketing occur based on historic trends of program uptake and program benefit.

A major benefit is the fact that Arc software can produce a visuals for projects were necessary. This is key for the research marketing and consulting world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's very good for consulting and market research. You can easily show the visual side of your projects. If you are looking for these sorts of needs, I would suggest Arc. Also if you ware doing any spatial research or analysis Arc is a good program.


    Christopher H.

ARCGIS, so powerful, useful, innovative and sometimes frustrating

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love all the various tools that ARCGIS has available for different forms of spatial analysis and data visualization. Although, it takes some getting used to, eventually things become more familiar overtime. ARCGIS provides good tech support and is always making it easier for the user to do complex calculations with the click of a button.
What do you dislike?
Because it's been around for a long time, ARCGIS has it's bugs and can sometimes freeze or shutdown unexpectedly. When learning to work with ARCGIS, it's recommended to save often. At times, tools may work because of something hidden that needs to be clicked or unclicked which can be frustrating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm solving real world problems. I've worked on projects including flood risk analysis involving communities to mapping for social justice issues like food and open space availability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Offers a lot of great tools but there is also free open source software types that may suit you better. Determine what your needs are and proceed from there.


    Arie H.

ESRI's ArcGIS

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Robust functionality, broad user base, great documentation, and decent technical support
What do you dislike?
Cost, since this product is sold as "software as a service" the price can quickly add up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize ArcGIS Online to provide public maps, the software allows us to quickly customize and publish Web based maps of our organizations data. This has allowed use to provide the public and internal users with up to date and near real time information. This allows for transparency as well as data driven decision making.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider your needs and the cost of ArcGIS. ArcGIS is by far the best and most complete GIS out there, but depending on your organizations needs there are several other low/no cost alternatives.


    Soham S.

My world literally revolves around this indispensible software

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the variety of GIS tasks that you can do with this software. Very comprehensive. It is the industry leader for GIS tasks.
What do you dislike?
It can have a steep learning curve and it is has so many features that it will take a few years to master all of its capabilities and functionalities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It can solve any problem that involves using spatial information, mapping trends, patterns, spatial data etc.


    Hospital & Health Care

Excellent experience for mid-level user but some tweaks needed.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a one of a kind software which allows users with varying backgrounds the ability to work with Maps and Spatial Data. The integration with Python and SQL also gives programmers the ability to create custom script and code. Spatial statistics tools are very advanced and rigorous.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult for a low to medium-level user to get the final product he requires. Documentation on using ArcGIS is difficult to navigate to just to get a simple solution (heat map?), with the ArcGIS website being the most difficult. Spatial Statistics tools are not very well documented which leads to false conclusions for those who do not have a statistics background but use this tool for making business decisions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing a visual tool for understanding spatial trends is useful in understanding data on a different scale which is often times forgotten.
Building predictive models using spatial relationships is useful in predicting future trends.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Useful in understanding data on a spatial level as well as building predictive relationships often times not considered in conventional analyses. Have someone on-hand with experience using the software or provide technical training opportunity.


    Architecture & Planning

Pretty Good.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you can use shape file to make large scaled maps and masterplans.
What do you dislike?
When GIS refreshes and you have a large file with multiple layers it cant take forever to refresh or export. This should be faster by having caching.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Land Planning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a must have but make sure you have or know someone that knows how to use it.


    Mining & Metals

I have used ARCGIS for about 7 years and use it daily at my current job.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can take different spreadsheets to create different layers and it's a good generalized exploration mapping software.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that I cannot do any 3D work in the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We do geological exploratory work for petroleum. Being able to create depositional environment maps within the software is a big bonus.


    Jayakrishnan V.

The best GIS software suite on a broad spectrum

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
An end-to-end support for GIS operations starting from Desktop, Server, the APIs, cloud support and integration with various external systems like SAP, BA, SPSS, R, Sharepoint, etc. The Development options are wide and documentation is generally good. Continuously updated.
What do you dislike?
Some GIS operations are slow and deployment idiosyncrasies haunt you some times. Major changes are seen with each release. product is not stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Crunching Transportation data in a predominantly spatial environment. End to end solutions available to support these complex workflows


    Civil Engineering

ArcGIS, good for analysis, cartography, and problem solving

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a powerful software allowing for analysis of great overlapping and proximity analyses.
What do you dislike?
It is a buggy software that can often freeze up and has difficulty performing well between software versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solving the problems of identifying areas in proximity of other specific features, displaying overlapping layers in geographic space. Allowing for documentation and replication of geoprocessing tasks.