Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Katalon Studio Enterprise and Runtime Engine

Katalon LLC | 7.4.2

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 10.0.14393 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

22 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jeremiah S.

Powerful tool for automation and testing

  • September 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Katalon Studio presents a powerful platform to setup automation and/or testing environments. It's ability to capture Web functionality and inputs as well as setting up test case suites that can run on an automated basis, makes it a clear winner for IT departments looking to automate and move to a better testing environment. In addition, the reporting allows you to focus and hone in on any trouble spots and get specific information of what went wrong and where. The ability to group test cases into suites and projects as well as have repositories of web parts to reference across all code scripts is beneficial.
What do you dislike?
In previous versions of Katalon it allowed for stand alone automation of tests using a batch file without additional costs. Now however, it requires purchase of an engine if you want to run these in the background.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We currently setup katalon (earlier version) to automate verifying single sign on sites we host. The process runs on a scheduled basis, calls Katalon Studio test suites and runs through pulling up each site and logging in and verifying it reaches an acceptable point. We also use in running automated tests on our various APIs to ensure code integrity when changes are made.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download the trial version and actually dive in and setup some testing suites. Get familiar with the scripting language and all the powerful features available.


    Daniel H.

Katalon is Versatile and Beautiful

  • April 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Katalon is a singular tool that I can use for both frontend and API testing. I am able to automate API tests and validate them using test cases. I can also create test suites that I can run whenever I need to test multiple different functions of an application. I also like that I can program tests to perform differently depending on circumstances.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that learning how to code using Katalon is not very intuitive. I also dislike the speed in which front-end UI tests run. The support for using Katalon studio feels outdated or nonexistent at times. I have trouble finding information on how to program different things.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to automate API tests which make it much faster for me to test the core functionality of the projects I am working on. I am also able to build and run front end tests by simply recording my actions on the screen.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think that Katalon is best used for their easy to create front end tests. I think it would be ideal for large test scenarios involving multiple complex steps. Integration testing is it's speciality. I do not think Katalon is really cut out for extremely fast front end tests though. I also think that utilizing Katalon for it's automated API testing is a great idea because of the flexibility it provides with global variables as well as test-specific variables. If you really want your tests to be dynamic depending on certain aspects of the user's experience, you could even incorporate conditional statements.


    Information Technology and Services

Open source tool to automate various application with less complexity.

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am very much satisfied with katalon studio. Its a very user-friendly automation testing tool. Since it can be used to automate, web applications, mobile applications as well as web services, It helped me a lot to gain wider exposure in different fields. It supports Java and Groovy language, and since java is very user friendly and world wide used accepted language, so it gains wider exposure.
What do you dislike?
Capturing XPATH could be better for dynamic objects.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's record and play back capability also helps a lot in my office work. Its functionality of providing in-built templates for maintaining the object repository, test cases and custom keywords also helped me a lot.


    Manish B.

Good tool for non technical testers who wants to start Automation

  • November 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Once you are done with the basic setup you can start adding your tests because 50% of the setup is already done by the Client we download.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't support AWS device farm so we can not run automation on that.
Community website doesn't have more people to each other and because of that we have to rely on stackoverflow for resolution of issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mobile App automation for Android and iOS platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
IF you are not good at coding or dont want to get stuck in setup part then Katalon studio is for you.
Less coding and record and play tool.


    Gerardo D.

Open source software for all!!

  • November 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You do not need coding experience to start automated scripts.
I used it for putty which connects to VistA Cache.
I will start using it for web applications without previous coding experience.
What do you dislike?
The new version that was released comes with bugs that we will report.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use old VA software but we are still able to run automated scripts with Katalon.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
how can this be implemented with Jira.


    Rushantha C.

Katalon is one of the best automation tool

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use and don't want to high technical knowledge to use it. I'm using Katalon nearly 1yr.
What do you dislike?
sometimes difficult to capture some elements using web spy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
normally i'm doing web application automation using Katalon studio. previously I used selenium web driver. After i decided to use Katalon rather than using selenium.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product to use for test for automation for beginners and also intermediate peoples


    Information Technology and Services

start automation

  • September 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great software for automation of your application whether it is web, API or mobile application
What do you dislike?
none as of now


































What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am automating my current business application
Easy to learn and less coding
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool to learn for automation


    Computer Software

Automation made easy

  • September 07, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it provides the best automation features i can record the the steps and make it automated(i can run it whenever i want).
Easy UI
API recording is also great feature
What do you dislike?
it has limited support to scripting
some time it hard to automate mobile application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i have used to automate the web testing process which reduced my testing time and efforts
Recommendations to others considering the product:
katalon Studio will make testing very easy and faster so your testing will be reduced


    Vincent H.

For those just starting to Test

  • August 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This tool is codeless and allows testing on WebApps, API & Moblie Apps without any programming knowledge.
It sets out in a very maintainable way the objects, test cases & test suites.
What do you dislike?
When you get to grips with some form of programming you will find that you are limited in translating them into scripts.
I was never able to get parallel testing to function.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing mobile apps with Appium and a virtual mobile device has been great as the code is reusable and testing multiple virtual devices is simple.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
An excellent starting point to testing with codeless testing


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to learn, incorporate into process

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I appreciated how easy and quick we could get up and running with Katalon. We were building simple test within a day.
What do you dislike?
Have had a few stumbling blocks that don't have an intuitive solution, but have managed to overcome with online research/forums/documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Katalon Studio is increasing the quality of our solution, improving our quality testing to deliver a more robust product to our clients.