Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Redis 2.8 on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Redis2.8.24.0 - Ubuntu20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

105 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jonathan W.

Great in-memory storage

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What's best to appreciate about Redis is how quickly it's growing since it's first appearance and how useful and fast it is for many parts of a software implementation.

It always seemed to me like a storage option for caching or indexing, but it is way more than that. Some features are definitely to be highlighted like:

* Pub/Sub message system.
* Redis Cluster
* Expires
* Lua scripting
* Blazing fast

Are some of the things I noticed that make a difference when looking for this kind of memory storage.
What do you dislike?
I used to dislike the lack of features on Redis, but that was like 2 years ago, it has grown so quickly so fast that it's scary, the community is strongly focus on this product development.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pretty much anything that needs to be stored and retrieved fast, like caching is a great use case for Redis. For example to store session information in web applications. Also to store large amounts of incremental and volatile data, since it can be "expired".
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If considering using Redis for a project, just try it, it's easy to use and feature-rich. The community is really active and there's no lack on tutorial for a lot of use cases.


    Lee H.

Redis as a stream of intent

  • January 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis fits a sweet spot which is "out of band data store server". I work with a lot of CQRS/ES systems and in these systems it pays to have a persistent "out of process" view of typical data types such as hashes, lists, sets, etc.

It's fast, convenient, and the defaults make it a pleasure to use. Seeing how antirez maintains it makes it one of the go-to pieces of software that I instinctively trust based on years and years of astounding stability.
What do you dislike?
Redis has some sharp edges which only become apparent when you start to get off the beaten track. I recently suffered a few grey hairs because the algorithmic complexity of LRANGE is (S+N), where as the comment to insert into a LIST is O(1). The performance of LRANGE becomes problematic when taking the last few dozen items from the end of a very, very long list. Of course having huge lists is an anti-pattern, and it was easily solved by using the bindings Lua to implement a "fake" command which partitioned things into small lists, whilst taking care of pagination, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our CQRS/ES system, the core concept is to pick the *ideal* store for reading, and writing. To embrace the asymmetry inherent in building systems to enjoy the freedom to pick the perfect data store for writing, reading, querying, etc depending on the exact use-case.

Redis' O(1) insert performance is idea. From there we have async processes that build idealised read-stores for certain types of data. Profiles are stored as JSON (on disk) ready to be delivered via our API with minimal involvement from the application servers. Things like contact lists, friendship groups and other "indexes" are also stored in redis as sets, hashes or lists. Redis solves all our data storage needs barring "static files" (for that we have a filesystem) and our "search" for which our clients usually expect something like ElasticSearch.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Beware that Redis expects you to store data in the way you expect to *query* it. Take the time when designing your schema to imagine *how you want the data to look when you get it out*, and take care to store it that way.

In RDBMS you can query very flexibly to pull things out in any way you care to imagine, but you pay a penalty on inserts for this flexibility.


    Anson A.

redis

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of use, and ease of setup. Very fast for a KV store for reads and writes
What do you dislike?
only one master...not a masterless type cluster, which would be great
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
needed a fast kv store for quick lookups. Using it mostly for cacheing of datasets for reports.


    Josh V.

Excellent utility

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how simple Redis is to spin up, and I love the protocol. Everything is so fast and simple.
What do you dislike?
I haven't actually setup any highly available Redis clusters. It seems complicated enough to be a bother, which is understandable given the actual technical complexities of any clustered application. That said, based on my research, setting up a highly available Redis cluster seems significantly more straightforward than a similar arrangement with something like PostgreSQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Redis has made it simple to speed up several applications by not requiring certain things to be re-calculated over and over when the inputs for the calculation do not vary much. The built-in key expiration is a fabulous feature.

The PubSub features in Redis make simple work of passing messages between two or more applications. I've also used Redis as a way to synchronize resource locks across applications on the same system and across a network of servers. It's very versatile.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dive in head first. You'll love it. It provides immediate access to all sorts of wonderful features. It's simple to setup for development environments, for testing, and for production loads. As I mentioned previously, I've yet to setup a highly available Redis cluster personally, but the documentation suggests is straightforward enough relative to what it takes to cluster some other popular data stores.


    Fernando H.

Fast access to data

  • December 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and fast access to key/value data, as well as score and rank system.
What do you dislike?
Not so easy to find/list existing keys. On the order hand, if you need list keys, probably you are doing something wrong.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cache, temporarily data, message queue, non persistent data, in memory database.


    Management Consulting

Redis - replacing AppFabric

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fundamentally simple enough concepts.
Lots of resources, can learn fairly the whats and hows.
What do you dislike?
no automated persistence of what gets changed in the cache
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Acceleration of reads for frequently-used complex data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Usual PoC approach. Don't assume that, since it worked fine for others, it'll work for you too out of the box, even if use cases are very similar. One should learn it hands-on - no different from other critical infrastructure components.


    Ng Z.

Easy to use. But too expensive. Memory limited

  • October 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use. A novice can pick it up and put to use almost immediately. Documentation very easily done
What do you dislike?
Very expensive, because of memory limitation. Not sure if the current version supports multiple instances
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a database that offers very fast read and write operations. Redis delivered. Except that my needs have outgrown now
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's really the Swiss army knife. Documentation is a breeze to pick up. Really! Performance is as advertised.


    Frank M.

More than a database

  • April 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is easy to install, clean, nothing complex. The usage via CLI or drivers for programming languages - I wrote two for Google Go and Erlang/OTP - is simple too. But whats most fascinating is the fact, that it's not only a key/value store. The different types like hash, list, set, sorted set, hyper log log, and geo are great and useful. Also pub/sub and the internal Lua scripting help a lot. And last but not least is Redis extreme fast.
What do you dislike?
The transaction model is a bit different. Users have to understand it and care for it. Additionally there's no real security model, only a simple authentication via password. There's no multi-user model and no right control regarding types, keys, or key patterns. So this has to be done by the using application while the database is secure on an internal server.

The database does not work with queries on values. Keys can be queried, other indexes have to by created by using sorted sets. But that's not the typical usage of Redis, so no larger problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly two types of use cases. One is the typical use as a cache, simply because it's fast and the automatic key expiration (if wanted) helps a lot. The other one is the temporary aggregation of statistical data using the different data types. For some smaller projects I'm also using it as a simple data store.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simply try it together with the CLI and visit the web site http://redis.io to see the available commands. Most clients directly let you use these commands or provide them through own functions.


    Peter J.

My favourite Database of Alltime

  • April 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its basically a datastructure store. You have a lot of data types like lists, sets, sorted sets, hash and these can directly interface with our programming languages database.
It is and in-memory database so its extremely fast and very good for high read throughput and heavy read workloads.
It is open source and free which makes it really trustworthy. It is used by us for our job server and also as a message queue and pub sub functionality for realtime notifications. Its backup and save mechanisms are really good and is easier to use than most other databases.
Its command protocol is very easy to use and implement and very fast also. Pipeling also improves threshold and is currently the fastest database I've seen.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have truly serializable ACID transactions . Its clustering support is still not fault tolerant. It can't be used as your primary database. Doesn't have proper query language so analytics becomes a little hard and we may need to use lua for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We bring gamification to the global mass. One importart feature for gamification is leaderboards and we use redis sorted sets a lot for it. We also use it for caching our sessions so that our users get an immediate response and we don't need to hit our databases for everything.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a lot of reads hitting your main database then you need to get redis and that stuff man.


    chedi t.

redis review

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis as a key/value network storage database gives exactly what it advertises. the In memory storage can really boost the performance of many application while relieving the developer of the headache of managing shared memory between threads or programs on the same machine or over network.

With the increasing reliability of the hardware, we are unlikely to have a server failure that will cause the loss of the data and even if that is an issue, with the persistent storage and the data replication between servers you can have a robust system that will keep your data with little to no overhead
What do you dislike?
nothing in particular, redis is a very reliable product that do one thing and do it right
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We started using redis as a cache system for Django, but with passing time we started using it directly in to share data between various applications and systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis is a great tool for storing key value data, don't use it a relational database and adapt your software to redis and not the other way around to get the most of it.