Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NGINX With CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | 21-10-09

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21-10-09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

90 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Easy and open source server

  • April 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is easy to configure and very fast.
What do you dislike?
Not as popular as apache, so you may have some issues setting up projects when apache config files are referenced
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nginx is great for load balancing,. Individual web servers and reverse proxying


    Internet

Nginx for a standard web server as a hosting provider

  • April 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It offers good performance and has been rock solid stable for our use. We have been able to create a standardized hosting solution where only a few parameters need to be changed for almost any website.
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything that I don't dislike about Nginx, works perfectly for us
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Delivering web pages and doing ssl termination. With nginx we can do both without the need to have any axtra components in our stack.


    Stefan V.

Works great and really fast

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I prefer nginx because it works really fast under high loads and in combination with php-fpm produces magic.
What do you dislike?
It's bit harder to set applications to run on nginx. Had some hard time setting WordPress link structure
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed, reliability, performance


    Information Technology and Services

Fast, flexible web server

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Highly configurable, easy to setup on existing architecture, scales well, much faster than other solutions in market and one of the best load balancer
What do you dislike?
Dynamic module loading still needs improvement, Windows support is lacking
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it as web server and load balancer on our production http services.


    Financial Services

The best web server

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of my favorite nginx´s features, besides peformance of course, is simplicity of configuration.
What do you dislike?
Less community support and documentation than othes related softwares (like Apache)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently nginx is my one-to-go web server solution for web server and proxying.


    Daniel K.

Industry Standard

  • April 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx went a long way from a simple proxy server for assets to powerful multi-purpose server. You literally can solve any complicated server-side tasks as redirects, URL manipulation, load balancing, caching, prevent DDoS attacks and etc.
What do you dislike?
At the same time, there are some limitations. Nginx configuration is pretty strict. E.g., it supports "if" condition but doesn't support "else" condition. To solve more complicate tasks you have to write scripts on LUA.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web server for serving content, load balancing, CDN, complicated redirect rules. It can easily replace a bunch of paid services from Amazon or any other Cloud providers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't be afraid to replace your Apache with Nginx. It's much more powerful and can bring significant benefits.


    Matthew J.

Best of Breed

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is a reliable, fast, and a lightweight web server. The reverse proxy is powerful and can be tied to multiple security and performance features that make this tool indispensable in my workflow.
What do you dislike?
I wish that Nginx Plus was the same exact code base, with just an option to enable it with a license key. Having two different source trees makes it more difficult than it should be.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IP address blocking, rate-limiting and HTTP2 allow us to build a front end to some of our older web applications that will give us features out the box to do more. We have been able to do load balancing and rate limiting on multiple applications.


    John R.

The best lightweight web server

  • January 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx require so few resources compared to Apache. In the same way that the Chrome browser replaced industry stalwarts, Nginx has given us a great alternative to Apache. I use Nginx to run some popular open source software and it does great. We have also used it as a load balancer in the past because it is an affordable alternative to commercial load balancers.
What do you dislike?
Configuration can be a barrier for more advanced needs . But that is true of any web based software. The community is great in providing examples for these scenarios. It's not as straightforward as installing a module in Apache, but that is also what makes it more powerful is the decoupling.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run blogs with Wordpress and stat collecting sites using Piwik. We can run it on less resources which saves us money in hosting costs.


    Pedro L.

Powerful and flexible web server

  • January 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is a powerful web servicing tool which enables our team to easily and quickly set up a considerably large array of different development environments for web based applications
What do you dislike?
The aspect in which I think we could be better serverd using Nginx is the one regarding documentation. Sometimes is a bit difficult to assess if Nginx does provide a certain complex feature we need in our development environment and if so how exactly to go about it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nginx allows our development team to provide a quicker response time when addressing applicational bugs or the implementation of new features, thus making it easier to comply with SLA's.


    Wei M.

The choice for a high-concurrency web server or reverse proxy

  • November 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx does its job as web server very well. Thanks to its design it can handle high-concurrency web requests very well, and it also works very well for a load-balancing reverse proxy server.
What do you dislike?
Does not have a PHP module like Apache (requires php-fpm).
Text-based configuration file is not very user-friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Nginx as a load-balancer for the web console of our internal private cloud platform, as well as our internal object-storage system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a high-performance light-weight web server, or a load balancer, Nginx is the correct choice. Highly recommended!