Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Microsoft SQL Server 2019 Enterprise on Windows Server 2019

Amazon Web Services | 2021.08.11

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

2,015 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Consumer Services

The easiest, yet most powerful, database in the world

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Evrry single concept, however conceptually difficult, is made easy... Profiler, Executing plan, data import (with or without data), every single thing that would take at least 5 minutes in Oracle is a 1 minute job here. I guess that's a microsoft thing, that not always works so well. But with SQL Server it works.
What do you dislike?
One thing I can think of right now is that I always have a hard time finding the SQL Server Manager. It should have been an option in the menu of SQL Management I think. Security is one other thing that might be made a little more intuitive. Logins can be operating system logins, and I don't really understand how and where they are (really) configured.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this database as a "Application Domain" database for almost all our applications. If "application domain" can be descried as "application with it's own database", then SQL server is chosen. For more corporate data storage, we use Oracle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I guess the temptation exists sometimes to use the sql express version. But every time we went that route we eventually hit it's data size limit.


    Construction

SQL keeps the door open

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the built-in SQL DB backup features and all of the reporting features that come with it.
What do you dislike?
The cost to upgrade can be daunting but once you do and you get all the features it worth it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently, we use SQL to write custom queries to extrapolate the data for our higher-ups. They then use that data to make business decisions that drive profit.


    Syed Azeem A.

Worked on MSSQL as part of our organizations main tool to manage RDBMS

  • March 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI and ease to visualize my structure and data
What do you dislike?
The load time its takes to startup on my system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are scaling up our system and found out that MS SQL is the best choice for us to use this system at enterprise level
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a SQL platform that is scalable easy to manage large scale apps with very intuitive UI MSSQL is a YES for you


    sushruth r.

The best environment for SQL development

  • March 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to script PlSql using Stored Procedures. SQL Profiler allows you to get details of your query complexity and efficiency. Indexing allows you to quickly query huge tables. Lots of data recovery options and very easy to configure.
What do you dislike?
Processing speed for relatively huge records. Little heavy on cost when used with Azure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Write stored procedures to automate certain business cases that are routine. Store large sets of health care data and query through it. Basically using the Code first to write queries in C#(Linq and Lambda).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MS SQL has all you ask for and more. Keep exploring and keep building!


    Insurance

It is very user friendly

  • March 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can use this product for any company without having a training session on how to use.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes getting the syntax correct across all SQL dbs can be challenging.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data related analysis and reconciliation for research in an ag biotech company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When writing multiple queries, make sure to use the query analyzer if you ever run into errors.


    Karan J.

Best db tool for small scale databases

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple to use with basic knowledge of sql queries you can easily use it
What do you dislike?
It is very much query based unlike other tools which gives u flexibility of doing things on UI as well
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data fetching, data manipulation, big data analysis


    Mubin H.

Microsoft SQL Server - Review

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful Database application, user friendly.
IntelliSense feature, easy database data and logs configuration.
Query and database optimization features.
What do you dislike?
Platform dependency and expensive license.
Database replication, mirroring and table portioning features still need improvement and to be made easier for users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Microsoft SQL from last 16 years from SQL 2000 to SQL 2017. Most of software we developed in our company has MS SQL Server on backend (Desktop Applications, Web Applications and Mobile Applications). It is very powerful tool and easy to use with Visual Studio languages and also easily configurable with multiple reporting tools like Crystal Report, Microsoft Reporting and other advance reporting tools. Over the years MS SQL has increase the data security, improved data optimization (which is always the issue in comparison with Oracle & other databases).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent tool for data management, simple and powerful.
Easy to understand and operate.
Very helpful is application development.


    Priyanka B.

Good software

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of management of databases is really good. And the updates application is good
What do you dislike?
Sometimes performance issues occur and restart is required
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Management of database
Schedulings jobs
Storing sensitive data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease of access is awesome. The management of database is easy


    SWAPNIL T.

Best tool to store and maintain the data for different applications.

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As I am using this product from last 6 years I am very much happy with the features that SQL provides some of them are:-
1. SQL is best for managing data in the relational forms so that the data integration and consistency maintain properly.

2. As SQL supports most of the data types like (int, char, varchar, float etc..) which makes developer life easy to integrate with and application and language.

3. SOL also provides the bulk insertion and extraction of data and also supports the different data source like excel , notepad and all..

4. SSIS and SSRA are the best and ever green feature of the SQL.
What do you dislike?
I do not have much complaints on dislike about the product .But just wanted to highlight one observation
Error handling mechanism can be much better so that the developer can get to know exact issue in SQL scripting.
Because most of the time SQL compiler not showing expected error message and no suggestion as well.
This is the only one I would like to highlight in dislike section.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are providing the database solution to the different application owner so that the application data become more secure and also can maintain and store for required period of time based on the requirement and application needs.
As its stored the data in the tables and relational form it is becoming very helpful and easy to generate reports based on the SQL commands in very less effort.

We can also easily extract the required data in any required format too and can share it with management to take the required decisio.


    Ruth C.

A solid tool for business data management.

  • December 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a powerful relational database that projects a sophisticated scope in the analytical areas of each document or in the information sources of a particular department, highlighting that I love its flexibility to an environment that is easy to use and understand once that its servers are installed on a platform, logically being one of my favorite aspects in relation to the system, mentioning that it maintains extraordinary access for users and its proper administration in general areas, since they are very simple in their entirety.
What do you dislike?
One of the most outstanding nonconformists of this system is related to payments for its support, which is somewhat incoherent, in which most similar systems proceed to establish these free services, highlighting that it is a very nefarious quality, since on occasions it tends to fail frequently, and requires the use of its support, being a very high economic commission, when it comes to constant use, without excluding that you must acquire more capabilities for generating reports.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company uses SQL to execute jobs in an extremely fast way, including the safe storage of data and the prudent and constant generalization of reports, for an intelligent conclusion in each strategy in which it is planned to establish, precisely it is used by our team specialized in quality control, in order to verify with certainty the expected result of the operations we wish to carry out, especially when it comes to informative environments for well-structured reports, for the different work areas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a developer and do constant work to retrieve or update data in a consecutive and guaranteed way, Microsoft SQL is the best option you can have in mind, highlighting that it is quite simple to use and acquires a learning curve for a use correct in its entirety, which is not so steep, and presents flexibility, guaranteeing extraordinary adjustments in the performance of your organization and providing best practices throughout the life cycle of these operations based on information essential for the success of your work processes to a business environment.