Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL on Ubuntu 16.04

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

540 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Michael H.

PostgreSQL has been the perfect tool

  • April 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres has been an incredible open source tool for our company as we've grown. We switched from MySQL, which we quickly outgrew, and have been going strong on a Python+PostgreSQL build ever since. It's easy to get new DB users up and running on simple tasks, and has great flexibility with its user defined functions.
What do you dislike?
All the graphical query tools that are also free are mediocre at best. There are some really good ones, but they require a subscription.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Proprietary and client data storage in an easily accessible form as well as powering our software interface by building out data tables on the back end.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its open source, give it a shot, you won't regret it.


    Gary L.

A powerful flavor of SQL

  • April 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL has some great features. In particular, window functions make challenging (in other flavors of SQL) tasks a breeze.
What do you dislike?
I have found that the programs available to execute PostgreSQL (that I am aware of) are lacking compared to SQL Server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used PostgreSQL to pull health care data from a database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's solid, has a lot of features, and widely used. Also, it's open source so you can't beat the price!


    Roberto D.

Fast, reliable and scalable open source database

  • April 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like PostgreSQL because it's a robust alternative to commercial databases. It stands very well against other open source competitors, like the more popular MySQL. It's fast and reliable, managing inserts and updates of tens of thousands of rows flawlesly.

Besides that, it's easy to install and to manage, and it has some handy non-standard SQL commands. Documentation in the official website covers most of the common and advanced tasks with a lot of examples of querys.
What do you dislike?
Managing everything from the command line can be a little bit cumbersome. There are a lot of third party graphical interfaces to access the databases from the desktop (pgAdmin) or via browser (phpPgAdmin) but you have to install them and learn to use then on your own.

The same with reporting tools, there are a lot of nice ones but you have to search and try what is the best for you.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used PostgreSQL for ten years now on a very active client-server configuration without any issue. We have experienced power losses and hadware failures but there has never been a single row of data corrupted. Updating to a new version was achieved with a simple export-import command.

Being able to create, alter or delete tables while the company is live in full production is a great feature. Our main data managing app has grow over the years and the original design has changed a lot but PostgreSQL has always cover our needs.

And as always in open source, at zero costs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are searching for an open source relational database, with no licensing issues, full of features, secure and reliable, choose PostgreSQL.


    Ramón L.

SQL that escalates and does not hurt.

  • April 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgresql is an sql engine that supports a huge load of transactions and has a great community support, the documentation is wide and implementation is not as hard as some people claim, plus it's supported on most today cloud service providers.
What do you dislike?
If one comes from mysql or sqlite, postgres can be a bit difficult, specially with the database and table specification, but this depends on the SO too so this can be a problem for some and not a problem for others. A lot of the old classic shared hosting providers still don't support postgres.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storing Data is the main goal when you need a database. And postgres does that just right. Mysql falls when managin huge loads of data, but postgres has a nice optimization which allows for a larger data load, and this is the reason a lot of people migrate to pgsql.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn the migration path if you come from other sql engines. Other than that. The documentation is enough for setting things up.


    Information Technology and Services

Use it since 10 years for an online card game

  • April 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- the price
- the availability of great support, for example at the mailing list and at Stackoverflow
- the features to keep the data valid (checks, triggers)
What do you dislike?
I somewhat dislike the necessity to setup and use pgbouncer or similar, I would have better preferred everything to be available in a single package.

Also, optimizing performance for my needs has been a tedious process.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Good support by other users, many nice features provided by the database.

The PostgreSQL software is very mature:

Whenever there were any problems, I knew that root cause has been me and not this great software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is great.

There are lot of docs and friendly users out there.


    Alex M.

Postgres - Great for GeoSpatial

  • March 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Geospatial data is very handled by the PostGIS extensions.
What do you dislike?
The command line interface is quite foreign from the conventions of other systems, and lacks many useful features like tab completion for identifiers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Open source, web based mapping products
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is no better free database available currently, and it gives many commercial products a run for their money.


    Information Technology and Services

postgres developer

  • March 25, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to install, open source, active community, lightweight but powerful SQL database
What do you dislike?
replication options are limited as well as a REST API interface is also lacking
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I help customers replace Oracle and MS databases with Postgres as a cheaper alternative.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
a great database for Linux hosts and typical SQL based applications


    Daniel B.

A stable, powerful, feature-rich and fast database

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of PostgreSQL's best features is strong adherence to the ANSI-SQL:2008 standard, which makes it a very comfortable choice when switching from other database systems. It's open source, well maintained, industry proven and battle-hardened, with a rich set of features that I could not begin to list here. I've consistently been impressed by its extensibility, stability, and robust set of built-in functions, including handy cryptographic functions. I make regular use of nested transactions, wide language support for stored procedures, and complex subquery expressions. This is a powerful tool suitable for a wide variety of application domains, and it is well supported in every major programming language with drivers and connectors. A plethora of tools exist to interact with your PostgreSQL databases, from command line to powerful GUI tools suitable for both experienced and novice users.
What do you dislike?
Configuring PostgreSQL instances can be challenging, and is not to be entertained by the layman. If you can, find an experienced DBA to handle configuration of your instances or cluster, unless you have a very competent system/database administrator in-house. It will work just fine out-of-the-box, but more demanding integrations require configuration tweaking.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We migrated from Oracle to PostgreSQL, saving significantly on licensing costs with no loss in performance or features. Since that switch, we have used PostgreSQL as our data backplane for every new product initiative with great success and no insurmountable difficulties.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider PostgreSQL early in your RDBMS search. Every major and minor release adds significant functionality -- this is a living, breathing, growing product that will almost certainly address your needs.


    Bradley H.

Awesome database with lots of great new features always coming

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I wouldn't consider myself to be a database expert, but from basic usage via Rails apps, I've been very happy with the features I have used. Full text search, custom data types (json, arrays, etc), performance optimizations, extensions (like Postgis for spatial data), sharding and partitioning support... I've mostly interacted with Postgres via ActiveRecord though. Been very happy with it in multiple production instances across apps of all sizes (from tens of users to tens of millions).
What do you dislike?
When I first started using Postgres it wasn't well known so it was hard to find support for more advanced features... For instance RDS Postgres didn't support replication for a while... That's all been solved now though. I've been very happy with it in the last few years.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Postgres as our main database at my current company and have used it at my previous few as well. It's a great RDBS with a lot of support and some really cool features, and new ones being added all the time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want an awesome RDBS and have experience with SQL, I highly recommend checking out Postgres. The barrier to switching is very low if you're coming from any SQL database, so you might as well give it a shot.


    Internet

A reliable and well-supported choice

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres is rock solid and reliable, and has a list of plugins and improvements that really stand out. The fact that a significant portion of the web community has embraced Postgres sets it apart and makes it a clear winner in a lot of situations. It's plugins also allow me to add features easily and quickly without having to add new technology to my stack.

Columns with a specific datatype, hstore for handy, queryable key-value storage, hierarchical features, and full text search are all readily available when you go with Postgres, which is especially handy when starting on a brand new project with rapidly changing requirements.
What do you dislike?
The thing about postgres that gives me pause is that it's plugin features encourage you to write code that cannot be migrated to other databases. It's a little bit iffy when you're choosing a technology to lock yourself into something thoroughly, and postgres makes it really easy to do that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Relational database
Key-value storage
Full text search
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're in Rails and on Heroku, it should be the option to beat.