Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL on Ubuntu 16.04

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

578 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Manjushri S.

PostgreSQL database review

  • November 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PostgreSQL is an open source database and in that way has a great advantage over other licensed databases like Oracle. Currently, we have been trying to migrate all legacy applications from Oracle to postGRESQL.PostgreSQL database works very well with hibernate JPA and we have been using it extensive along with the Spring framework.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is no good client to use the database been using pg admin and I am not really a big fan of the interface provided by pgadmin, we cannot "pin" any query results unlike the SQL developer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Have been using postgreSQL for couple of applications on the financial domain. Works great with simple applications with relatively less complex database design. Have hosted postGRESQL on AWS and used cross region replication, encryption.


    Ross M.

PostgreSQL - the heart of our GIS

  • November 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PostgreSQL with PostGIS and pgRouting offers us a flexible, robust and reliable open source database platform on which to build the rest of our GIS infrastructure. The open source license gives us the freedom to install and use it as we like.
What do you dislike about the product?
If I had my way I would switch out all our other RDBMS for PostgreSQL.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL replaced Oracle at the heart of our GIS infrastructure. We have saved money on software licenses, reskilled a number of people in database administration and reduced the number of files stored in directories to almost zero by putting the data in the database. The database is becoming the single source of truth for all spatial data in the organisation. The flexibility offered by the database has improved the efficiency of a number of different data creation and maintenance workflows and as a result we have grown the number of users from 10 to 75.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL offers a solid database platform on which to build applications for organisations not willing to pay large annual maintenance fees. It scales well from small single use applications to large clustered enterprise-wide systems. The open source license lets you install as many instances as you need for free. The open source, standards compliant database allows you complete flexibility in designing the database and any applications it underpins. PostGIS and pgRouting are database extensions that add greatly to the capabilities of the product and are core to our GIS infrastructure. Documentation for the product is second to none and the user community is excellent. If you so wish, support contracts are available from a number of suppliers in the UK and internationally. PostgreSQL is also available from many cloud service suppliers and runs on all major operating systems.


    Stanislas J.

Good DBMS

  • November 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very fast for running queries from bash or within PGAdmin ; ability to lauch queries from PHP
What do you dislike about the product?
Using variables in not as simple as in MySQL. I prefer PgAdmin 3 rather than PgAdmin 4.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was able to develop web applications to get data from the database, et display them in attractive webpages (thanks tou Highcharts and LeafLet).


    Information Services

Used for Blood hub application integration using PostGreSQL

  • November 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to use, small learning curve and light weight
What do you dislike about the product?
Heavy enterprise applications may not be able to use it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Migrate from an ecommerce application with the salesforce
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just don't use for heavy enterprises


    Julio Rafael R.

the fastest relational DataBase i had used

  • November 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
after version 9.6 you can use "on conflict" functions to handle PK conflicts
What do you dislike about the product?
PG Admin is to slow... but nothing to worry about.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
in marketing data the volume of data is huge .. but for PG is nothing


    Zhanbolat A.

Excellent DB for enterprises

  • November 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The software can be extended. I like its compatibility with different OSs.
What do you dislike about the product?
UI could be improved to make it more user friendly
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Database management


    E-Learning

Great experience

  • November 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Its very easy to use and learn. I have used it for a long time.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is nothing I dislike about this tool.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using PostgreSQL to analyze tons of data for the content and marketing team.


    Thanh P.

Object-relational database management system, free and open source

  • November 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
A simple database server: store and query data
Multiversion concurrency control (MVCC) per "transaction"
Support JSON data type from version 9.2
Developer can define their objects, inherit from default system defined.
Has full text search and asynchronous notifications
What do you dislike about the product?
Performance and slow on older version. Need update at least 9.4 for better performance
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Full text search and regular expression
JSON and BJSON data type for flexible data
Snapshot a version of database whenever transaction trigger.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is an object-relational database management system (ORDBMS) with an emphasis on extensibility and standards compliance.
Support full text search and regular expression
JSON and BJSON data type for flexible data
Snapshot a version of database whenever transaction trigger.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

PostgreSQL review!

  • November 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Great tool for both learning and production! No major issues, straightforward and easy to use.
What do you dislike about the product?
I can't think of anything in particular that I did not like. You really need to know what you are doing to use this product, but that's about it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating my own version of our gui database for my data analysis use.


    Computer Software

works smoothly with our PKI software

  • November 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Runs steadily with no major upkeep required
What do you dislike about the product?
Haven't used much hands-on other than initial setup and config, so not much to dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Utilized as a database for storing user accounts, attributes, and certs