Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 LAMP

Teneturismo Attagar | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 LAMP

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Linux/Unix, Red Hat 8 Enterprise Linux 8.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

221 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniel Q.

The operating system

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a multiplatform product, it has adequate support, it supports several critical level applications, it is a good option for the deployment of any application.
It is supported on various virtual and hardware platforms.
What do you dislike?
The cost of the product, and the complexity of implementing control tools, it is necessary to have advanced knowledge to carry out a correct deployment of some fairly complex application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server deployment and control for the distribution of security patches.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider other alternatives to the Linux distribution, since there are others on the market that provide better service at the level of support and product.


    Alternative Medicine

Get hold of everything and customise as you like

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can customise almost anything and tune the system according to our likes.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike as such. It is perfect for system administration and running softwares.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL serves as great for custom software deployment and tuning of databases according to need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great operating system considering you want to take control of what's happening at system level.


    Telecommunications

Short review of Redhat Enterprise Linux

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rhel is a pretty secure OS. It meets my needs for hosting almost any applications. Very stable and fast. Hardly crashes unlike windows systems .
What do you dislike?
You got be able to understand Linux else it would be hard. And also rhel is currently not free like centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using rhel is great for databases, web hostings. Very stable and hardly and crashes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want good stable os, choose redhat


    Kiril C.

RPM distributive for running your business stable and sustainable

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
rpm based distributive.
Open source
Distributive developed for the commercial clients.
RHEL server version support x86-64 architecture.
RHEL subscription is available for free on development purposes
Has academic and student additions for desktop and workstation machines.
What do you dislike?
1 year RHEL subscription is not cheep.
You can get latest security pathing update only if you have the subscription enabled.
If you don't have active subscription you also can not upgrade to lates distributive version.
If you don't have active subscription you can not use RHEL forum and portal.
All based and linked on a subscription.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
server farm for database and mailflow solution..
Using for virtual machine on vmware hypervisor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to discover and try red hat world.
RHEL8 is a good item to start your journey


    Lovdeep P.

safe and secure

  • September 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to access. Open Source. we can install our own packets
What do you dislike?
it's more difficult to find applications to support your needs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were solving user issue. Mainly Issue related on the apps we are using.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease and secure system for business applications


    Higher Education

RHEL is still an industry standard, but there are other compelling options to consider.

  • August 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat offers great support and their education and certificate options are second to none. The company has a rich history and thus far it appears as though IBM is going to allow them to continue without meddling. It appears that their entry into containerization is well thought out. I also liked the length of time they support their releases -- this is important if you don't need to kep on the bleeding edge of distributions and value stability over feature set. In this way you don't sacrifice security.
What do you dislike?
We found that we were having to compile too much software that we could get pre-packaged using a debian/Ubuntu distribution. Support, while very good, did cost more than from Canonical. Automated patching was not easy or straightforward for us without significant work and customization. There are some specialized packages, especially dealing with image and pdf conversions, which are much easier to install and keep up to date on debain based operating systems. We found that this ease of updating was more important to us in many cases than the other benefits Red Hat provides.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have platforms which require a unix-like operating system to run. Red Hat provided that for us. We have not yet made the pivot to containerized workloads, however. Uptimes for our Red hat servers were much better on the whole than for those servers we ran on Windows. Where possible we opted to go with Linux based operating systems rather than Windows, for both cost and stability reasons.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider looking at containerization if it fits your use case. Look at specific packages you require and determine their availability on multiple platforms if you are not able to containerize. Support costs should be considered as well, of course.


    Oil & Energy

Open Source Reliable Operating System

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was supported by Red Hat Company. It is very stable. It is certified.
What do you dislike?
To access the repository we need to enroll a subscription
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need a reliable server for our Oracle Database, so we used Red Hat Enterprise Linux.


    Sachin M.

One of the best OS experiences!

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux gives a really great experience if one wants to work at the administrator level, controlling the operating system very closely. Many other operating systems provide great user experience but not many let you control them at the level that this operating system lets, at the administrator level, allows you configure so much.

One of the best thing is the support from the Red hat Community that you get, it compensates for so many other factors, one for example price.

If one wants to learn about the various OS features while being able to control so much of the OS, this is a great recommendation.

Kudos for Red Hat Community!
What do you dislike?
One thing that can be considered a dislike could be the price. Apart from the price, there are some softwares that it does not support. Linux is a kernel whereas Red Hat is a distribution of that Kernel, so the size is comparatively large and thus compatibility is an issue in some cases. But there are other factors which nullify all of this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have always had interest in Operating Systems and Linux kernels have always been better experiences for me than Windows OS or Mac OS having used both of them also.
Red Hat distribution provides much better security and salient networking features if I'm experimenting something, like network tunnels for example.

Being a programmer, it helps so much in understanding how the OS implements features and how operations are performed. Working with the help of Red Hat commands is a cherry on top, undoubtedly.


    Vinayak S.

Linux Heaven For Programmers

  • July 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL's Security which comes by default with it and which can further be enhanced. Package manager is much better as with the software it will install the dependencies also.
What do you dislike?
GUI can be improved. Upgrade policies between major versions like RHEL 5 To RHEL 6 were hard to understand.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Red Hat linux enabled us to achieve uptime of 5 nine's 99.999%


    Bittu T.

Best OS for Ansible automation

  • July 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a lightweight OS which runs seamless
What do you dislike?
the most thing is I don't like is that is not a free OS. it is costly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Automation using Ansible
2. DevOps works
3. Hosting website
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes it's highly recommend for Automation of DevOps and cloud