Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Native Database for MongoDB 4.0 (Amazon Linux)

Websoft9 | MongoDB4.0-Amazonlinux2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

380 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Raju M.

Totally enjoying NoSQL with mongodb

  • February 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since mongodb is schemaless, it is very flexible when working with collecting dynamic data, I use mongodb for an IOT project and it involves storing large amounts of data and performing quick aggregations on a daily basis. MongoDB does this very fast and in my opinion performing time based operations on MongoDB is much easer than on MySQL; I have worked with MySQL and there came a time that my project almost came to a halt because the data queries became so complex and there was drop in performance. That has not been the case with MongoDB.
What do you dislike?
Map reduce was something that took me a lot of time to understand and I just wish there were more resources to learn this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing analytics for IOT devices.

Having moved from MySql based system, where I was at my wits end trying to write proper queries, Mongodb uses plain Javascript which I understand well enough, it made my work a lot easier.

I didn't have to learn a lot to undestand how MongoDB worked because I already wrote code in Javascript and there are lots of good nodejs ORMs for MongoDb;
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want something scalable and fast, I would suggest MongoDB.


    Mathias F.

Best NoSQL option

  • February 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I did a great research of NoSQL document oriented databases. MongoDB was my ultimate choice and I haven't regretted it yet. I loved the online documentation, the great books, the huge community. Technically, I've been running a web application with MongoDB with 3 shards and 2 replicas for 5 months now and it's working so smoothly it scares me.
What do you dislike?
Being used to work with MS SQL, I miss the Management Tool application. I found some client apps for Mongo, like Robomongo, but still haven't found the one that makes me feel completely covered and comfortable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MongoDB solves every database related problem for a modern web application. Dynamic document structure, rapid searching, ease of learning, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should read a book before starting using it. There are many configuration aspects you should know from the beginning.


    Ewen F.

Lightening fast development and easy scalability

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB offers a fast development model over the traditional relational / SQL systems.
What do you dislike?
The lack of good instrumentation to understand the internal state
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Startups development is all about experimentation, both in terms of business model and technical implementation. Using MongoDB it is possible to very rapidly construct and test ideas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you need to experiment, else go with proven solutions.


    Robert M.

Fantastic DB for all aspects of the technical lifecycle

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy setup for prototyping applications without overly worrying about data structures, strong integration with high quality frameworks like NodeJS and Meteor, great to use when your using Javascript within your stack. The latest version that allows for joins within the aggregation pipeline has been fantastic.
What do you dislike?
How much flack MongoDB (and most NoSQL DBs) get when people try to use them without understanding their benefits
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working heavily with the MeteorJS framework which is tied directly to MongoDB, not only do we use it in our production app we also use it for all of data analysis DB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure it meets your requirements, which I guess can be said of any technology, mainly that whatever framework your using integrates well with MongoDB and has all the functionality you need it to have. In particular, how important are lots and lots of joins?


    Anbu Cheeralan V.

Implementation is easy

  • February 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to get started and a big user community. variety of use cases have been already implemented with MongoDB and enough documentation, case studies are available.
What do you dislike?
Shell only UI for business users (until 3.2). Shell only access with out using any third party integration was an inconvenience for non-technical users. This is changed with 3.2 though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Content Management System
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB handles most of the usecases that are being done by RDBMS traditionally. It's easy to get started.


    Entertainment

Flexibility & Simplicity

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility & the ease with which it can handle complex data models is amazing. Look no further if you need a datastore that can handle complex data structures, is fast & can be deployed in minutes.
What do you dislike?
The Query language is very expressive but for those coming from traditional RDBMS world, a SQL like alternative would be very helpful. They are moving in that direction with the BI connector I guess. I still see MongoDB as a good candidate for App development, but further stress could be laid on Analytics and connecting MongoDB with existing tool sets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A data lake in MongoDB is envisioned to consolidate various sources, help the analyst in discovery. The future state would involve a data processing engine like Spark to extract meaningful results from the data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The training & Documentation is very helpful in exploring MongoDB. Conduct a Proof of concept to see the optimal MongodB configuration for your use case.


    Gerardo Esteban C.

I am developing apps with Meteor.js and MongoDB, my first app was my personal porfolio + blog.

  • February 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works on Mac OS, Windows, and Linux. It is pretty easy to install and run the server with the console or terminal. About MongoDB and NoSQL, it is a big and tested platform with a big community of developers, I love the scalability of each document and the schema design concepts that I learned in MongoDB University. All the documents are JSON, If you're familiar with JavaScript language it will be easy to adapt to MongoDB. It is a robust platform, it provides you with replicas set and shared databases so you can scale your app fast and nice. I have MongoDB installed in my Linux Kubuntu 15.10 Laptop and my Windows 10 PC, I have used it with MEAN Stack in an angular.js course I took in Pluralsight, with Spark Java Framework I developed the simple blog system that you do in the MongoDB University Courses, and Meteor.js platform and a Coursera Web Design Specialization I am taking right now where we use Meteor.js to create collaborative reactive apps, we develop a voting web apps system, a doc editing system, a portfolio with a blog, a music app, a drawing app, and finally, I am developing my Capstone Project where I am going to use MongoDB for its scalabilities opportunities. My personal portfolio has MongoDB as Database for the blog, be my guests http://corderogerardo.me.
What do you dislike?
Well it is not I dislike, it is more a take care when you as a Linux user were installing MongoDB, it is good that you learn first how to use your terminal, all the commands you need to create folders and give permission when you need it, I am saying this because you may have problems starting, because you need to open two consoles or terminals, and in one you need to write and enter mongod to start the server and in the other mongo to start the MongoDB shell, then when you finish you need to stop first the mongo shell and after the server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast scaling and easy use, for what I need when I was developing my portfolio and know for my Capstone final Project I want a different version to test how the system operates within a lot of users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start learning MongoDB right now, don't lose time, you have a great source like MongoDB University, where they teach you MongoDB in various Stacks if you're Java Stack they have it, if you're .Net Stack they have it, if you're python stack or JavaScript stack.


    Maurizio M.

I'm in love with it!

  • February 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
schemaless database, document database, fantastic to scale out. great management of replica set and sharding...i love it. Nested document and index creation, it's fantastic the power of this database. It's great that you can evolve your database simply adding tags/values/elements in your newest json records; don't worry about tables structure and so on.
Please consider that there's alsa a mongodb university, with free online courses for developers (.net, python) and dba. what else?
What do you dislike?
nothing, at the moment. really, I'm using it from four months and i've never had a problem with it. Only i'm having some trouble managing a lot of windows shell, but, hey we're dba, not interface designer, right?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we're testing it for a transactional database (schemaless). moving from a sql server classic relational database storing xml data type (too slow for our porpouse) to a json database. easy to administrate and
Recommendations to others considering the product:
take a look at replica set, sharding, indexing features, they're really great.


    Alazar H.

MongoDb is a very stable, highly scalable and high performance DB system.

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like about MongoDb is it's high scalability and performance. It is simple to use and supports many of our Restul applications.
What do you dislike?
There is not much support of other developer frameworks. More packages need to be developerd for VS besides the MongoDb.Driver to help use EF and the like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Designing a web api for providing data access to various applications and mobile apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend mongodb for it's performance and scalability.


    farhan k.

If Future unknown go for it...

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mongodb is a NOSQL database ie. the user does not have to define the schema. Due to this it is a good option for startups or companies who deal with unknown and unstructured data. Mongodb is quite easy to use and get started with a good community support.
What do you dislike?
In Mongodb you wil have to deal with transactions yourself . Since there is no schema , referential integrity is not maintained. Also database consistency is not maintained here. This needs to be done by the user itself.
On the other hand these things are much easier in SQL db like Postgresql.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently we are dealing with large amount of data , which is generally use generated. Since we are not sure about the attributes of the data , mongodb was a very obvious and good choice for us. It's quite fast and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not sure about the attributes of your data or while dealing with unstructured data , then mongodb is a very good option. It helps to start quickly.
But unless you are not sure of attributes try to use SQL database because data integrity and consistency is much easier here.