Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 LAMP Stack

Supported Images | 1.0.0-20201005

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

218 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ravindra D.

CentOS Info

  • October 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free to use, easy to use, security, cli.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to deslike for daily users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working on setting up the server environment. It free for everyone. Provide CLI interface, everyone with basic knowledge can work on it, we are learning lot by using this os and it CLI tricks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes we will definitely recommend to others to use it.


    Religious Institutions

CentOS is great for running server applications and general workloads

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how easy it is to maintain packages
What do you dislike?
The clunky desktop packages (no fault of centos really, but)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to not have to have licenses to enterprise grade software (RHEL)


    Computer Software

The shareware king - CentOS

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source which makes it easy to customize it as per need and still use the features of RHEL. No more dependency on license.
What do you dislike?
No support and maintenance guaranteed plus security is a big issue. Package versions can cause conflict if the repositories are not properly configured.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for development of our private cloud products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a cheaper and customize-able version of RHEL and that you can afford to compromise on security, maintenance and support, then CentOS is the perfect linux distribution for you. You need a good in-house team to support its development.


    Internet

CentOS is best Operating System

  • October 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The centos is best OS for webhosting I am using Centos on my server which I purchased from ovh and it is running fine with CWP WebPanel + CentOS 7 . It gives fast speed and is reliable in terms of security
It is easy to use centos via putty which gives better control over the OS from outside as We are using it on cloud & VPS . The centos commands and help is easily available on the google and we can search for any commands we need there is no need to remember commands in order to use centos. It would be more good if centos releases its own webcontrol panel for better user experience through GUI instead of putty CLI.
What do you dislike?
The CentOS has no client isloation builtin which is a downside so I have to purchase cloudlinux + cagefs to acheive isolation so I dislike centos for that so I suggest centos to have the client isolation built in to make it more secure and easier to use in web servers and other apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was using Debian 8 which was causing me issues so I switched to Centos 7 and it has saved me from lot of hassle in my daily business so I moved to centos for better performance and daily work
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The people who are intersted to start a webhosting site should use centos in their servers for better performance and reliablity


    Financial Services

Centos 6 an 7

  • October 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only is the OS a free version of REHL, it has a great support system. If you are looking for a solid version of REHL, without the price tag, Centos is for you. I use it with many of my systems and have never had any issues with it by itself.
What do you dislike?
There really isn't a lot of negative to say about Centos. I didn't love the changes from Centos 6 to 7. In particular, the change in how you start/stop services. It's not a big issue, just something I have to remind myself of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm running several applications on top of Centos. The benefits are ease of installation and use. Quick to install and pretty much all Linux based apps run on it.


    Deepak N.

Stable, dependable Linux distro for work!

  • September 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Frequent updates from the community
2. Close interaction and relationship with the Upstream
3. Funded by and supported informally by RedHat
What do you dislike?
1. Sometimes, changes are too fast and often
2. Older code and package repos disappear without trace!
3. A choice of more Linux kernels and packages especially from EPEL and Oracle Linux would have been a great addition!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it as my main Linux OS for work, code, driver development, PoC's etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A stable enterprise grade Linux Distribution with great support from the Linux community as well as form the Upstream


    Chi Wai H.

Replacement of RedHat

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is similar to RedHat. I don't need to pay license fee to set up a test environment which is very close to the production environment
What do you dislike?
CentOS also inherits the careless packaging bugs from RedHat.
SELinux always bring problems to CentOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simulation environment setup instead of using subscription based RedHat.
The environment will be distributed to partners/customers. CentOS allows me to do so.


    Information Technology and Services

Deploy all your Server side applications of this amazing OS and see it operate amazingly - CentOS

  • September 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is an OS which is based on worlds most advanced kernel - Linux. It is highly reliable, scalable and secure. This OS is used to deploy majority of server side applications and even the servers all over the world. Following are some of the key advantages of using CentOS:
1. Fast: Only 1 or 2 processes run ideally at one moment in time and rest all the process remain asleep providing CPU all the power to operate.
2. Secure: Everything based on permissions make it the most secure OS. No Virus can infect the system until right permissions have been assigned to it.
What do you dislike?
It is really hard to find out any flaw in CentOS. I have used it for many years and have never seen this OS failing in any terms. Only one improvement that I can see is more and more tutorial videos from official website which can help all the newbies learn the OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had our majority of work on the CentOS system. The reliability of the OS is one of the major reason for using and depending on this OS. I can hardly recall the last time system crashed out. We have our internal as well as external applications sitting on this server and handling majority of the tasks seamlessly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this amazing piece of OS to each and every computer engineer. You start using it on your work and you will end up installing it on your personal machines. This OS is easily available on the Internet and is worth installing it on your system. Say a bye-bye to the anti-virus programs after installing CentOS and it will ensure nothing can infect your system at any cost.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to setup even with no GUI

  • August 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup with graphic interface. The extra features in repo lists are already being pointed and easy to install them. The compatibility with Red Hat exclusive apps are ok, and I did not have problem with that.
What do you dislike?
Could be more easy to beginners to install from minimal install, since the network configuration, proxy and repo list comes empty, needing to perform a lot of dificulty steps, but this is a Linux related, not CENTOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installed Genesys contact center Database using POSTGRE. I did not have any problems related specifically to CENTOS, just because I am a beginner in Linux.


    Information Technology and Services

Stable and long support cycle

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a very stable and reliable distro. The support cycle is 10 years, meaning you will get updates throughout.
What do you dislike?
Because of its long support cycle, it is behind on the newer releases of software. This generally isn't an issue for web servers or other software that doesn't require the latest versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a stable environment for our web environment for development and live sites.