Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (Ootpa)

ProComputers.com | RHEL-8.2-20200502-10GiB

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

245 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Linux Operating System

  • November 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux allows multiple users to work simultaneously on the same server.
What do you dislike?
Interface of Linux OS is not that user compatible as that of Windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whole of the application is deployed on these Linux servers which can be accessed by multiple users at a time.


    Computer Software

Rhel

  • November 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Command are easy and very customized with a wide range of options. We can get what we want easily.
Based on the output it can be redirected to any file.
Secure and manageable.
Easy access and free.
Open source software
What do you dislike?
Help options and error codes. Also the view can be improved in gui. And rhel 7 security and se linux can be more user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying servers and automation solutions across the regions on the rhel os remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes I surely recommend red hat enterprise Linux of version 7 or 6.5 to others


    Accounting

LINUX OS REVIEWS

  • November 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and better customer service support
What do you dislike?
A bit of trouble for rhel packages as compared to debian ones
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL Linux systems are present in all our vdi


    Deepak N.

The gold standard for Enterprise Linux

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The Upstream is the reference and gold standard for Enterprise Linux worldwide
2. Prompt technical support
3. State-of-the-art install and deploy services and frameworks
4. Openstack and various Cloud OS supports
5. Prompt action to CVE's and excellent support for security patches
What do you dislike?
1. Expensive to license
2. Expensive to maintain especially for large clusters
3. Very conservative approach to kernel and driver package upgrades and updates
4. Lags behind on many bleeding edge features due to older kernels
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Using RedHat as the reference Enterprise Linux distribution for clustering, deployment, system-roll-out
2. RedHat technical support ensures we are on top of the branch as far as security patches are concerned
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for RedHat with eyes closed! It's the true gold standard for Enterprise and Carrier grade Linux for large scale deployment and solutions.


    Construction

Impressive UI and work platform

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
UI is very good. Code is any language you want. Just install it and go.
What do you dislike?
Needs bit more user friendly operation in it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My all coding activity is solved by it.


    Hassan M.

Enterprise Server OS that is more compatible with all kind of Hardware like Servers

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
List of Services and functionalities protocols servers availability for approximately all third party platforms
What do you dislike?
RedHat Linux dislike are none but if you consider client and server OS, it is not user friendly comparatively other platforms like Microsoft Windows Platform.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is recommended if you plan to deploy servers in secure and fast results and for best performances of services across network and server platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To deploy Oracle Application, SAP or other enterprise applications we should go for RedHat Enterprise Linux for best performance and availability of services.


    Banking

RedHat Linux-TOP of computing OS

  • November 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s very strong security features and have lot of room for customization
What do you dislike?
Lot of software upstage features so clients need to upgrade many versions of package files
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Certificate upgrades and TLS and SHA2 upgrades were done very easily


    Financial Services

Fiability year after years

  • November 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
System is stable and widely used in the industry
What do you dislike?
There is no drawbacks in using rhel the System is very poser full
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Stable systems for the corporate banking management


    William G.

Pay for what you want with Linux

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility, security and simplicity of the linux operating system. Its flexible in how you have innumerable ways you can manage and manipulate it. You have access to a lower level of the OS code than you do with say windows. Its more intuitive at a deeper level than with windows. It has greater security just due to the fact that fewer coders write malicious software for linux. General home users use windows. Oh, and I forgot, IT'S FREE! You can pay for support but you have the choice. Uptime is better with Linux than Windows, updates require fewer reboots than with Windows.
What do you dislike?
There are a lot of applications that are written or optimized for windows from a end user-desktop perspective. So depending on usage, and requirements you may be better off using Windows/mac.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its our standard development and production platform. We run RHEL on all of our servers and have written all of our code to run on Linux. We are an enterprise software company so being able to choose which platforms we want to buy support for and which we do not is a great cost savings. We also have system engineers who are very proficient with linux and the cross-over between development and linux engineers is much closer than between developers and windows admins who are more gui oriented and less command line/script oriented.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Determine what your use case is and how well supported the product(s) that you want to run are supported and their performance on a linux platform. If you want a very stable, secure and generally easy OS to maintain that has a very strong user base then RHEL is the way to go. I recommend it over all other linux flavors for most use cases.


    MD Quamrul H.

Secure OS

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Data Services
Red Hat Virtualization
Red Hat Directory Server
Red Hat Certificate System
Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform
Any other software available as an RPM
What do you dislike?
I see it pretty often, people discussing Linux servers and people start hating on RPM-based Linux distributions like RHEL or CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I Have solved DNS issues. Our companies email are facing problems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
More GUI