Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NGINX With CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | 21-10-09

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21-10-09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

92 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Tyler S.

Nginx makes websites fast

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that it is much faster than Apache.
What do you dislike?
A bit more to config than Apache, but that's okay because it makes it better at the same time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By speeding up websites. We use it as a proxy for static assets.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great for caching and allows your sites to be much faster, gives you great flexibility and setup for your sever.


    Marketing and Advertising

Faster Webserver Ever

  • July 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High Performance and easy configuration through console.
What do you dislike?
Compared to Apache there are not many third party managment tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy setup and hard customization.


    Justin P.

Nginx review for small SaaS app

  • April 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed. Using it as a front end proxy for Django WSGI server, I'm able to realize much better performance for concurrent sessions than a typical HTTPD setup.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. It's free, easy to set up, and does what I need it to.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My business case has a lot of user downtime, with spikes of activity. Consequently, concurrent sessions is something I need to think about and this (plus a WSGI server+Django) lets me be less process-bound than if I were using HTTPD.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your experience is at all like mine, it'll probably be the most headache-free piece of your implementation.


    Information Technology and Services

The standard web server, for a reason

  • April 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using nginx is such an obvious thing in any environment that it is even hard to explain for people not familiar with it.
It is amazingly versatile for any kind of setup and I've been using it as a load balancer, a steamer, as a web application firewall. Even used it to fetch HTML directly from a memcache server with just a simple configuration file.
What do you dislike?
While having the ability to do Apache style .htaccess configurations per directory would help people coming from that mentality. I don't necessarily see that as a good thing to have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Handling a lot of traffic with fewer hardware and being able to quickly adapt to different services and software behind the HTTP server.


    Information Technology and Services

I am setting up home server with docker and nginx

  • January 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy and stable why if I configured then it will not give me headache and fast access to websites.
What do you dislike?
I don't know what I dislike maybe I should use more time to learn other sub function.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can do any things with Nginx performance and stable.


    Michael J.

Solid and Reliable Proxy and Server

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is very solid for my needs. I've never run into any trouble with it, even under higher loads. The ease of reloading configuration changes is a high point, as is the smart syntax of its configuration. In addition, since the configuration is very flexible, I've been able to easily configure SSL connections to meet the stringent encryption security requirements demanded by our customers.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have as large a community as Apache HTTPd, and a lot of software assumes you're using that. This often means translating configuration to something compatible with nginx. The rewrite syntax is very different than that of mod_rewrite (for Apache HTTPd), and often cannot be transliterated directly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using nginx to offload SSL termination for a web application by reverse proxy. It also acts as a bit of protection from directly exposing the back-end HTTP server to the public. While acting as a load balancer, it makes it easy to cycle nodes out for upgrades and/or maintenance with minimal public disturbance, reducing the duration of scheduled maintenance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep in mind that my experience with nginx is primarily as a reverse proxy. For that purpose, it is a great tool. Using it as a load balancer, it is more configurable and handles better than a dedicated appliance like a NetScaler. Keep in mind that if you want some of the advanced features advertised like easy add and removal of nodes, you'll need the commercial Plus offering. If you're in need of those features, however, it's a great value.


    Thiago O.

Best application server out there!

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is such a versatile application, it serves for a lot of purposes!
What do you dislike?
The fact that it allows so many possibilities, also make it challenging to tune in sometimes!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it as a reverse proxy for my apps, so that I don't have to expose my internal endpoints. Everything goes trough nginx.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it! It's agreat tool, very robust, very flexible and very stable!


    Alan J.

Used in several projects

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Is fast, nonblocking, stable, cheap on resources and relatively full on features
What do you dislike?
Does not accept Apache config files. Does not have integrated UI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its nonblocking behaviour let my application workers free to receive requests instead of locked on clients downloads of the responses
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Is not as standard than Apache, but have cookbooks for everything that matters


    Scott K.

by far the most powerful webserver and beyond

  • September 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, high performance webserver (and beyond with the modules) that can scale large amounts of connections without an issue. A lot of the additional modules provide support for other features or protocols - and in the newest versions, modules can be dynamically loaded too now.

Nginx provides very fast support when used as the front-end webserver and proxying back to another one [locally], such as Apache for the specific applications that may require .htaccess to still work.
What do you dislike?
I'm not entirely sure there's a whole lot to dislike about it. Nginx is pretty much a drop in replacement for any other webserver using different SAPI's via fastcgi instead or modules. It does lack .htaccess support that is still ever so needed at times based on customer applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're able to scale wordpress extremely well using nginx+php-fpm+fastcgi caching for commonly requested pages, so the webserver doesn't have to re-process them if found in cache.

Nginx is also the webserver being used for BelugaCDN -- although the CDN proxy is written in Go.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Seriously, you can't go wrong using nginx! As long as you have everything properly tuned accordingly, it should only increase performance and response time.

If you have the requirement of using .htaccess still, you can still run the site via nginx and just proxy it back to Apache.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great as a reverse proxy

  • September 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx has a very low memory footprint and performs very well under load. It also supports a number of useful features like SSL and GZIP.
What do you dislike?
Configuration can be tricky sometimes. But there are tutorials available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use nginx to add SSL to our backend and to GZIP compress our content before it is sent to clients as well as to redirect all HTTP requests to HTTPs. Nginx provides all the features we need (including web sockets pricing) at no cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nginx is definitely a very mature and reliable product. It won't let you down.