Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NGINX With CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | 21-10-09

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21-10-09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

89 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

The standard web server, for a reason

  • April 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using nginx is such an obvious thing in any environment that it is even hard to explain for people not familiar with it.
It is amazingly versatile for any kind of setup and I've been using it as a load balancer, a steamer, as a web application firewall. Even used it to fetch HTML directly from a memcache server with just a simple configuration file.
What do you dislike?
While having the ability to do Apache style .htaccess configurations per directory would help people coming from that mentality. I don't necessarily see that as a good thing to have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Handling a lot of traffic with fewer hardware and being able to quickly adapt to different services and software behind the HTTP server.


    Information Technology and Services

I am setting up home server with docker and nginx

  • January 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy and stable why if I configured then it will not give me headache and fast access to websites.
What do you dislike?
I don't know what I dislike maybe I should use more time to learn other sub function.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can do any things with Nginx performance and stable.


    Michael J.

Solid and Reliable Proxy and Server

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is very solid for my needs. I've never run into any trouble with it, even under higher loads. The ease of reloading configuration changes is a high point, as is the smart syntax of its configuration. In addition, since the configuration is very flexible, I've been able to easily configure SSL connections to meet the stringent encryption security requirements demanded by our customers.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have as large a community as Apache HTTPd, and a lot of software assumes you're using that. This often means translating configuration to something compatible with nginx. The rewrite syntax is very different than that of mod_rewrite (for Apache HTTPd), and often cannot be transliterated directly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using nginx to offload SSL termination for a web application by reverse proxy. It also acts as a bit of protection from directly exposing the back-end HTTP server to the public. While acting as a load balancer, it makes it easy to cycle nodes out for upgrades and/or maintenance with minimal public disturbance, reducing the duration of scheduled maintenance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep in mind that my experience with nginx is primarily as a reverse proxy. For that purpose, it is a great tool. Using it as a load balancer, it is more configurable and handles better than a dedicated appliance like a NetScaler. Keep in mind that if you want some of the advanced features advertised like easy add and removal of nodes, you'll need the commercial Plus offering. If you're in need of those features, however, it's a great value.


    Thiago O.

Best application server out there!

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is such a versatile application, it serves for a lot of purposes!
What do you dislike?
The fact that it allows so many possibilities, also make it challenging to tune in sometimes!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it as a reverse proxy for my apps, so that I don't have to expose my internal endpoints. Everything goes trough nginx.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it! It's agreat tool, very robust, very flexible and very stable!


    Alan J.

Used in several projects

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Is fast, nonblocking, stable, cheap on resources and relatively full on features
What do you dislike?
Does not accept Apache config files. Does not have integrated UI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its nonblocking behaviour let my application workers free to receive requests instead of locked on clients downloads of the responses
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Is not as standard than Apache, but have cookbooks for everything that matters


    Scott K.

by far the most powerful webserver and beyond

  • September 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, high performance webserver (and beyond with the modules) that can scale large amounts of connections without an issue. A lot of the additional modules provide support for other features or protocols - and in the newest versions, modules can be dynamically loaded too now.

Nginx provides very fast support when used as the front-end webserver and proxying back to another one [locally], such as Apache for the specific applications that may require .htaccess to still work.
What do you dislike?
I'm not entirely sure there's a whole lot to dislike about it. Nginx is pretty much a drop in replacement for any other webserver using different SAPI's via fastcgi instead or modules. It does lack .htaccess support that is still ever so needed at times based on customer applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're able to scale wordpress extremely well using nginx+php-fpm+fastcgi caching for commonly requested pages, so the webserver doesn't have to re-process them if found in cache.

Nginx is also the webserver being used for BelugaCDN -- although the CDN proxy is written in Go.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Seriously, you can't go wrong using nginx! As long as you have everything properly tuned accordingly, it should only increase performance and response time.

If you have the requirement of using .htaccess still, you can still run the site via nginx and just proxy it back to Apache.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great as a reverse proxy

  • September 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx has a very low memory footprint and performs very well under load. It also supports a number of useful features like SSL and GZIP.
What do you dislike?
Configuration can be tricky sometimes. But there are tutorials available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use nginx to add SSL to our backend and to GZIP compress our content before it is sent to clients as well as to redirect all HTTP requests to HTTPs. Nginx provides all the features we need (including web sockets pricing) at no cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nginx is definitely a very mature and reliable product. It won't let you down.


    Gerald L.

Easy to setup

  • August 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is very easy to setup web servers on different ports. The configuration documentation is easy to understand and there are plenty of discussion boards to find help on how to make a configuration change.
What do you dislike?
The version of Nginx supplied with Ubuntu 14.04 did not come with many modules. This is remedied by using the Nginx repository to install Nginx.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had to change the IP address of a server to a hostname. We were able to create a temporary web server to listen to the old port and redirect users to the new address.


    Aung Thu Rha H.

Apache alternative to gain better performance and to handle high web traffic

  • April 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is a web server of choice in terms of performance and handling heavy load and web traffic. If we are talking about an open-source web server, Apache is the most well-known HTTP server among developers but Nginx is the one that addresses the performance and scalability problem of Apache. Nginx's asynchronous and event-driven structure is more efficient than Apache. To sum up, Go Nginx for applications that require high concurrency, high performance and multi-threading. For small and medium scaled web applications, Apache can handle just fine and also its built-in supports of some programming languages is also pretty nice.
What do you dislike?
I think it is better to compare the drawbacks of Nginx over Apache. Apache is a lot older than Nginx, which means that Apache community is bigger and more available modules and extensions than Nginx. Also, it doesn't work quite well with Windows OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a few web applications that getting slow down after high web traffic load and after replacing Apache with Nginx, it can be seen that it uses moderate computational resources and handles web traffic better than Apache.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are Linux users and get a support for configuration of your web applications, Nginx is a perfect solution.
Go check Nginx "Getting started" page and try out yourself. The configuration provided from the Ngix community makes my life a lot easier at early point.
URL : https://www.nginx.com/resources/wiki/start/


    Filipe O.

Blazing fast and easy to configure

  • January 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The configuration files are very simple to setup: from running simple PHP and SSL to proxying and load balancing. A Nginx newbie can perform advanced web server tasks with little difficulty. The community is strong, and Nginx is proofed to be much faster than competitors.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't work very well in Windows systems when running as a service daemon. Aside of that, everything is just right.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I host dozens of websites and Nginx has helped me understand my web server configuration files easier. It takes a different approach: you only need to configure the basic stuff, and customise the advanced stuff only if you want. It's a great advantage to Apache in which you must configure the basic and advanced stuff, even you don't know what you're playing around. This way the learning curve of Nginx is much more kind.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'll make the right choice if you pick up Nginx. It won't be hard picking it up and it will pay very quickly.