Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins With CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | 21-10-09

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21-10-09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

362 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Retail

Continuous Deploy Continuous Happienss , with Jenkins

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of the Jenkins is it supports all the platforms or language. All you need to search for particular plugin you are looking for. Community is the strength of the Jenkins and it's motivated by open source contributions.
What do you dislike?
Since it's a open source too, it's a great tool and nothing to blame about the product as such.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been test my e-commerce platform and deploying using jenkins. I am successfully adopted CI culture with in the team. Seamless integration and team is very happy about that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One need to know what is continuous deployment and integration, nothing to do with the technical it's more of cultural change,


    Alan H.

the defacto tool for running tests and deploying code

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins simply works, it automates running my scripts. It has many plugins available for extra features and connecting with external sources.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins simply runs builds. It's so simple, there is nothing to dislike. It has many extensions, and some extensions have a few bugs but Jenkins itself is very stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run our tests automatically, similar to travis-ci.org. We have Jenkins builds for deploying software to production machines. These builds can be run programmatically through Jenkin's api so we no longer have to run command line scripts or ssh into machines to deploy code.


    Danny G.

Vital tool in my CI/CD toolbox

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is a comprehensive solution that has covered literally every build scenario I have encountered. When I am not just fooling around and I know I need build solution that is stable, integrates with everything, and scales - I turn to Jenkins. Critical features:
* Support for literally anything you want to build
* Support for nodes on special targets
* Scales
* Webhooks, Plugins, Scripting, Integrations
* REST API
* Remote triggers
What do you dislike?
Bless their hearts, they've really been trying on the UI - and improving, but it still screams legacy and it's fairly clear that their Web UI team hasn't really caught up. It's a turn off for many who look to Travis and others because they're sexier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cross-platform builds across many software tools in many languages, complete integration with entire back-office stack (Slack, Intercom, SFDC, Google Apps, GitHub, Jira, Bitbucket, Mandrill, etc), multiple, dependent builds against Pull-Requests and tracked branches, automated versioning and deployment of build artifacts, etc.

Jenkins has allowed me to drastically reduce my cost in testing and releasing software, while allowing me to release far more rapidly, with a stronger assurance of acceptance and quality.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suffer through the kludgy UI and look to the rich body of blogs and guides to see how others are utilizing Jenkins to solve their problems. While you're builds are probably not exactly alike, it's almost guaranteed that someone has asked the question you're stuck on and posted an answer online.


    Imran H.

used it extensively for our distributed CI system. also worked on plugin development

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the code readability , and ability to extend mechanism. also deployment is super straightforward.
Continuous integration systems are a vital part of any Agile
team because they help enforce the ideals of Agile
development
Jenkins, a continuous build tool, enables teams to focus on
their work by automating the build, artifact management,
and deployment processes
Jenkins’ core functionality and flexibility allow it to fit in a
variety of environments and can help streamline the
development process for all stakeholders involved
What do you dislike?
hudson documentation itself is not verbose,
Poor documentation
The most useful information found about Jenkins is on StackOverflow and various strange corners of the internet that careful Googling may sometimes find. The actual documentation for Jenkins is poorly organized and extremely vague and outdated. Documentation for plugins, even the plugins most heavily relied upon, is almost non-existent.
Outdated Interface
The Jenkins interface seems outdated and clunky by today's standarts.It does not follow good design principles, has no whitespace which makes the views feel crowded and confusing.
High overhead
Unlike some of the simple and hosted alternatives, users need to host and setup Jenkins by themselves. This results in both a high initial setup time as well as time sunk into maintenance over a projects duration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we solve a lot of automation and testing and also artifactory deployment via jenkins.
Highly customisable
Jenkins is by far the most customizable solution on the market. There are over 400 plugins to support building and testing virtually any project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use the latest workflow strucuture as suggested by cloudbees .


    Andrei R.

I use Jenkins for almost 8 years

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing in Jenkins is its simplicity to create build process I need. No matterer where do you store you code, no matter what language do you use - you can always make what you need.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins has old interface and navigation, so sometimes it's hard to use it. People also choose for the Look And Feel, so Jenkins team could improve it a little.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins helps me in organizing Continuous Delivery process. Out team is small, so we need automation very much.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a day or two. There is an adoption barrier, but once you configured it you will enjoy it.


    Blake C.

Used to kick of the building and deployment of outr code.

  • December 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is streamlined and has a breadth of functionality.
What do you dislike?
There is a bit of a learning curve, and finding the functionality that you need can occasionally be tedious
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to have a controlled way to build, track and deploy code to our servers.


    Education Management

the best Continuous Integration Software

  • September 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy integrations with other tools using plugins makes build automation and code integrations easier. with plugins for code analysis makes code review possible. I highly recommend jenkins for Continuous integration for mid sized companies. jenkins helps better automated deployments.
What do you dislike?
scalability is a main issue with jenkins. also queue priritization could be made better. automated deployments could be made better. could be made better console features.could be made better user profile managerment could be made better. design and test environments could be made better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
trying to integrate a huge core app with jenkins makes continuos integration easier


    Ashish M.

Jenkins is best opensource CI tool so far

  • July 08, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best is this is opensource and large community is following this.
UI is very simple and admin things are easy to follow.
Never ending plugins are available. You just think what you want to do and probably you will get a plugin.
Initial setup of jenkins server is very easy.
Lot of documentations available to help deploy with tomcat.
Adding client nodes is super easy. Just fill in minimum details and you are done.
Configuration page is very versatile and gives you lots and lots of options to use for your job.
What do you dislike?
I experienced lot of HEAP space issues. Many times i have fixed that with more heap space in CATALINA, but i think Jenkins should be able to handle it on its own.
Also, I found some lack of documentations on plugins. Jenkins is easy to setup but later on it takes time to use some complex plugins which are not very straightforward and need some pre-configuration in administration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Daily builds, nightly builds, automation testing, other utility jobs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its opensourse and once you started with this and realize its power, you cant stop using it


    Steve H.

Jenkins is one of the better-known self-hosted java-based CI servers

  • July 06, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins was forked from Hudson, one of the early CI servers. At the time Hudson came out, Cruise Control was what most were resigned to, which required a lot more care and feeding. For its part, Hudson is very simple to set up, in theory; just run the WAR file. It works out of the box, has probably the largest user base of the self-hosted solutions, and plugins for most everything you'd want to integrate into your workflow. Or you can write your own plugin, using any JVM-friendly language (it's not just for Java anymore).

Building custom forms in order to provide options for automated builds is fun and easy.

Very configurable by itself. If you need to cobble something together quickly, you can always drop down into a shell script.

No doubt, hosted solutions like Solano and Travis are sexier. But they also cost money, and by definition they have eyes on your data. That rules them out for shops where HIPPA or other security policies have to be followed.
What do you dislike?
The plugin ecosystem is poorly managed. It's unclear which combination of plugins are safe to use together. Many are readily available for inclusion, but haven't been supported in years, or will only work on older versions of Hudson.

Given this, sometimes it's NECESSARY to cobble something together.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Other than standard CI workflows, I used Jenkins at a financial services company as a means to kick off compliance tests. Non-technical users had an easy HTML form where they can select they combinations of tests they want to run, the locales to run them in, the environment to target the tests against, etc. Artifacts such as screenshots and audit logs are readily available and preserved in a way that makes sense to the business. Tests are run on a schedule, or before a big release.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you require a self-hosted solution, Hudson will likely have what you need, but it may require a few trips to the forums. Happily there's still a large user base. OTOH, TeamCity is free for smaller teams, and may prove easier to set up and maintain.


    Jayesh V.

Very Good Continues Intigration tool with lots off features.

  • May 29, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can implement fully automated system for build creation to build deployment on QA server and start our automation to newly deployed build. Its awesome tool provides some enhanced functionality like automatic email integration failure analysis etc..
What do you dislike?
Once we create job we can not delete. So after long times lots off job would be created. some times this make confusion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Jenkins in continues integration system for automatic creating and deploying build as well as running automation on newly created build.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its awesome tool for continues integration i ever seen in my professional career. I fully recommend this tool to every one who want to implement CI system for his product.