Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

HashiCorp Vault OSS

HashiCorp | vault-1.5.0-20200721.01

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Internet

Very rich functionality, but has some issue with a really big scale

  • July 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rich set of options to control access (policies, groups), rich set of authorizations for users (e.g. oidc, leap) and for apps (kubernetes, approle).
Versioned KV storage for secrets.
Dynamic passwords for databases and etc.
What do you dislike?
Open Source version does not have replication of any kind.
Premium version has replication and disaster recovery, but replication sometimes has issues under big load.
Even in Premium version, you can find bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized secrets storage for the whole organization. Integration with cloud, on-prem, and kubernetes. Dynamic passwords management for databases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Follow the guidelines provided by HashiCorp. IF you have a premium version - don't hesitate to ask for a review of your setup.


    Vinayak S.

Hashicorp Vault

  • July 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has both cli and rest endpoints to manage secrets at one place. Along with secret management it provides other features like audit for secret access
What do you dislike?
Documentation is not up to mark, some more improvement in documentation can lower the entry barrier for users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To generate and manage our single sign in tokens for applications


    Ricardo T.

Using Vault to secure Terraform code

  • October 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vault is lightweight and easily installable.
The possibility of high availability.
Terraform integration with own resources.
Simple Web UI
API driven access/manage, could integrate with other software.
What do you dislike?
The high learning curve.
Maybe the lack of an officicial Ansible Module (not only a Lookup Plugin)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vault has solved the problem of sharing passwords and AWS credentials. Now the code of Terraform could be safe in the Git repository. A vault it's easily up with Ansible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Test Vault in Dev mode (in a Docker instance for example) and switch into production using it for every secret you have in code. Vault must your new front door, now.


    Automotive

Good experience but some keys features missing

  • October 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Secret as a Service (Dynamic secrets) and flexibility.
Good integration with multiple authentication provider. Good varities on Dynamic secrets and can be used with Encryption as a Service.
The installation and configuration is very easy. We can up and running a cluster in 1 day.
The rolling update is easy and we can quickly add more cluster nodes if needed.
What do you dislike?
Vault integration with project is leak.
We have one side the Vault agent, and other side the Consul template or envconsul. For example, envconsul didn't work with Vault agent auto-auth token.
It's hard sometime to use Vault because projects don't want (or haven't budget for) to develop Vault code lines integration.
The Vault UI is very basic. Some actions can't be done with the UI. Add more UI features for administration facilities.
Dynamic secrets is great but some time legacy application couldn't not use it. Should be great to have static secret with specific hook trigger to rotate password.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security needs in Cloud environment.
Projects migration from intranet to cloud to solve security issue with very sensitive data.
One tool for any environment (multi-cloud, intranet, etc).
Vault is used to add security in cloud like intranet and having control to encryption keys.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The most complicated part to start with Vault is to make all roles for any entity and to do the policies matching. In big companies, it's can be hard and take a lot of time. Starting with "Who will do What" is cost saving.


    Retail

Swiss army knife for handling security in DevOps

  • October 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Different method of authentication! Many engines with unique capabilities. Good integration with other Hashicorp products. Compatible with all the modern tools. Cloud friendly!
It is easy to test features by just running the dev server on your local machine. Vault uses resources very efficiently so it does not require large servers.
What do you dislike?
Implementing Vault properly in an organization is a bit challenging since the tool can do many things in many different ways and you should make sure you setup your workflows properly to be able to scale easily.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secret management,
PKI as a Service,
Consul ACL token lifecycle management,
Nomad ACL token lifecycle management,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you put sometime to layout paths, naming conventions , policies before you going to production with Vault.
Make sure you check in all the configuration in VSC and use tools like Terraform to run them.
Vault is a very powerful tool! Start using it if you have not already!


    Financial Services

Vault - Highly Secure KV Store

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- I can trust that vault will keep my data secure with minimal management overhead from my team
- Simple Interface to review my key values
- Simple to use API's
What do you dislike?
Longer ramp up period for teams across the organization to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Secure KV store for database credentials with Dynamic rotation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read all of the documentation! It is extremely helpful in getting started and training your employees to effectively implement Vault


    Nathan R.

great for secrets mangement

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Central place to store and manage secrets. consistent and reliable.
What do you dislike?
Steep learning curve, but it's very usable once you get it up and running. Just tackle one small piece at a time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
automating and securing our internal certificate process. also storing secrets in vault instead of in metadata.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make use of Hashicorp's learing docs as well as any user group you can find for Vault


    Eric M.

amazing products

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
we use vault for security it really responde to our needs.
What do you dislike?
I would like to have an ocsp function for this
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
générate certficates and store secret are very slow before, now it is possible in less then 10 secondes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
first all this about roles, policies and make tests to be sure about what tokens can do.


    Shivam S.

Best in class Product - but disappointed with the service

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the product and its working. It's quite easy to setup and start using effortlessly. There are very good enough documentations and tutorials on the internet to use vault precisely to meet your requirements. And it has almost all of the functionality you can expect from a secrets management product.
What do you dislike?
I am very satisfied with the product. But I am not sure about the service. I wanted a demo and quotation of their product - So I did fill up the form for getting started with vault enterprise. I did not receive any sort of communication email from them - regarding the product or the demo. After I filled up the form - It did say that a demo will be provided. Still waiting for the same.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a password management product to use in our company. As we are using AWS and other products which require proper secrets management - It did fulfil all our requirements. And features like leasing & renewal, dynamic secrets, revocation are extremely useful(which we did not think of earlier).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
HashiCorp Vault is a very good product. Only I am not sure about the support and communication - If it's only me being ignored or it's same for most of us.


    Security and Investigations

Compared against CyberArk for CI/CD Secrets

  • October 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with Terraform was seamless.
What do you dislike?
Web UI was lacking, and featureset for user secret management would be great to add.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We would like to leverage the dynamic secret function, with a focus on just in time authentication and short-lived access keys.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product, with a few user features still to come to compete with the likes of CyberArk and Secret Server.