Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Native In-memory Database for Redis™ 3.2 (Amazon Linux)

Websoft9 | Redis 3.2.13.0 - AmazonLinux 2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

117 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

Redis is easy to use

  • January 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is simple cache-storage software and easy to use. I have no problems incorporating it into any of my projects.
What do you dislike?
That it isn't easy to setup and use on Windows (compared to a *nix) environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Redis to store cache information - such as commonly referenced language values, user profile information, and any other data that needs to be access very quickly.


    Jamie C.

Primarily used Redis for queueing jobs using Django and Celery

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Ease of setting up
- Complete and helpful CLI
- Interactive docs are VERY cool
- Detailed approach to memory management that is applicable to large systems but still useful for smaller deployments.
- Wide set of possible applications - almost endless.
- Documentation is great, despite parts that can be improved (see "What do you dislike?")
What do you dislike?
- Documentation can contain misleading information at times
- A more detailed documentation set on installation and configuration would be helpful
- Difficult to configure in multiple virtual environments, but containers can handle this separation so it's not too bad
- Query language could be improved, I find myself struggling to use it effectively, but that could just be part of the learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Asynchronous task management
- Mostly realized that it was much more convenient to use redis and celery than anything else. Documentation and support is wide-ranging, and speed wasn't really a concern, so the out of the box solution worked just fine.
- Realized even more tasks that can be passed off to asynchronous workers once it was all up and running so well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Truly understand the purpose of redis in your implementation. It's so easy to get caught up in newer tools (ahem, buzzwords) through word of mouth, and I often see new users working with Redis without even fully understanding why, how they benefit, or what other (sometimes more appropriate) options are available.


    Changlang K.

Redis performces excellently

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is very friendly to new user, even who even know any data structure can use redis easily. And it's quite fast search a value by given key.
What do you dislike?
Missing statistic functions, like sum, count, max, min in mysql. Sometimes i just want to find out how many keys starting with "mp", i have to use "keys mp*" to load all such keys.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use redis for process synchronization, such as locking resources to guarantee consistency. And I have a query system using redis for key-value storage where key is retrieved from sentence.


    Soham K.

Using redis to build scalable web applications

  • January 17, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Extrmely fast for its particular use case. Scales easily. Should be used for everything that it can be used for.
What do you dislike?
Can only be used for small fast temporary data. Cannot be used for storing long term data, and is limited by the RAM of the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently building an application which manages lots of users and lots of aggregated data. Used MySQL for both data aggregation and user session storage. It was apparent that user session storage was not fast enough for our business needs. Redis greatly improved the speed and robustness of our application, since the read/write speed was much faster the MySQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis is a great simple and open source solution. I implore others to use it, but be aware of what Redis specializes in ,which is fast reliable storage of data that needs to be retrieved fast, and not long term storage of large data.


    Internet

Redis for Sidekiq and caching

  • January 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is extremely fast to set up, easy to use, and acts as a great light-weight key-value store.
What do you dislike?
It's extremely annoying that Redis does not support SSL by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We primarily use Redis for caching and as a queue for background jobs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'll need to setup stunnel for it.


    Никита .

Advanced memcached

  • January 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup, great docs, simple protocol. Last commit 12 hours ago :-)
What do you dislike?
Did not see any real word clustering cases in web, caveats etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it for caching instead of memcached and for storing "not so important" data. For example 404 pages logging with counters.


    Dan B.

Redis

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of different languages bindings, so you're able to use redis in every language. The install was very quick and it was easy jump into.
What do you dislike?
I didn't find anything I disliked, I only scratched the surface and didn't touch any of the more controversial features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a simple key-value store and redis was able to fulfill everything I wanted.


    José M V.

Asynchronous data management done well!

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup using it with Ruby, when you need some sort of cache-like storage, Redis is the one you might be looking for.
What do you dislike?
Redis is like a memory datastore, so you won't be able to store anything above your server's memory.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Really fast deployment, easy to setup
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for some data storage or easy access db to keep simple logs, maybe using it for a live chat or rankings, Redis can do the job in an awesome way.


    Roman K.

Redis is the "must known" tool for backend developers.

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Redis is open source
- Speed of work
- Publish/Subscribe messaging paradigm support
What do you dislike?
The Redis does not officially support Windows. I believe that redis should be easily installed on all popular OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm use redis in my web-based projects as a session and cache system. The main benefits is speed and easy development.


    Riley T.

High performance, easy to work with

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is very performant and easy to scale against. We ran this on a system powering thousands of light-load websites and it increased our web farm capabilities significantly. It is also very easy to wrap in a large number of software environments, ours being .NET.
What do you dislike?
Windows support is not very strong. While I think many developers would prefer to use Linux servers, often times the decision was made several years ago (and at a higher corporate management level) to use Windows; Microsoft has done a great job with lock-in once one starts using their products. Because of this I think the Redis community in general has lacked adequate focus in this area.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need a high-performance, distributed key-value cache. We immediately realized large benefits when Redis came to our database's rescue, off-loading unnecessary requests when data was unlikely to change.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
While the clustering support is not yet as strong as memcached, Redis has begun to focus there as is evident with Redis Cluster. Definitely look into Redis Cluster when considering Redis.