Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7.7 Minimal HVM with SELinux enforcing ec2-user context

Technology Leadership Corporation | 1.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 1
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

237 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ihor Z.

Great distro with the unclear future!

  • February 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stability, good compatibility with different software and hardware, good support of Virtualization & Different VMs (VMware ESXi, Citrix Xen Server, Microsoft Hyper-V etc.), huge repository, compatibility with RHEL & Fedora packages & repositories, free license.
What do you dislike?
Moving to the rolling release model by RedHat decision: https://lists.centos.org/pipermail/centos-announce/2020-December/048208.html
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS Linux is very stable & reliable system for server & workstations usage - it's free and despite that, has good scalability, perfect stability & low consumption of the hardware-resources.


    Computer Software

Lightly system and easy to use

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system offer all you need to work and with his big community you can get help anywhere to grow up you business
What do you dislike?
He is low in a lite hardware to work with good you need a good hardware
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating a web server


    Media Production

Secure and Reliable OS

  • January 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is robust and secured. It is working well as the backbone of Nutanix main cluster. It is installed on all the central VMs of all nutanix nodes which are responsible of handling the cluster.
What do you dislike?
Need to have a good knowledge to use commands for a user who is more use to with the Windows OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is installed on the central VMs on all the cluster nodes of cluster. Handling all the jobs and process of the cluster. The OS is robust and reliable that it can be fixed, if there is any issue happened, with very little efforts and time spent.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

A stable and free Linux for enterprise level use.

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable and package management system, the way to manage services.
What do you dislike?
Not too much. No fancy UI and centos 7 change a lot from centos 6.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centos serves as a primary server OS for most of my services. It is easy to configure and maintain.


    Iwan H.

CentOS 8 Linux is free, stable and lite.

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS 8 is very stable and I have never experienced crash while using it. It is far more stable than its predecessor, CentOS 7.
What do you dislike?
I will ever missed CentOS 8 Linux, since Red Hat will end its lifetime and support at the end of 2021.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS 7 to deploy my project on the cloud. CentOS Linux is the best OS for both desktop and server I have ever used.


    Chandrashekhar Y.

Most secure OS among all

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So light weight and so secure. No bloatware and no extra ads. Just work to work. You will find all the necessary software for your daily use and that too in the simplest way possible.

Interface is very simple and clear. There is no fancy thing inside this OS. Just install it and start doing your work.
What do you dislike?
Although interface is simple, I will urge CentOS team to make it little attractive. Make all the software available for this version. Make sure once people switch to CentOS, they won't go away.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a developer in my company and the software or website which we develop, are under great security and we are hereby use CentOS, highly secured and super fast. Optimization of RAM is so powerfull that we don't ever have any lagging issue.

Top of that CentOS doesn't have any bloatware and ads so we are rest assured that we are not exposed to any security.

Being a developer, we don't want to rely on any third party software to work on. CentOS provides all the necessary setup to feel like home.


    Abhishek D.

Best open source OS. ❤️

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about CentOs is that it has all the features of Red Hat EL but FREE.
It is fast, GUI is awesome and works great for Hosting your websites and databases.

Since it is Open source, if you encounter any issue in the system /server, you can just google the issue and I'm sure you will get all your answers.
What do you dislike?
To be honest there is nothing to dislike as such. However, the recent move of Red hat to not provide any further patches is very disappointing. :(
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly web hosting and mysql related issues.
As well Kernel and Operating system issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for using Linux then I would suggest you use CentOs and thank me later. :D


    Bogdan S.

My OS of choice

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use and it's very stable. The OS of choice in my case for all my servers
What do you dislike?
CentOS will be discontinued and replace by CentOS Stream
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using CentOS for all my servers (DB servers, Web Servers). It can be monitored quite easily, it's really stable


    Aman C.

Grea light weight option for your containerised application OS

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The OS is quite abstract and lightweight which leads to installation of packages as per the need of user. This can help to get an isolated environment for your application running which can make developer life easy to have same environment everywhere.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes finding packages which are needed by the application can be painful and hence leads to hit and trial. In that case, leading to a different OS is not the solution which can slow down th development speed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Containerised application operating systems which helps to isolate the application in a dedicated environment. This is helping to avoid dependencies issue on production servers and parallel processing with different OS running at the same time.


    Binay k.

Stable and secure Linux

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is very secure and stable system, it has Easy installation process with sensible and secure defaults. Its very stable and reliable.High performance on the average hardware.
What do you dislike?
To maintain maximum stability, software packages may not be the latest and greatest versions but you can easily compile their source code yourself if a packaged version is missing certain functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deployed web services ,CentOS runs very basic software and will run much faster than other similar Linux distributions.