Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Repackaged: CentOS 6 Latest (ENA Support) by Supported Images

Supported Images | 1.0.0-20200306

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

199 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Entertainment

Free open source version of RedHat

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a very stable linux distribution and has a good community to support it. Since it is the community edition of RedHat, RedHat documentation also applies to CentOS.
What do you dislike?
sometimes due to this is lacks same newer versions of packages. There are solutions for this but sometimes it is not as easy as installing a package with yum.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The stability of CentOS allows us to provide stable servers to our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, it is free so no additional cost to try it out.


    Muhammad Arsalan N.

CentOS Review

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable and reliable.
Long release and support cycle.
Free and Open Source.
Huge community support always willing to help.
Easy to install 3rd party softwares.
What do you dislike?
Desktop platform is average, best suited for server side deployment.
Nothing else really ......
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have around 100+ servers running on CentOS. From Web server to DB Server, monitoring tools like Zabbix and configuration management services like Ansible everything is on CentOs hosts. CentOs is a very reliable OS for our requirements and with no financial impact as its free. Open community is great and I always found a solution when ever I found myself in some dier situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a goto server platform with great community support.


    Angelo Jesse L.

Stable solution for RTMP and HLS servers

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast installations and update. Easy installations of programs via yum. Compatible with NginX and mariaDB. Lot's of documentation and tutorials too.
What do you dislike?
I really have nothing to dislike about CentOS as I find it really stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
HLS live streaming solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very easy if you're already into Linux


    Computer & Network Security

CentOS - Secure | Fast | Reliable - One of the most advanced Operating System

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is by far one of the most secure operating system. All the tasks are based on permissions and without permissions, no task can run. So say no to Viruses and Malware. Centos is also one of the fastest operating system. One of the key reason for this is that the 99% of the tasks within CentOS remain sleeping and when we want to use any application/ task, the system on the spot turn on the task making the resources of the operating system free for all the ad-hoc tasks.
What do you dislike?
There is no con as such for this operating system. The only thing that can be started is that the company can start a small team which can help users worldwide in case of any issues. However, a wide amount of forums/ pages are available on the internet but still sometimes debugging an issue can take time which can be reduced if someone is available for help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS has widely helped us in increasing the efficiency of our products. CentOS made our applications crash free and Virus free. We don't even require Anti-Virus software on our systems as the system itself is very secure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is by far one of the most reliable software. Go ahead and deploy this system in your organization so as to make your applications/ systems efficient and virus-free.


    Computer & Network Security

Probably the best open source OS

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The level of customization you can do to achieve what do you want your OS to behave like.
What do you dislike?
Not much really. Maybe an ability to easily configure to support few .net applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to move from enterprise Redhat servers to centos serveres
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just try it once.


    Pedro Javier V.

Administrador CentOS 7

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think it is very useful in terms of the security provided by the operating system, since in terms of robustness, it is very robust, in terms of the advantages of using centos, I can emphasize that I use it without a graphic. Environment, which generates a greater performance of my virtual machines. additional to this is an operative system with a wide range of administration commands which generates that multiple functions can be performed in our server
What do you dislike?
One of the things that I do not like very much about the centers is that there is no forum or repository of official information of the operating system, for the deployment of applications it must be consulted on the Internet in different pages or forumsOne of the things that I do not like very much about the centers is that there is no forum or repository of official information of the operating system, for the deployment of applications it must be consulted on the Internet in different pages or forums
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
at this moment I am getting benefits for security in my virtual machines, very little vulnerability and I maintain the integrity of the data with this operating system, this encompasses my benefits
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Of course I would recommend it, it is an ideal operating system for the deployment of applications and business services


    José A.

Using CentOS as server and desktop

  • April 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compared to other operating systems, CentOS is more stable and secure.
What do you dislike?
Compared to Debian-derived systems, it becomes a bit more complicated to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using CentOS without graphical interface and with samba server to store files, filtering unnecessary files. The biggest benefit was protection between computer networks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Before using the product, evaluate the need of the business since CentOS needs a somewhat intermediate knowledge.


    sebastian s.

Servidor para aplicaciones

  • April 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Es una de las mejores distribuciones para poner en producción y desplegar aplicaciones, ha sido muy estable y ligero.
What do you dislike?
Los comandos que hay que usar son un poco diferentes a la distribuciones basadas en en Debian, toca estudiar un poco para saber donde están las cosas para ejecutarlas y activar los servicios.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
La posibilidad de tener un servidor estable y seguro, ademas de que ahorra costos para la empresa al no tener que pagar licencias caras y tener las actualizaciones de seguridad, que permiten tener un sistema seguro
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mayores capacitaciones para poder que sea más amigables con los administradores y se le pueda sacar más provecho a todas las capacidades que tiene este sistema operativo


    Oil & Energy

Centos is great free Linux Distro

  • April 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, and is exactly like Redhat as far as packages
What do you dislike?
not much to dislike. It is widely used by the community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy deployment for large farms
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great distro for geoscientist world


    Computer Software

Best for stable parallel processing

  • March 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It worked best while i used it to run Hadoop. It is quite stable and can be run for longer periods. It is best for off-line processing and data management among different clusters. It has really steady security fixes. It is suitable for beginners due to its user friendly interface.
What do you dislike?
Centos is not suitable for client side working. It has a better capability to be run on server side. Latest releases are not available on time. Its update is quite slow so this area also needs an attention.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As it manages different clusters of data reallly well. Therefore, regrdless of the size of the data. It brilliantly does parallel processing for a longer time period.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to use this on server side. If you don't want to spend money on security as most Linux versions are likely to be secure. Therefore, in case of windows server, one has to install anti virus which is an additional cost.