Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.2 (Ootpa)

ProComputers.com | RHEL-8.2-20200502-10GiB

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

229 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wilbert R.

RedHat is a great OS for enteprise

  • October 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The great support you receive from IBM/Redhat. Also this OS is the best to work with in the enterprise
What do you dislike?
The downside it would be the support cost, even if it's great support is a little bit expensive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm hosting most of my servers in Redhat and the performance is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get a well trained admin to support the OS


    Computer Software

RHEL - The Best Secured OS so far !!

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The security. This OS is well secured and the kernel is so light which increases the performance of this operating system.
What do you dislike?
The UI could have been much more better. Otherwise, everything else looks good to me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Performance issues are being solved using this Operating System. It's so light and can handle many requests.
We deploy Docker in RHEL which is the best part.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are planning to use Kubernetes in your organization, please go for RHEL.


    Computer Networking

one of the best OS

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best thing about linux is the compatibiity
What do you dislike?
nothing to dislike sofar. Linux always help me to learn new things
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software issues, patching issues
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Expecting more things from linux enterprise on security end


    Rahim b.

Professional distro for enterprise use

  • October 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very robust and secured operating system. Can be used with GUI enabled. Paid users can get the most out of it. The SELinux security system is the best server-grade security system that I have found so far.
What do you dislike?
The repository is not very rich. The community also is not responsive and not rich. If any critical issue occurs, RedHat support is required.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All the mail servers and the web servers are hosted in this operating system. This OS also supports virtualization. We use the ansible master server which is also developed by the creators of redhat.


    Manikanta Sai K.

Linix is a unique and secured operating system. UI is different from Windows buy will enjoy working

  • September 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1.Easy to use
2. Most popular and every one make sure that their application runs on. linux
What do you dislike?
1. Commands will be little tricky but will enjoy once we habituate to it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been using Lunix as major operating system in our environment. This is the best operating system fro SAP and storage applications. Frequent updates and bug fixes are really helpful for operations


    Information Technology and Services

The best and reliable OS you can find in the market on an enterprise level

  • September 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything in RHEL is the best, its awesome
What do you dislike?
Its difficult to point anything bad on RHEL
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Everything, being an Linux Administrator RHEL is my bread and butter I must say. There are many advantages of RHEL but the most of which will be the simple CLI commands and also the relation with each releases they make. Also another big thing about RHEL will be its Support and the new toold tools that they are launching in the market. Openshift from redHat is an excellent tool when it comes to application deployments and also the fact that Redhat has Ansible bundled in it really aids the life of SysAdmins like me and i am sure a lot others who are in the same filed as mine! As always RedHat always lives upto your expectations and never really disappoints!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking out for any Linux based OS, please feel free and go out for Redhat. It has so many things to offer at such a small asking. I mean the OS is free but the support is under licensing. And the Redhat support works like a charm. I have been continuously raising support cases with Redhat and the resolution offered by them seems decent and much better than other companies with the same products. Also, like said earlier, the Ansible automation platform offered by Redhat is worth mentioning along with the Openshift tool for app deployments at a very ease of access


    Vismay C.

The best and secure linux server

  • September 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is our primary operating systems that we implement in data centor for our organization. We generally use it for our database server and data server.
We reffer our customer to install Linux operating system host their application securely and safe protection. The server performance is getting well and no any abnormal high CPU and RAM utilization.When users prefer RHEL, it is typically the first or only Linux distribution that is compatible.
Linux distribution is supported by Red Hat for enterprise customers. RHEL is a solid server for some essential network services, such as NFS, DNS, SMTP, Apache, Tomcat, etc., in addition to running third-party applications
What do you dislike?
Little bit har to upgrade the major versions.
Some hardaware compatibility with the server.
Cost is high for some licence.
Upgration quite tricky and we have to well prepare before dooing the activity
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Main improvements is server response and it's performance that i have never got in other operating system.
The bar gaining in terms of security and given the security in each and every section of the operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We are extremely waiting for RHEL8 .


    Computer Software

Secure, UserFriendly, Consume less system resource, Good throughput .

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Opensource,Fast , Good Security,Easy,compaitable with almost all applications.
What do you dislike?
In my opinion their is no dislike of Redhat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use following to help my company i.e. Apache, BashScripting,Docker,Selinux,ACL,IPTables,Samba,NFS. Also helpful when use Docker in linux OS. Redhat is consuming less system resource resulting better application performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As an Server / system Admin if you have interest on CLI then differently Redhat is solving your problem. If you are a GUI Lover then it is challenging to you work in redhat. But it completely depends upon your interest. For me i would strongly suggest to everyone move to redhat .


    Rhadamanthys d.

The operating system

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a multiplatform product, it has adequate support, it supports several critical level applications, it is a good option for the deployment of any application.
It is supported on various virtual and hardware platforms.
What do you dislike?
The cost of the product, and the complexity of implementing control tools, it is necessary to have advanced knowledge to carry out a correct deployment of some fairly complex application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server deployment and control for the distribution of security patches.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider other alternatives to the Linux distribution, since there are others on the market that provide better service at the level of support and product.


    Alternative Medicine

Get hold of everything and customise as you like

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can customise almost anything and tune the system according to our likes.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike as such. It is perfect for system administration and running softwares.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL serves as great for custom software deployment and tuning of databases according to need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great operating system considering you want to take control of what's happening at system level.