Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 with support by ProComputers

ProComputers.com | RHEL-8.5-Minimal-20211112-10GiB

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

313 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Defense & Space

Great quality that I recommend

  • November 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red hat was used at my previous position daily. The open source support and compatibility with all applications our team used was impressive and ideal. Never had any problems.
What do you dislike?
Using red hat Linux does take some getting used to, especially if you're a Microsoft only kind of person. It doesn't take long to feel confident though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My application was in defense and space with the programming of the different pieces in a military contact.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I definitely recommend others to look into red hat Enterprise Linux for their needs (with a real consideration towards their team's capability and strengths).


    Higher Education

RedHat Linux

  • November 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The speed and the user friendly environment helps finishing jobs early.
What do you dislike?
The RedHat Linux has various compatibility issues with R and python versions which should be taken care of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it for NGS.


    Charles J.

The best server operating system every created

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The operating system is rock solid and versatile. It can run for months with the most minimal of TLC (trust me I have done it). It comes with everything you need to run a basic website, a LAMP site, or a standalone database just by installing a few extra pieces of software that automatically come with the distribution. Just looking for a better desktop, okay; just put it at run level 5 and you have it. I have been using it for ten years for everything from database and web hosting to filling out surveys on my laptop.
What do you dislike?
Finding affordable training is very difficult. In fact, in my experience the only training provide for Red Hat Linux is the main vendor and the resellers. There is not much, if any, wiggle room on the price.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Red Hat Linux as the back bone for core business infrastructure and have seen a high ROI in the way of uptime and overall stability. One system that was migrated from Windows to Red Hat had to be rebooted every three days in order to prevent a crash. After the migration, it ran non-stop for an entire month before we just took the system down for patches.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The great thing is you can try it before you buy it. Go to the website, download a trial copy, and play around with it. You will not be disappointed.


    Jason B.

Solid foundation for enterprise apps

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The OS is extremely stable.
Reboots are pretty rare, usually necessitated by running applications or the JVM (no fault of the OS really).
We have setup authentication against a windows Active Directory, which is convenient in a mixed environment.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike about RedHat. Generally (for all Linux) the command-line centric interface is a double edge sword, powerful yet potentially difficult for the novice SysAdmin.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We just need a rock solid OS to run enterprise applications, mostly within a Java VM.
Red Hat does this very well. It just works and works, which is what we need in an OS.


    Research

Great solution for group computation

  • November 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has an easy to operate interface, and it can be installed on many machines.
What do you dislike?
Not everyone has intuition for linux and this tends to lead to a high learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It solves the need for united computation. It has realized such. This is to run particular software that is specifically run off the command line.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a safe and reliable operating system and it runs smoothly on many machines. The only downside is the learning curve.


    Broadcast Media

Redhat Linux

  • October 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Operating system is widely used in every aspect of IT. Some aspects in my organizations are PABX installation (Asterick, Elastic, FreePBX). Installation steps are quite easy. The Operating system is easy to deploy and extremely fast. Also you can configure any settings either on a GUI or CLI or the terminal.

Red hat OS is a very secure OS and not so prone to viruses. Red Hat operates on a professional open-source business model based on open code, development within a community, professional quality assurance, and subscription-based customer support. They produce open-source code so that more programmers can make further adaptations and improvements.

Red Hat sells subscriptions for the support, training, and integration services that help customers in using their open-source software products. Customers pay one set price for unlimited access to services such as Red Hat Network and up to 24/7 support.
What do you dislike?
It is not user friendly as compared to windows OS versions. Sometimes might need to be worked on the CLI rather than the GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been able to develop better security on our applications, PABX solutions run effectively on our outbound Campaigns. My company presently uses a CRM solution which runs on Linux Red hat, apache and SQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For Implementation of solid PABX systems such as Elastic and asterisk Free PABX, I would these recommend Linux Operating systems


    Jeffrey T.

RedHat Enterprise Linux is a great resource for support for RedHat Linux

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The online support resources are very good
What do you dislike?
We use the less expensive Academic version, so there is only community support, which is not always as helpful as a live person for certain problems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We rely on RedHat Linux for our group, so this product allows us to solve many issues we have with their support offering. Their support is substantially better than CentOS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need support, particularly for complex environments, RHEL is the way to go. However, if you need the latest, cutting edge updates, you may want Fedora. RHEL is usually behind on kernel versions and software packages. It really is mean for Enterprise; those locations that want stability over latest Linux updates.


    Administrator in Information Technology and Services

Awesome and robust

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the focus on containerization. A plus is definetely security and the development speed. Also the registration process is easy compared to e.g. SUSE especially for containers.
Red Hat is going the right way with the focus on containerization and scalability.
What do you dislike?
The repo policy is sometimes confusing and to get up to date programs can be annoying. For example the php shipped is outdated and you have to extra repositories to get an up to date version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run tests for deployments of our Software (owncloud) and RedHat is the go to vendor when it comes to scalability, trust and reliability. It is used widely through our customer base and is well known and trustworthy all the way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Awesome product and ease of registration for enterprise ready containers.


    Information Technology and Services

Linux awesome experience

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Features, the support from community and the low TCO.
What do you dislike?
Not much UI, recently seeing more security threats
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
using to support enterprise wide systems. Lower TCO, cost of maintenance is low. Good community support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Few yrs back I discounted this product for enterprise solutions. But now-a-days the product is robust and one of the leaders.


    Government Administration

Open OS with security

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CLI and wide range of commands to do your job, scripting ablity
What do you dislike?
it lacks the GUI power to support users with no or less knowledge of cli
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
print-server, DNS servers, DHCP servers and file servers