Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 Latest (ENA Support) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 1.0.0-20200306

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

221 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vishal Kumar B.

wealth of documentation

  • November 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CSF firewall and brute force protection. easily available documentation, SELinux is used for security, to keep our application up to date yum helps us.
What do you dislike?
Errata production starts when an official RHEL errata release is available so it becomes sometimes difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
to manage servers( DNS, backup, network...)


    Roshan S.

CentOS is great!

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about CentOS is that we can get packages from any suitable repository and get it working without having to worry about license compliance by the vendor.
What do you dislike?
Since not all packages are provided by the vendor, if anything goes wrong, it's upto us to fix or replace them manually.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS as a webcache server that is made by us from scratch. We didn't expect any support as such from the vendor due to the level of customization we had to put onto the OS including the kernel, but despite so much of sophistication, we're proud that CentOS got the entire suite running.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For a computer software business startup such as us, CentOS turned out to be the most inexpensive and customization-friendly linux distribution till date. We're hoping to start our own CICD soon for this.


    Suvimal Y.

Server friendly Linux distribution

  • October 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since CentOS has no restriction on packages, I get to use my own package repositories and automate them as per my wishes without having to worry about licensing.
What do you dislike?
CentOS takes away the possibility of a vendor-managed support and maintenance of the deployment. Everything needs to be done manually or have an in-house team to handle everything.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS for deploying our web and email servers. Since we have the right to use our own packages, we are kind of making the best out of it, optimizing the core kernel packages as per our requirements and also to reduce the load on our terminal servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are startup with very less budget to go ahead with, then using CentOS not only solves your financial problem but also gives you the freedom to customize it as per your requirement. You may try alternatives like RHEL or SUSE i.e. if you can afford them.


    Ravindra D.

CentOS Info

  • October 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free to use, easy to use, security, cli.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to deslike for daily users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working on setting up the server environment. It free for everyone. Provide CLI interface, everyone with basic knowledge can work on it, we are learning lot by using this os and it CLI tricks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes we will definitely recommend to others to use it.


    Religious Institutions

CentOS is great for running server applications and general workloads

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how easy it is to maintain packages
What do you dislike?
The clunky desktop packages (no fault of centos really, but)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to not have to have licenses to enterprise grade software (RHEL)


    Computer Software

The shareware king - CentOS

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source which makes it easy to customize it as per need and still use the features of RHEL. No more dependency on license.
What do you dislike?
No support and maintenance guaranteed plus security is a big issue. Package versions can cause conflict if the repositories are not properly configured.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for development of our private cloud products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a cheaper and customize-able version of RHEL and that you can afford to compromise on security, maintenance and support, then CentOS is the perfect linux distribution for you. You need a good in-house team to support its development.


    Internet

CentOS is best Operating System

  • October 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The centos is best OS for webhosting I am using Centos on my server which I purchased from ovh and it is running fine with CWP WebPanel + CentOS 7 . It gives fast speed and is reliable in terms of security
It is easy to use centos via putty which gives better control over the OS from outside as We are using it on cloud & VPS . The centos commands and help is easily available on the google and we can search for any commands we need there is no need to remember commands in order to use centos. It would be more good if centos releases its own webcontrol panel for better user experience through GUI instead of putty CLI.
What do you dislike?
The CentOS has no client isloation builtin which is a downside so I have to purchase cloudlinux + cagefs to acheive isolation so I dislike centos for that so I suggest centos to have the client isolation built in to make it more secure and easier to use in web servers and other apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was using Debian 8 which was causing me issues so I switched to Centos 7 and it has saved me from lot of hassle in my daily business so I moved to centos for better performance and daily work
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The people who are intersted to start a webhosting site should use centos in their servers for better performance and reliablity


    Financial Services

Centos 6 an 7

  • October 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only is the OS a free version of REHL, it has a great support system. If you are looking for a solid version of REHL, without the price tag, Centos is for you. I use it with many of my systems and have never had any issues with it by itself.
What do you dislike?
There really isn't a lot of negative to say about Centos. I didn't love the changes from Centos 6 to 7. In particular, the change in how you start/stop services. It's not a big issue, just something I have to remind myself of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm running several applications on top of Centos. The benefits are ease of installation and use. Quick to install and pretty much all Linux based apps run on it.


    Deepak N.

Stable, dependable Linux distro for work!

  • September 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Frequent updates from the community
2. Close interaction and relationship with the Upstream
3. Funded by and supported informally by RedHat
What do you dislike?
1. Sometimes, changes are too fast and often
2. Older code and package repos disappear without trace!
3. A choice of more Linux kernels and packages especially from EPEL and Oracle Linux would have been a great addition!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it as my main Linux OS for work, code, driver development, PoC's etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A stable enterprise grade Linux Distribution with great support from the Linux community as well as form the Upstream


    Chi Wai H.

Replacement of RedHat

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is similar to RedHat. I don't need to pay license fee to set up a test environment which is very close to the production environment
What do you dislike?
CentOS also inherits the careless packaging bugs from RedHat.
SELinux always bring problems to CentOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simulation environment setup instead of using subscription based RedHat.
The environment will be distributed to partners/customers. CentOS allows me to do so.