Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 with 24x7 deployment support by SecureAnyCloud

Cognosys Inc. | CentOS 7 V1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

232 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Phill H.

Reliable linux distro for hosting

  • January 09, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The consistency and compatibility of CentOS in the decade I have been using it for hosting cPanel servers is excellent and makes CentOS my first choice for LAMP stack setups.
What do you dislike?
I am bothered the amount of packages that are made with simple installation scripts for Ubuntu but require more configuration on CentOS setups, although this is a problem with the linux community and not CentOS itself, I think there could be more additions to the CentOS repositories to have these easy setup options available for some packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintaining a high uptime for hosting service customers on shared VPS setups. CentOS has excellent stability which lets me keep my %99.9 uptime promise to customers


    Consumer Services

Best for CPanel web server

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it is pretty barebones. It doesn't have much running in the background.
What do you dislike?
I dislike there is no desktop interface on a webserver by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web hosting/troubleshooting server issues
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the thing to use.


    Jason G.

the best linux distro for my web server

  • January 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is the first linux flavor/distro I have used and what I've liked the best is the installation part. Its easy and fast to install. CentOS also is more focused on enterprise level unlike Ubuntu, that's why I prefer to use this compared to Ubuntu
What do you dislike?
Nothing, I have not encountered any major issues with CentOS so far. My webserver is running smooth and stable because of CentOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using CentOS for our webserver.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nothing


    Matt R.

CentOS is an extremely solid OS that is easy to use

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that it's solid, as most linux variations are. I run a hosting company on the side and I have uptime of over 900 days.
What do you dislike?
It's rare, but sometimes you can't find something you need in an official repository and therefore need to add an extra repository, which I really don't like to do because third party repositories aren't maintained as well as the official ones.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm able to offer a bunch of different services on this free platform. It's easy to install things from repositories, and it's very solid.


    Brian T.

Free Alternative to RHEL

  • December 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Because CentOS is a fork of RHEL and uses many of the same repositories, setting up and configuring applications on CentOS is a breeze.
What do you dislike?
Changes from version 6 to 7 broke a number of my scripts. Petty and easy to workaround, I know, but still annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a reliable open source alternative to RHEL that we could deploy quickly and use many of the same repos, scripts, and applications that we had built for RHEL. Because CentOS is free and open source, we can quickly and easily spin up new instances and tear down old servers without worrying about licensing allocation or licensing costs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Unless there is a specific feature you need from RHEL, CentOS is your go-to OS.


    Ian S.

The best enterprise-oriented Linux OS

  • December 08, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS provides all the foundations for validating software in an enterprise oriented manner, ensuring that whatever you develop will also run on RHEL. This comes with the benefits of simplicity, stability, history, and a large base of experienced administrators.
What do you dislike?
CentOS 7 (and RHEL7) introduced a new service management layer that takes some adjusting to. CentOS is not designed for the single user or desktop market, so for those audiences (who still want Linux) CentOS may not be the best choice.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am part of developing products for the enterprise server market. Our customers typically use RHEL, so leveraging CentOS allows us to develop software that will run on our customer's systems.


    Gautham Rajkumar M.

Best to use when you can't buy RHEL and a temporary alternative

  • December 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Easy to install and use, but still get the benefit of RHEL.
* Lightweight and fast, you can see it when you use it
* Use the HW recommended and you can keep it running for long.
* More apps are now using TLS which is helpful when you need security
What do you dislike?
* If there are issue, the fix takes time , due to their release cycle. Otherwise i dont see a problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well, not necessarily me but when budget is a problem, organizations use this in test/production environment. So for small/startups this would help.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you dont have a way to buy RHEL, the centos is the best one to use. You have security like TLS now. Also you can use for virtualization and hyper visor as well. Just have enough memory and disk space that is required for your virtualization. Simple to install and easy to use. Very fast and you can feel it when you use it.
Also there are multiple open source software that you can use like Apache Web server, FTTD, SQL etc. You can just use yum install and install whatever is necessary. The software update, security update will not have any problem and the user should be able to get it.
In general, CentOs has very less bugs and stable. These days you can report the bug to mail id ( dont remember now). Only disadvantage is the bug fix may take time to get as the release patter is once in 10 to 18 months.


    Enrique Y.

Operating system for servers

  • November 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like about centos is its performance as an operating system for servers, in addition to the stability and features of this robust Linux distribution of easy configuration for web servers, it has a library repertoire and it has the security of the source packages released from red hat.
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about centos is that in some installations it has caused problems with the network interfaces which I have to do cumbersome procedures for their configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I have used it as an operating system in vmware, when I am asked for requirements for the creation of web servers, proxies and mail server, due to its resemblance to red hat is an operating system very requested by web programmers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:

my recommendation for other users is if they are going to install versions of mysql see which are compatible with the different versions of centos, so they do not have problems when importing a database.


    Computer Software

Free, Secure and Stable

  • November 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, stability, and security built in from the get-go. Very few patches and when patches are needed, it rarely requires a reboot. Up time is amazing! I was also impressed with how simple it was to setup a secure web server. We have several web servers that run various services for our institution.
What do you dislike?
They do not release new versions as often as I would like, but it is certainly not a deal breaker. It can get quite confusing when something doesnt work as you would expect it to.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS in our development environment to avoid the expensive costs of RHEL Licensing.


    Research

Simple to use CentOS for Linux Development

  • November 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to install and use, very similar to Red Hat. Cent OS is free, and community driven.
What do you dislike?
Infrequently updated compared to Red Hat, less support. Little commercial support, but you pay what you get for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No true problems. Benefits have been far and wide, being free to use, and has binary compatibility. Little commercial support available; however, it's nice to have something that free and wide to us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Absolutely, as it's a free to use operating system, with most of the benefits of Red Hat.