Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MongoDB 4.2 on Ubuntu 18

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

382 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bill K.

Enterprise ready, fast and flexible

  • November 25, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the production environment, MongoDB provides an easy to use, easy to understand, yet powerful and reliable replication model to protect corporate data. Replication strategies can be quickly set up and tested in a number of ways, from a single development machine up to a full blown cloud solution. As the volume of your data grows, sharding is easy to set up and maintain. Capped collections and time to live indexes give you powerful tools to limit how much data you maintain. The document model allows developers to rapidly prototype data models and freedom from a rigid schema allows painless changes to the data layer as business needs evolve.
What do you dislike?
While the time to get a new developer productive in MongoDB is short, it takes extra time to get a developer with a SQL background to rethink their design patterns.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We deal with a lot of disparate data sources. JSON documents allow flexibility in accepting the data from external sources without strictly enforcing a lot of "heavy handed" rules. With MongoDB, we are able to quickly ingest the data then adapt rules to make best use of the the data.


    Surbhi G.

MongoDB usage ease

  • September 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No schema required, can place the field values of the one that is needed without being concerned about all the fields and ordering of the fields.

Hot in market today because of easy usage.
What do you dislike?
Quite a new thing it is for me, so I get stuck with few syntax and semantics and that troubled me.
Apart from it so far learning in MongoDB is giving me plaesure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database without schema
No worries about fields while entering the records
Can enter only the one that is required without putting null null.


    Information Technology and Services

MongoDb fits work system great

  • August 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When I was working on a project related to a documentation system, MongoDb is my best choice for this system, the original target of a no-sql database fits the system pretty good.

Except for the database itself, the speed and the flexibility are other two attractions for me. MongoDb quires can be very fast in most of the cases I am working on. and especially in the case you want to retrieve the data in a single lookup.

The design of query is pretty good, especially for a system like ours, queries data through documentation systems, not sql query as a traditional database.
What do you dislike?
For a person who worked on the SQL database, without join statement is kindly hard to think about the database. There are no possibility for an engineer for use join in MongoDB, we need to make multiple queries and join the result together for our own target.

Another thing I dislike mongdb is the memories usage in the database system, some time the system uses a huge block of memories that let the system almost slower the it should be, if the developers can fast the speed and optimize the memories, it would be better.

For the concurrency issue, the mongoDB is also not doing good, it should be better for persons where high frequency is required in a database system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem we are soling is trying to save daily information and data so that people can loop up at any time, the system need to have a huge database along the time goes fly. save data as a documentation that's why we are using mongoDB .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are working in a documentation system, transfer to mongoDB as soon as possible now.


    Higher Education

Flexible database for web application.

  • August 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB store data in a more programming friendly and more flexible than SQL
What do you dislike?
MongoDB isn't officially supported by Django. You need to download extension to use MongoDB with Django.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing complex and dynamic data for web application. MongoDB format is much easier to workaround than SQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is more programmer friendly than SQL for web application. Since the syntax and data format is more familiar by web programmers than SQL. The idea of NoSQL is quite useful as the database is expected to be more scalable than traditional RDBMS.


    Computer Software

Use MongoDB in online course

  • August 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use. JSON format is intuitive.
What do you dislike?
There is no join statement. Needs sometime to think out of RDBMS box.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast development


    Ryan A.

Solid Product. I enjoy the flexibility.

  • August 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a solid document store with good performance. I enjoy the robust operators, benefit greatly from the mature ecosystem, and have my butt saved every now and then by the built-in mapreduce & aggregation framework.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike is that they quickly develop great functionality, and I'm hesitant to upgrade my database in production to immediately take advantage of it. A safer and/or more fool-proof way to upgrade (and rollback) databases would be awesome.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MongoDB for everything, and we would probably be just as well off with a SQL database, but I really enjoy the flexibility of the embedded documents and deep indexes.


    William K.

MongoDB Experience

  • July 27, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love how fast I can develop solutions using MongoDB. I also love the reliability I have experienced. When I am able to use MongoDB, I know I get scalability out of the box and my application can grow as the demand increases. I never think twice about choosing the technology once I know it is the right tool.
What do you dislike?
It has taken me some time to learn how to manage my own environment. There are great companies that provide these services, including MongoDB and ObjectRocket, so when my projects get bigger this is never an issue. I love Robomongo as a developer tool but I do wish it had more features. It would be nice if there were more tooling for developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I build applications that need to handle lots of different types of data. This change in data schemes are a constant for me. With MongoDB I have been able to build flexible software that can handle these changes in data realtime. I also love the aggregation framework. This framework has made it possible to leverage all the data inside MongoDB and use MongoDB not only for scalable storage but reporting and application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always look at all your options but if you are building enterprise level applications, MongoDB has proven itself. There is a large community of people who know the technology and companies providing platforms and services you can't always find with competing products.


    Alex P.

Great for building a startup or product exploration; minimum devOps

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Like all aspect of engineering, you need to match your tools with the tasks at hand. The schema flexibility and DevOps simplicity of MongoDB make it the best database for launching and scaling startups. When getting started, we don't know exactly how we wanted to model our data. It is nice to be able to change our mind easily. Also, it is like 4 commands to set up a replica set. DevOps is one of the last things we had in mind when searching for Product/Market fit. Mongo helped alleviate a big part of that pain.
What do you dislike?
Schema-less is a double-edge sword. Flexibility can also cause chaos. No schema could mean that you have no idea what data or even what data-type you have in your database. Use tools like Mongoose to bring some order back to the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At x.ai, we are building an AI-powered personal assistant to coordinate meetings for our users on top of MongoDB. We were able to quickly evolve our product/data to the use cases our users wanted.


    Prasanna K.

MongoDB is at the heart of our ed tech platform & we love it

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The flexible data model and document-based nature of MongoDB has given us so much flexibility to iterate our data models without slowing down development. Not being tied down by a SQL-type rigid schema is wonderful.
What do you dislike?
Honestly - nothing! If MongoDB itself offered MongoDB-as-a-service (like Compose.io or Mongolab does) we'd use that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SmartyPal is a platform for personalized learning through children's stories. We improve the quality of children’s screen time by taking award-winning stories and enhancing them with dynamic games and activities that are tailored to each child by an adaptive learning engine. We use MongoDB to store info on the stories and games in SmartyPal, as well as to store a rich set of gameplay data for each user that we use for personalization.

As a growing start-up with evolving goals and ever-changing technological needs, we really needed a database solution that was as agile as we are. By using MongoDB, we were able to incrementally add many different features to our application over time, without ever needing to go back to the drawing board. We chose MongoDB because we knew how important this flexibility would be for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a NoSQL database that has good support, and is easy to get started as well as to scale on, we'd definitely recommend MongoDB


    Nuri H.

The go-to choice for many projects

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexible schema and document oriented view match up to architecture and usage pattern based design. The drivers make using it straightforward and well integrated. The ease of deployment and management make operating it a low-overhead task. So when considering data backend and processing requirements, it's an easy choice to make since we can just throw data at it and it handles. Table oriented database introduce a lot of overhead in marshaling application models to the storage. This alone increases time to market and maintenance costs.
What do you dislike?
Schema is now responsibility of developers. Without server enforced constraints, this can be a problem for shops that don't have established go to production, testing, and quality gates.

Reporting from the "main" schema can be challenging unless these needs are factored in at design time. This can creep up when using Mongo as the sole database. In polyglot shops it is diminished.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used it for:
- Social photo sharing app. Benefited from flexible schema,
- Content distribution across geographic regions. Benefited from reliable built in replication mechanism.
- Content management. Benefited from flexible schema and speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you understand indexing and command syntax well. Designing schema that fits your usage scenario is the best way to assure the solution will work for you.