Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server with CentOS 7.6

Cognosys Inc. | 21-10-09

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21-10-09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marketing and Advertising

Apache server

  • October 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For me is the best web server today for several things like cross OS installation, customization and stability. Is flexible because of ability to pick and choose various modules. Has enhanced security (notable, because vulnerabilities typically are attacked in Windows-based machines). Has strong user-community support.
What do you dislike?
in Apache itself, nothing. but several plugins are difficult to configure or make them work like expected. Sometimes not every configuration is intuitive, but every time we can make it work. Is a process-based server, which means each simultaneous connection requires a thread that can incur significant overhead
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm a full stack developer and several times we needed to custom several configurations and with Apache we make it work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Apache HTTP Server Project is a collaborative software development effort aimed at creating a robust, commercial-grade, featureful, and freely-available source code implementation of an HTTP (Web) server. The project is jointly managed by a group of volunteers located around the world, using the Internet and the Web to communicate, plan, and develop the server and its related documentation. This project is part of the Apache Software Foundation. In addition, hundreds of users have contributed ideas, code, and documentation to the project. This file is intended to briefly describe the history of the Apache HTTP Server and recognize the many contributors.


    Satish S.

Best inexpensive webser found in market

  • July 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Any one who come across the Apache Web server, the first thing comes into mind is how inexpensive and stable webserver it is. I have been using this websever to host the front end application and cost is zero. More over this is stable and no issues at all. It supports lot of modules and can connect to Oracle weblogic server, IBM websphere application server, jboss application server and lot more application servers.
What do you dislike?
When I first installed apache webserver on my machine, the first thing I disliked about it was that it does not have enough documentation. Now days I see lot of online forums and documentation available. so it should not be a problem now a days for anyone.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Apache webserver as webserver to the customers, we are hosting very good online applications that are revenue generating. apache webserver would be future of online applications for web content hosting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend others to switch to it


    Lionel L.

Awesome web server to host multiple Websites

  • July 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've created my own NAS using the OpenMediaVault distribution which is missing a Web server. As I wanted to host my own Web sites/apps I turned into a LAMP (Linux Apache MySQL PHP) solution.
Apache is a simple but powerful Web server that can handle multiple domains super easily. Via a DNS company I redirect the traffic to my NAS running Apache which can render/provide the appropriate page/site based on the Url.
What do you dislike?
The Url rewrite module (to use more friendly public Url) is difficult to debug and understand why a rule isn't working.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having different public domain names redirecting the traffic to a single Apache server handling multiple websites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is free, stable and powerful. It requires little to none maintenance.


    Zaki R.

Clearly one of the best open-source products for running web servers

  • July 13, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can download the basic Apache server free
Configuring Apache requires editing directives in text files
User authentication and access control are managed primarily via .htaccess files;
As a platform for development, Apache directly supports CGI scripts and server-side includes, and its wide variety of modules provide plug-in support for Perl, PHP, emulated ASP, and other page-generation and Web-scripting languages.
What do you dislike?
Authentication and security options in the basic Apache server are limited.
Apache's performance starts decreasing once many concurrent users jump on your site where Nginx's performance doesn't drop.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running my webbased monitoring application on apache server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache HTTP Server remains the undisputed leader in Web servers, and experts have cited the following reasons:

Apache is open-source software, and it is well documented, which provides for
valuable and reliable support options.

Apache is consistently updated with new features.

Apache can be used free of charge.

Apache supports multiple hardware and operating system (OS) platforms.


    Stefan B.

An Open Source webserver, that is default with most hosting providers

  • March 01, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free, Open Source and Cross-platform.
It can be quite easily deployed locally (especially when using a LAMP or similar distribution), for testing purposes and is very widely used with web hosting providers.
Good performance and extensive control.
What do you dislike?
Finetuning security, permissions, special behaviours requires extensive technical knowledge.
For most average users, having a GUI dashboard is required.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was available out-of-the-box in OSX for quite a while, so very fast to test web development locally. Since Mountain Lion, you need to manually enable and activate it, though.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is widely known and covered in countless books, tutorials and classes, so it is a very valid choice as your web server platform.


    Ahmed S.

Stable server for deploying your applications

  • August 13, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy with Apache server to deploy and run your applications. It is easy to learn it in time manner. It is lite and running fast and also stopping fast. Nice server for your work.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to say about it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very useful for beginners to start working with it. :)


    Tom L.

Solid and Reliable

  • April 29, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is hands-down the best web server available. It's easy to install and configure. It's easy to find help when you run into issues. It has a huge community available for support, and it's open source.
What do you dislike?
There's really nothing bad to say about Apache.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's been around for years and it's a rock solid, mature product. This would be my first choice.


    Greg M.

Excellent open source web server

  • March 11, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mature, stable, free. The go-to web server, literally powering the majority of the internet. Mass adoption. Extensive documentation.
What do you dislike?
Community-based support, unless you arrange for a third-party support contract. Also prone to vulnerabilities, so constant updates required.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
An excellent choice for an open source web server.


    Capital Markets

Very popular, but also a memory hog

  • December 01, 2012
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s a proven web server (stable and reliable) with a thriving community. Lots of goodies are available for it. It's also free.
What do you dislike?
Configuration and set up can be a pain. Memory usage may be an issue if you have high traffic. Will need some expert tweaking in that case.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if it meets your requirements. For a small, fast, low memory web server that excels in concurreny take a look at Nginx.


    Administrator in Computer Software

Open Source, Free & Rock Solid

  • November 16, 2012
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is the standard web server for almost all Linux OS', and it is one of the easiest web servers to get up and running straight out of the box. Constant updates from the community keep the web server secure and using the latest technologies.
What do you dislike?
Exploits are often found and some of them can take a long time to have a resolution. As it is open-source, the bug list is publically accessible, so a malicious hacker could find a bug and design an exploit easily (this has been done multiple times).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the way to go for a free Web Server. It ties in with tomcat and many other Apache products (as well as non-Apache products), that unless you are running code specific for Windows, then you should use IIS.