Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | CentOS 7 V1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

194 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Great Linux system, faster and with great support

  • June 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is faster and compatible with RedHat binaries. It has 10 years garanteed support per main version and very simple to update. It is a fast and simple SERVER operating system.
What do you dislike?
I do not have anything bad to say about CentOS. May be the logo?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is designed for mission critical applications. It is a really fine, fast and reliable operating system.


    Information Technology and Services

Most secure and stable OSes straits from box.

  • June 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy and quick deployment,Versions life cycle,cent OS provides a rock-solid basis for applications that rely on maximum up time,Good package management.
What do you dislike?
Increase speed of getting latest version of base package,documentation is not comprehensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast security patching,good package management,quick and easy installation process with sensible and secure default.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Cent OS provides a free platform for hosting all necessary network services such as file sharing, printer sharing, DHCP ,DNS etc.


    Information Services

CentOS

  • June 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free OS and very cool infra and good to use.
What do you dislike?
Application support and ease to install apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OS license and ease to use.


    Information Technology and Services

Cent OS is excellent!

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to customize your environment and the stability of a solid, long lasting, trustworthy and dependable Operating System.
What do you dislike?
I dislike nothing, it's easy to work with and has a great community of users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides a solid test environment and is consistently relied upon without the fear of downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you enjoy a trustworthy and dependable Operating System look no further!


    Evan B.

The best alternative to Red Hat Enterprise Linux - RHEL

  • May 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are three points that makes CentOS a great operative system.
The packages system works really good, like APT in Debian systems, RPM and YUM can deal with all packages and dependencies in very easy way.
The stability of the full system is awesome. In more than 5 years never get's hang.
The updates program in more than enough, There are critical and non-critical updates every week.
What do you dislike?
The effort that needs to become up and ready can be high, but when it's ready, the maintenance needed is minimum
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use in our company to run virtual machines of other operative systems, as native host.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a full-featured operative system. Based in Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), it's the best alternative to the expensive RHEL.


    Entertainment

Free open source version of RedHat

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a very stable linux distribution and has a good community to support it. Since it is the community edition of RedHat, RedHat documentation also applies to CentOS.
What do you dislike?
sometimes due to this is lacks same newer versions of packages. There are solutions for this but sometimes it is not as easy as installing a package with yum.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The stability of CentOS allows us to provide stable servers to our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, it is free so no additional cost to try it out.


    Muhammad Arsalan N.

CentOS Review

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable and reliable.
Long release and support cycle.
Free and Open Source.
Huge community support always willing to help.
Easy to install 3rd party softwares.
What do you dislike?
Desktop platform is average, best suited for server side deployment.
Nothing else really ......
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have around 100+ servers running on CentOS. From Web server to DB Server, monitoring tools like Zabbix and configuration management services like Ansible everything is on CentOs hosts. CentOs is a very reliable OS for our requirements and with no financial impact as its free. Open community is great and I always found a solution when ever I found myself in some dier situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a goto server platform with great community support.


    Angelo Jesse L.

Stable solution for RTMP and HLS servers

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast installations and update. Easy installations of programs via yum. Compatible with NginX and mariaDB. Lot's of documentation and tutorials too.
What do you dislike?
I really have nothing to dislike about CentOS as I find it really stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
HLS live streaming solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very easy if you're already into Linux


    Computer & Network Security

CentOS - Secure | Fast | Reliable - One of the most advanced Operating System

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is by far one of the most secure operating system. All the tasks are based on permissions and without permissions, no task can run. So say no to Viruses and Malware. Centos is also one of the fastest operating system. One of the key reason for this is that the 99% of the tasks within CentOS remain sleeping and when we want to use any application/ task, the system on the spot turn on the task making the resources of the operating system free for all the ad-hoc tasks.
What do you dislike?
There is no con as such for this operating system. The only thing that can be started is that the company can start a small team which can help users worldwide in case of any issues. However, a wide amount of forums/ pages are available on the internet but still sometimes debugging an issue can take time which can be reduced if someone is available for help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS has widely helped us in increasing the efficiency of our products. CentOS made our applications crash free and Virus free. We don't even require Anti-Virus software on our systems as the system itself is very secure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is by far one of the most reliable software. Go ahead and deploy this system in your organization so as to make your applications/ systems efficient and virus-free.


    Computer & Network Security

Probably the best open source OS

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The level of customization you can do to achieve what do you want your OS to behave like.
What do you dislike?
Not much really. Maybe an ability to easily configure to support few .net applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to move from enterprise Redhat servers to centos serveres
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just try it once.