Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | CentOS 7 V1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

197 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Angelo Jesse L.

Stable solution for RTMP and HLS servers

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast installations and update. Easy installations of programs via yum. Compatible with NginX and mariaDB. Lot's of documentation and tutorials too.
What do you dislike?
I really have nothing to dislike about CentOS as I find it really stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
HLS live streaming solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very easy if you're already into Linux


    Computer & Network Security

CentOS - Secure | Fast | Reliable - One of the most advanced Operating System

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is by far one of the most secure operating system. All the tasks are based on permissions and without permissions, no task can run. So say no to Viruses and Malware. Centos is also one of the fastest operating system. One of the key reason for this is that the 99% of the tasks within CentOS remain sleeping and when we want to use any application/ task, the system on the spot turn on the task making the resources of the operating system free for all the ad-hoc tasks.
What do you dislike?
There is no con as such for this operating system. The only thing that can be started is that the company can start a small team which can help users worldwide in case of any issues. However, a wide amount of forums/ pages are available on the internet but still sometimes debugging an issue can take time which can be reduced if someone is available for help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS has widely helped us in increasing the efficiency of our products. CentOS made our applications crash free and Virus free. We don't even require Anti-Virus software on our systems as the system itself is very secure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is by far one of the most reliable software. Go ahead and deploy this system in your organization so as to make your applications/ systems efficient and virus-free.


    Computer & Network Security

Probably the best open source OS

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The level of customization you can do to achieve what do you want your OS to behave like.
What do you dislike?
Not much really. Maybe an ability to easily configure to support few .net applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to move from enterprise Redhat servers to centos serveres
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just try it once.


    Pedro Javier V.

Administrador CentOS 7

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think it is very useful in terms of the security provided by the operating system, since in terms of robustness, it is very robust, in terms of the advantages of using centos, I can emphasize that I use it without a graphic. Environment, which generates a greater performance of my virtual machines. additional to this is an operative system with a wide range of administration commands which generates that multiple functions can be performed in our server
What do you dislike?
One of the things that I do not like very much about the centers is that there is no forum or repository of official information of the operating system, for the deployment of applications it must be consulted on the Internet in different pages or forumsOne of the things that I do not like very much about the centers is that there is no forum or repository of official information of the operating system, for the deployment of applications it must be consulted on the Internet in different pages or forums
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
at this moment I am getting benefits for security in my virtual machines, very little vulnerability and I maintain the integrity of the data with this operating system, this encompasses my benefits
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Of course I would recommend it, it is an ideal operating system for the deployment of applications and business services


    José A.

Using CentOS as server and desktop

  • April 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compared to other operating systems, CentOS is more stable and secure.
What do you dislike?
Compared to Debian-derived systems, it becomes a bit more complicated to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using CentOS without graphical interface and with samba server to store files, filtering unnecessary files. The biggest benefit was protection between computer networks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Before using the product, evaluate the need of the business since CentOS needs a somewhat intermediate knowledge.


    sebastian s.

Servidor para aplicaciones

  • April 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Es una de las mejores distribuciones para poner en producción y desplegar aplicaciones, ha sido muy estable y ligero.
What do you dislike?
Los comandos que hay que usar son un poco diferentes a la distribuciones basadas en en Debian, toca estudiar un poco para saber donde están las cosas para ejecutarlas y activar los servicios.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
La posibilidad de tener un servidor estable y seguro, ademas de que ahorra costos para la empresa al no tener que pagar licencias caras y tener las actualizaciones de seguridad, que permiten tener un sistema seguro
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mayores capacitaciones para poder que sea más amigables con los administradores y se le pueda sacar más provecho a todas las capacidades que tiene este sistema operativo


    Oil & Energy

Centos is great free Linux Distro

  • April 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, and is exactly like Redhat as far as packages
What do you dislike?
not much to dislike. It is widely used by the community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy deployment for large farms
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great distro for geoscientist world


    Computer Software

Best for stable parallel processing

  • March 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It worked best while i used it to run Hadoop. It is quite stable and can be run for longer periods. It is best for off-line processing and data management among different clusters. It has really steady security fixes. It is suitable for beginners due to its user friendly interface.
What do you dislike?
Centos is not suitable for client side working. It has a better capability to be run on server side. Latest releases are not available on time. Its update is quite slow so this area also needs an attention.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As it manages different clusters of data reallly well. Therefore, regrdless of the size of the data. It brilliantly does parallel processing for a longer time period.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to use this on server side. If you don't want to spend money on security as most Linux versions are likely to be secure. Therefore, in case of windows server, one has to install anti virus which is an additional cost.


    mercedes m.

Good operating system for websites

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Full parity with the Redhat release It’s efficient for small and medium businesses
What do you dislike?
I'm realize that is not a fault of centos, but it's the only "but" that I can find New systemd way to handle system services Well there is nothing to dislike in Centos, as it is clone of Redhat linux
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It took off our integration issues with old PBX systems and allowed us to have control over our call center project and the campaign developed to apply different apps to deliver BI reports from every level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To run parallel cases with security of no errors, it's the best option If you are unhappy with XWindows , you could migrate to a mac cloud or Azure, but CentOS promises high performance at no cost If you would like to have an enterprise level experience of Unix system, without spending a penny, CENTOS is the best option you could have


    Consumer Goods

Enterprise Stability, Community Support

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a stable Linux distribution that mirrors the RHEL distribution, but without the subscription requirement. For most applications this is completely acceptable - you don't need anyone to call for support, because it just works. Following the RHEL platform means that it supports a wide variety of applications, and has a long lifecycle.
What do you dislike?
As with RHEL, it tends to lag behind in versions and updates, because it focuses on stability over bleeding edge features. Periodically this causes problems that require going to another distribution to overcome.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're reducing operating system subscription and licensing costs, but maintaining stability and performance. CentOS has allowed us to accomplish this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Generally works just fine - there's not really much to say, here. Occasionally you'll run into applications that are not supported on it and are only supported on RHEL (Docker EE, SAP). These applications will probably run just fine on CentOS, but if you call to get support for the application and they see you running on CentOS, they may push back. You just have to be ready to prove that whatever issue you're having also happens on RHEL.