Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab | GitLab Premium 17.2.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

813 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

My GitLab review

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I really liked the efficiency, when committing and using merge requests on source codes you're submitting in. Merge requests are very useful when doing peer reviews. Additionally, it allows other Developers to make any necessary changes within merge requests.
What do you dislike about the product?
Part of what I disliked about using the GitLab is submitting all merge requests in one branch at once. It is because it creates major merge conflicts with other source code changes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing a User Interface for the Client. I realized that its beneficial because of the efficiency and how effective peer reviews are in GitLab.


    Craig P.

Lower cost, yet full featured, alternative to GitLab

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's relatively easy to integrate with a CI platform like Jenkins using webhooks, which is great for getting feedback on the results of a build as merge requests are updated.
What do you dislike about the product?
Its interface can be buggy at times. For example, the worker process that updates the status of merge requests and commits in the background, when overloaded, can take a few seconds to catch up, so you might see inconsistencies locally versus what is displayed in the GitLab UI. Also, some parts of the interface are difficult to work with, and some forms will reset your information when changing certain fields (such as when creating a merge request and changing the target branch).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used GitLab as an alternative source control management system to Perforce because Git can be easier to work with and GitLab is cheaper than some of the other enterprise Git hosting solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization can afford it, you might want to trial GitHub, as it is a more widely adopted solution and I've found that the UX is much more pleasant.


    Government Administration

Professional GIT

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to use, good diff tools, nice commenting features, repository management and searching.
What do you dislike about the product?
Merge requests aren't handled as well as GitHub.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source control for non-public code repositories.


    Soham A.

Gets the Job Done

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Best thing about Gitlab, is that it allows users to create private repositories for free.
What do you dislike about the product?
One thing that I disliked was how the settings and dashboards were a bit confusing to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using GitLab as a code repository for all my work. I have realized that it is a dependable repository to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a code repository, version control, or peer task management.


    Mitchell A.

Better than GitHub

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The main reason that I decided to use GitLab instead of GitHub was its ability to create private repositories for free. This has been my favorite feature since day 1 because it allows me to secure my source code while still being able to use GitLab's easy to use management service and online source viewer.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only problems that I've ever experienced with GitLab in the past were outages. Most of them are relatively short when they occur, but one particular outage lasted almost an entire day because a large amount of production data was removed. I, however, was not personally affected by this. Additionally, project icons have a fairly small maximum size. This isn't a major issue, but it is still somewhat annoying.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GitLab gives me a place to ensure that all of my source code is backed up and protected. Like most version control services, GitLab also lets me easily manage different versions and branches of a single project in case I need to make changes without altering the entire code base.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I strongly recommend downloading the unofficial Lab Coat for GitLab app if you have an Android device. It isn't an official app produced by GitLab, but it is a convenient way to quickly view projects on the go.


    Financial Services

Great version control for enterprise companies

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
User interface is clean and easy to use
What do you dislike about the product?
Limits on personal project repos, does gitlab charge extra for those?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating enterprise UI components and using GitLab to for version control on updates of those components.


    Computer Software

GitLab Review

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Seems like a fully featured, self-hosted option that can be an alternative to GitHub and other similar product. I like the overall styling of the user interface.
What do you dislike about the product?
I think the user interface is a little bit confusing at first, but that may be because I'm used to GitHub. I'm specifically concerned with navigation within the app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used it working as a teaching assistant at a bootcamp and we use it as a repository for students to be able to pull down the latest source code activities and lessons.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Some of the coolest features aren't readily apparent (integration with slack), but setting them up once located is pretty easy.


    Computer Software

Even better than GitHub

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's open source. It works, and it has every feature you might want.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's a bit memory-heavy but all related software is, so no biggie.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Manage source code and builds for several projects, mostly web related. It's
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's definitely worth it, like GitHub but open source. If you are a big open source guy/girl you should definitely give this a try


    Radomir S.

Gitlab - free and premium

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Gitlab is really easy to use and have quite nice UI/UX. Today they change design a bit and now it looks even better.
I need to say, I love Code Review system implemented in this tool.
Other thing I really like in this app is big database of integration tools. We connect our self-hosted gitlab with Jira and Confluence and now job goes way better!
I thing GitLab is best service for self-hosed solutions.
What do you dislike about the product?
Speed while using free version. I've tested couple of most popular free git services like github and bitbucket. Biggest different I felt while using GitLab was speed of push and pull requests. GitLab was the slowest one.. Sometimes I had to wait about 15s before info in the console shows up, to write my ssh key. But that was about 1 year ago. Maybe now things change.
And I have to write this again - speed issue occurs only in the free version, hosted by GitLab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's helping while using Git Flow methodology in my team.
Good integration tools with Slack, Jira and Confluence help to work on project not only for developers but also for the clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to use git and host your versioning system somewhere in the internet for free I think GitLab isn't the best solution for you. I will recommend to check BitBucket instead (or GitHub if you prefer to share your open source project). Main issue of this version was speed.. About one year ago repos hosted by me on github was quite laggy.
But if you'd like to host you versioning system by your own, and create something bigger.. And if you have some money to spend for this, I think GitLab can be suitable for your needs.
Code Review and Merging branches works like a charm, I think those are one of the best functionalities.
You will also get abilities to install plenty of integration tools.


    Higher Education

Great self-hosted open-source source control system

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I liked the control over the software that comes with self-hosting, as opposed to cloud services where a company can just update the versions without warning, potentially breaking useful features. The ability to know where my code was always physically located was nice as well
What do you dislike about the product?
The deployment procedure could be more streamlined, from what I recall- it was a difficult process which involved a lot of convoluted work in the Ruby interpreter. However, this was some time ago- it may be more streamlined now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows me a useful place to store my code which remains within my control. I was able to trivially have a place to go for all of my code version control and know that I was backing up my own work in more than one place. I didn't need to actually use the cloud service, a self-hosted solution was sufficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This was not used by the company itself- it was a personal solution I deployed for my own use. As a personal code repository I was very pleased and would use the same product again in the future