Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2016

StarWind Software Inc. | 8.0.0.13586

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows Server 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

22 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Isaiah J.

StarWind helped us solve all our project needs

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Their onboarding process connected us with a technician who helped get us going quickly and in a best-practice manner that was incredibly helpful to us.
What do you dislike?
We really have not had any complaints. The system is intuitive, and once set up, we have not had any production issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
StarWind met our need for shared storage for our Hyper-Visors within the budget limitations we had. The replication allows us a form of "back-up" with copies of our data on multiple servers in our environment allowing for faster restore than going to long-term backups too.


    Dan H.

StarWind vSAN was the right choice for us

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
StarWinds was a cost-saving storage option. Support is top-notch and extremely helpful. I love having the vSAN as local storage to free up rack space.
What do you dislike?
Having a vSAN was a learning curve for me over a physical SAN. While minor, I was not expecting the hardware changes on my host.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
StarWinds is providing me with full redundancy for my storage network connections. Forced with either a high-cost, full-redundant SAN or an affordable vSAN from StarWinds was a logical choice.


    Michal C.

Flexible and practical VSAN solution.

  • March 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy integration.
A cluster can be built from two servers.
Great and fast support.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. Everything is very good, including support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
StartWind VSAN allows us to build high availability and realtime replication (even between 2 servers). It offers multiple scaling and replication capabilities, and includes health and performance monitoring tools. For this reason, we can build highly available services for our company, which are currently essential for the activities of each company. Such a model of implementation allows to maintain the company's production continuity and to maintain constant access to data processed by the company.


    Bern F.

Excellent Value and Stellar Support

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have been able to improve our internal uptime goals and saved thousands during the purchasing and setup process. The ability of the 2 and 3 node configurations to run without expensive networking hardware is huge advantage for small clusters.
What do you dislike?
Nothing comes to mind. We've had no issues so far.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
StarWind vSAN offers unbeatable pricing for small clusters running on standard server hardware. There was no reliable production ready alternatives at this price point when we were researching for our new Windows failover cluster implementations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it serious consideration before considering an expensive SAN purchase.


    Bob B.

StarWind Virtual SAN Provided an effective and cost-effective solution

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support team helped us through the implementation - they were extremely knowledgeable. Everything worked as expected and then some. The cost of this solution versus a hardware appliance was significant.
What do you dislike?
nothing .. they exceeded all expectations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Upgrading an out-of-date architecture -- including migration from VMware to Hyper-V. Windows 2012R2 to Windows 2019. Replacing VNXe3100.


    Vaclav F.

The best Customer Support.

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
StarWind = great support. We solved all the challenges. The StarWind Virtual SAN definitely delivers everything we expected from the cluster all-flash solution for very reasonable price.
What do you dislike?
Please be very careful about the hardware you are going to use. It has to be 100% reliable with good support. The software solution is totally dependent on it and you will be able to stress it to it's limits.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used old slow storage from Dell. We had to change it. We wanted to go all-flash but with reasonable budget. We did not want to be HW vendor-locked. StarWind Virtual SAN fits perfectly. I know this company since it provided SW iSCSI solution for my Windows Server 2003 farm and it is so log time ago :-). With StarWind solution we gained not just the product but the partner. Their Customer Support is just perfect.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please be very careful about the hardware you are going to use. It has to be 100% reliable with good support. The software solution is totally dependent on it and you will be able to stress it to it's limits.


    David B.

Starwind VSAN is a good product with excellent support

  • January 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that Starwind VSAN is hypervisor agnostic and has excellent tech and customer support. The GUI is fairly straightforward and easy to use. Their tech support helped me to solve a major issue that I had, without losing any data,
What do you dislike?
Starwind VSAN requires manual intervention any time one of the server nodes needs to be shut down. The shared storage has to be put into maintenance mode, which takes it offline.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed some faster shared storage than what our older hardware SAN offered, This works excellently for the new VMs we needed for running our new vital signs capturing software. Starwind VSAN saved us money since we didn't have to purchase a new hardware SAN. It works well within our Hyper-V environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to follow Starwind's best practices when setting up the network and virtual disks. You can start with the free version to see if the performance meets your needs. The paid version with a GUI really does make administration easier, and their tech and customer support are excellent.


    Ben G.

Versatile Product

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ease of implementation. The product was extremely easy to download and install. once installed i was able to create a virtual tape library in just a matter of clicks. Setting up iscsi was straight forward. I use this product in conjunction with Veeam. To get Veeam to see the tape library was very straightforward and now I have backup to tape running. In addition to just have local virtual tapes, Starwind can integrate directly with a cloud provider Wasabi. Now I have backup to disk, tape and cloud. 3-2-1 backup rule is satisfied.
What do you dislike?
cant find a downside really. i like this product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have satisfied the 3-2-1 backup concept. My VTL server is air gapped and it ships tapes offsite. we have DR in place now
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I use this product for a virtual tape library. if you are looking to backup to tape and/or add cloud storage for backups, highly consider this product.


    Giedrius G.

Great replacement for the traditional SAN

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Runs great, quick to setup and the support is great.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really comes to mind, have been using it for ~6 months and had only once issue because of the hardware failure where StarWind VSAN did not start correctly on one of the nodes in the cluster, the issue was resolved by support in few minutes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remove traditional SAN which gave us a single point of failure and reducing costs which were lower than buying new SAN, SSDs etc.


    Grzegorz M.

Good performance and stability in relative low price

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
StarWind Virtual SAN is for me easy to underatsnd, to configure and to use.
What do you dislike?
In path Server/Configuration/Event Notifications/Action we could configure an e-mail address. But unfortunately there was no place to write login and password of sender. So this only colud be use in internal company e-mail server. All public e-mail servers require that the sender logs in.
But in last update this problem is solved and now I can use public e-mail addresses. so now there is nothing to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company exists since 1991.
Among others we also run a business of alarm monitoring central station.
Because of this alarm monitoring central station we need fully redundant system of data collecting and processing. Even a single minutes of interruption in signal receiving and/or processing could cause very big problem.

Several years ago we used cluster of 2 windows servers with shared storage system on a single SAN. On theme was working clustered SQL server with database mirroring. Every part of system was redundant except of SAN.
It was almost satisfying.
This time we did not use VMs except for testing purpose.

Everey cluster server system we know needs shared storage system. Cluster server system could be fully redundant, but this redundancy is worth nothing without redundant storage system. (Actually I heard newest windows server supports solution similar to starwind, but I’m not sure).
We had a single SAN system. As a single, SAN was not redundant. But we needed redundant storage system. We always were afraid that once upon a time our SAN will stop to work…
We off course had backups, but it was not enough.
What we needed was the system with no data loss in case of issue and with no interruption (or only several seconds of interruption) in data processing.
We were looking for relative simple and not very expensive solution.
Actually I don’t know why StarWind. I was looking for solution using Google. StarWind was first system I found that gave me a hope. When I did some tests with StarWind I stopped to look for anything more.
Now we have redundant storage system, so our cluster system is fully redundant.
As we bought two 2-nodes Starwind V-san licenses (one for Electronics Box and other one for Monitoring Łódzki) we have now 2 clusters of two nodes Windows Hyper-V servers with StarWind V-san working as hosts.
Both clusters are in different locations (same city but couple of miles far one to another). Both locations are connected with rented 100 Mb/s optical fiber connection.
On the host clusters are running several clustered VMs. Among VMs we have 2 nodes SQL cluster with Always On High Availability.
As disaster recovery VMs running on one of locations are replicated on another one.