Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 8 Server w/Updates

Supported Images | 1.0.0-2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

208 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Secure and Reliable

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Updated repositories, Firewall, SELinux, performance.
What do you dislike?
GUI Interface. GUI version of CentOS can be much better when competing with Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database, Mail Server, Samba Share, FTP, NFS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use CentOS especially for MySQL, Zimbra Mail and Web Server


    Wireless

Free Linux flavour OS

  • January 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-Stable and Fast operating system
-Portable file system
-Yum utility or repo
What do you dislike?
In case of crash, we can retrieve root directory files only by another CentOs root user .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-Execution of python scripts
-Bash file execution
-Using it as application server by deploying tomcat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
-Best terminal interface
-Stable and free OS
-Installation through yum is easier.


    Education Management

The "free" version of the most used linux distro.

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOs provides exactly the same features as the RHEL, but for free. The Os is really stable and it can be used in a small server all way up to complex clusters.
What do you dislike?
As any open-source software, it does not have a premium support. However, you can easily find documentation on the internet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Servers for machine learning training. CentOS support all the tools that I need (tensorflow, python, Keras, etc.)


    Higher Education

10 years of using CentOS

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
its a user friendly, open source, hardware friendly, fast, easy to deploy, ease of use, vast community support, lots of vrieties available, different architectures, no cost no expense.
What do you dislike?
i have spent almost ten years in usingt centos for my servers, but hardly find any issue except one. if you miss any thing during confgiuration it becomes difficult to reset it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
almost available for all type of server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best open source Server Operating system


    Education Management

The free version of one of the best Linux flavours.

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We all know RedHat and we all know the high price tags that comes with it. CentOS is the basically the same thing, but for free. I love this linux distribution, it's reliable and there are tons of help online
What do you dislike?
Nothing too bad. As any open source software, there isn't a support number to call when you have an issue, you have to figure it out by yourself. But, I like this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I run Machine Learning experiments for my research. CentOs is a light linux distribution and supports the main ML tools (TensorFlow, etc.)


    Vishal Kumar B.

wealth of documentation

  • November 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CSF firewall and brute force protection. easily available documentation, SELinux is used for security, to keep our application up to date yum helps us.
What do you dislike?
Errata production starts when an official RHEL errata release is available so it becomes sometimes difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
to manage servers( DNS, backup, network...)


    Roshan S.

CentOS is great!

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about CentOS is that we can get packages from any suitable repository and get it working without having to worry about license compliance by the vendor.
What do you dislike?
Since not all packages are provided by the vendor, if anything goes wrong, it's upto us to fix or replace them manually.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS as a webcache server that is made by us from scratch. We didn't expect any support as such from the vendor due to the level of customization we had to put onto the OS including the kernel, but despite so much of sophistication, we're proud that CentOS got the entire suite running.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For a computer software business startup such as us, CentOS turned out to be the most inexpensive and customization-friendly linux distribution till date. We're hoping to start our own CICD soon for this.


    Suvimal Y.

Server friendly Linux distribution

  • October 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since CentOS has no restriction on packages, I get to use my own package repositories and automate them as per my wishes without having to worry about licensing.
What do you dislike?
CentOS takes away the possibility of a vendor-managed support and maintenance of the deployment. Everything needs to be done manually or have an in-house team to handle everything.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS for deploying our web and email servers. Since we have the right to use our own packages, we are kind of making the best out of it, optimizing the core kernel packages as per our requirements and also to reduce the load on our terminal servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are startup with very less budget to go ahead with, then using CentOS not only solves your financial problem but also gives you the freedom to customize it as per your requirement. You may try alternatives like RHEL or SUSE i.e. if you can afford them.


    Ravindra D.

CentOS Info

  • October 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free to use, easy to use, security, cli.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to deslike for daily users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working on setting up the server environment. It free for everyone. Provide CLI interface, everyone with basic knowledge can work on it, we are learning lot by using this os and it CLI tricks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes we will definitely recommend to others to use it.


    Religious Institutions

CentOS is great for running server applications and general workloads

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how easy it is to maintain packages
What do you dislike?
The clunky desktop packages (no fault of centos really, but)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to not have to have licenses to enterprise grade software (RHEL)