Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Repackaged: CentOS 6 Latest (ENA Support) by Supported Images

Supported Images | 1.0.0-20200306

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

199 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mining & Metals

Cisco Webex

  • August 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly, maximum participation can be done. Easy to connect with others without any calling charges.
What do you dislike?
Screen sharing and audio connectivity is not much good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Any time connectivity with anyone.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes I do recommend others for it.


    Pranav M.

The best distribution system

  • August 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a very robust and pretty popular amonst system administrators, devops engineers because of its stable nature and reduction in cost is another benefit.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a pretty stable system and since release cycles are longre, applications do not need to be updated often.


    Leopoldo .

Great option for enterprise environments

  • August 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source but, at the same time, it has all features present in Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, the upgrades between major versions can get messy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've installed full production environments with high availability Oracle Database without problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install the minimal server and start from that, avoid the graphic desktop unless necessary.


    George K.

Centos for everyone

  • August 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos it's a free version of Redhat and you can have an OS to do all your test
What do you dislike?
It does not have compatibility with all packages
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly RedHat issues on which I do not have license


    Simon K.

Its the my preferred web hosting servers and OS

  • August 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is the my preferred web hosting server and operating system on web server. It ensures that users have a secured operating system. Best part is that it has got great features and its very economical to use.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such. May be support on issues can be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS as this is my preferred web hosting server and operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it. Its nice and stable and free.


    Elena G.

Great operating system for all your web hosting needs

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's basically a free version of the highly successful RedHat Linux distribution. You can get almost same features for free, without paying thousands of the dollars for the technical support. If you're technically savy, and you do, as otherwise you won't use Linux, it's exactly what you need. If you need a support, the CentOS community is pretty active and knowledgeable, so you won't be in trouble. My decision to select that flavor of Linux for our needs was mostly informed by my previous experience with the RedHat systems . All the packages that I need were easy to find and install using the yum.
What do you dislike?
It's mostly question of taste. You need to get used to the Redhat-specific tools, like yum package manager. You can get into some troubles configuring selinux as well. Due to the presense a lot of Redhat-specific stuff, the system is not lightweight on memory and processor resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I mostly use CentOS as a web-hosting platform for the nginx web server, used together with gunicorn to host django web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You could look at another distributions like Debian - they are also worth your consideration.


    Computer Software

High Speed database server similar to RH Linux

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS can be used to interconnect different webservers. This is quiet a stable and a robust operating system.
What do you dislike?
Updates to the server are time consuming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is useful as a Webserver and a Database server.It helps for application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly secure and user friendly OS. Please go for it.


    Jonathan M.

One of the best OS for anything

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its easy to management, so much versatil, one of the most stable Sistem for business infraestructure,
What do you dislike?
if you use graphical tools its little heave.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for solved network service like dns, dhcp, webserver, backup solution, monitoring network.
Its stable os, update and easy to management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
make a good sizing for the implementation, and know what service you need


    Information Technology and Services

Enjoy Linux environment With CentOS

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is providing a rich base platform for open source communities to build upon. It dose't need to pay license fee to set up a test environment. It is much better than the rest and it is free no more dependency on license.
What do you dislike?
This is a wonderful thing, there is nothing to dislike it, even it is much easier than the other Operating systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do it in office work and I do it with all the assignments in which I do not have any problem It is very smart and also a battery saver It does not hang even in video conferences, playing games or working on different windows it is easy to operate.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very good and very cheap and it is very easy to operate, it should be used to every organization and it should be recommended to everyone.


    Maximiliano P.

The best open source Linux server OS

  • March 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable, robust, has most of the advantages RHEL has and it has few compatibility issues. The updates and maintenance of the community is strong as well. You will find most of the issues you might encounter already posted on serveral forums all around the web.
It is my first choice for servers running RDBMS, BI suites, Python scripting, etc. It has great memory handling and is one of the most used Linux server OS.
And last but not least, it's free.
What do you dislike?
The documentation is somewhat limited and not always clear.
You have no support other than the community and your knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are implementing MicroStrategy latest versions, Web servers, WAS, RDBMS such as MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle, Hadoop distributions such as cloudera and many more.
I've even used it for Radius servers and Pentaho server for ETL. Even a Wiki with mediawiki software.
It's memory handling and stability makes it a great choice, it's uptime is excellent and it is easy to tune.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to use the OS for lab cases and in Virtual Machines prior of trying to implement or use in a production environment. I like to get knowledge by hands on cases and is the way I always recommend.