Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Zabbix server virtual appliance 4.2 Medium Performance

Zabbix SIA | 4.2.6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 (HVM) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Zabbix can be a life-saver in infrastructure monitoring!

  • January 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This open-source and flexible program has been used by several of our teams for the past 6+ years. We have enjoyed how we've been able to adapt it to meet the monitoring needs in several areas.
What do you dislike?
There is a bit of a learning curve that happens with any new software, and Zabbix is no exception. The menus and navigation could certainly be improved to make it more intuitive to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The real-time monitoring and lightweight nature of the tools make it a staple for several teams!


    Information Technology and Services

Good Monitoring Tool for Application Behavior

  • January 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The way graphs get populated in real time is awesome
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it takes time for the graphs to get populated when the backend is re-registered/restarted
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Monitoring
- Patterns
- Service Impacts


    Computer Networking

Zabbix

  • December 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to log into, beside that, don't use it too much
What do you dislike?
not as user friendly as I like, would like better usability
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hardware monitoring
Recommendations to others considering the product:
just try it


    Joey O.

Powerful monitoring tool with many plugins and addons available

  • December 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love that Zabbix is extendable. Specifically that you can write custom applications for it's database, including responding to events within the application itself.
What do you dislike?
While the community is strong, I felt like some elements of the Zabbix interface did require somewhat of a steep learning curve. Once you get past that, however, it's a fantastic tool to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Performance monitoring and alerting. Previously we had to maintain multiple systems (Cacti/Nagios, etc), but Zabbix support many of the same features out of the box and has the ability to install agents on Solaris (a big win for us) that made adding hosts very trivial.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The fact that the group behind Zabbix offers a virtual machine to get you started on makes it a snap to get started with. Even if you need to resize based on your needs, having the basic starter in the virtual machine was super helpful.


    Retail

Zabbix Monitoring

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup, basic monitoring tool for clients servers. Customizable to any degree you want.
What do you dislike?
Zabbix will go down and not create tickets. It takes some trouble l shooting then we get flooded tickets from months ago.

Repeating tickets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We provide server monitoring for clients to monitor SQL, backups, raid, server state.

Helps us ensure our clients are up and running and we can get a jump on issues that we may see arising from the alerts.


    Insurance

Good monitoring tool for production servers

  • December 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One stop solution for complete ecosystem systems. Easy to configure and easy to maintain
What do you dislike?
Not really at this point - I feel everything is good as per business needs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy production fallout prediction


    Computer & Network Security

Great open-source solution and nagios replacement

  • December 08, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I find it very easy to use and the snmpd polling features flawless. We utilize this to monitor our production sites and have never had problems with false reporting. The GUI is easy to navigate and installing/setup on Linux very easy.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to currently dislike, this product has met all of our network and system monitoring needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We require all systems up with strict SLA. zabbix has allowed us to respond quickly when systems become inaccessible or when network switch ports change to disable. Great tool


    Retail

zabbix is good for legacy

  • December 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
zabbix is good for monitoring static servers and systems. it is very simple to configure and very reliable.
What do you dislike?
zabbix is not so good for monitoring services as abstract identities, which is what most companies need to do today, if they are using microservices, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
monitoring and visibility.


    Information Technology and Services

Comprehensive Monitoring for Everything

  • November 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Zabbix isn't limited to monitoring just one or two aspects of an environment. It can monitor all systems and bring in just about anything that outputs a counter or log file to be monitored.
The system can perform trending analysis and determine when a problem is getting ready to happen, not just rely on thresholds.
The system utilizes MySQL which is easy to find literature on how to manage. It is also preparing to support Elasticsearch for a storage back-end which can scale massively.
The use of agents means that there are multiple points of monitoring which distributes the monitoring load. It also means that other products which rely on a centralized "probe" to read counters don't get too bogged down or take out multiple monitoring points when they fault.
Because Zabbix is open source it is easy to run a setup in both your Production and development environments which makes testing much easier.
What do you dislike?
While the use of agents is great, it also means that you have to keep them updated as time passes. This means that there's a management aspect to keeping Zabbix up and running. Also if the agent stops running you lose your counters for that time period.
Because the system is open-source you will rely on yourself or the community to write monitoring packages for the systems or applications that you are keeping an eye on. Because of this if something changes and you're using a package that is abandoned or hasn't been updated in a long time you may find yourself fixing the bugs solo. WHile this means you can keep things up and running it also means that you may need to scrap your monitors at some point and recreate them in order to keep a system monitored.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Systems monitoring with predictive analytics.
Capacity planning.
We now no longer have to pay for our monitoring solution. Where in the past we paid for our monitoring solution and then had to ensure we didn't breach our license, our only concern now is that our Zabbix server can handle the load.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a solid understanding of Linux. Also an understanding of MySQL or PostgreSQL is a must. If setting up HA you will need to know how to configure SQL monitoring and backups.
A full understanding of the environment you are monitoring is key. If you don't know how it works you can't monitor it. This is true of all monitoring products, not just Zabbix.


    Computer Networking

The very practical monitoring software

  • November 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a robust monitoring software and very intuitive. The deploy is faster than other monitoring software and have a lot of complements for cover a wide variety of software, hardware, services that are currently used in the market and that grows daily.

Because it is highly intuitive it makes it interoperable, quick to migrate and customizable. you can download the sources to be customized according to the customer needs. It can be installed in a large number of operating systems and administration is via web.
What do you dislike?
The templates in several occasions generate errors when installing. Because need a libraries, maybe incompatible with the operating system in which it is installed. Need do some adjust or customize your own solution. This can be an advantage or disadvantage beacuse you can create a team for optimize the system.

Although it is easy to install, user manuals are very extensive which makes many users desist from using it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Normally i use for monitoring this items:

- Network Monitoring and reporting.
- Servers Hardware and resources.
- Operating System and load.
- Create graphs and maps.
- Customize alarms and graphs for users, this can help for create profiles.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For small and mid range networks it's the best solution for deploy. Can cover a lot types of devicres and brands. Can monitoring a lot type of services and software, customize the notifications.
The low consumption of resources makes it a quality product in the market and easy integration with third-party tools (templates), it has a very large community which provides the support