Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 with support by ProComputers

ProComputers.com | RHEL-8.5-Minimal-20211112-10GiB

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

299 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

RHEL: Stability, at a Cost

  • January 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is intended to provide long-term stability to its users. You may not get the newest versions of packages, but you can be pretty sure they won't break on you. The yum package manager is also very useful. The first Linux systems I used were all Debian based, so I was accustomed to APT, but yum offers essentially the same functionality, which is nice.
What do you dislike?
You don't get the newest version of packages. This is a trade-off with stability, but it's still a bummer that you don't have easy access to more recent software. RHEL 6 also uses Gnome 2 by default, which feels seriously outdated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use RHEL in the research lab I work in. RH's package manager (yum) took some getting used to but is easy to use and very useful. It's also nice to know that everyone in the lab is on the same version.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If stability is a high priority to you, RHEL is a good choice. Be mindful that you'll miss out on the newest versions of software, however. All in all, the version of Linux you choose doesn't matter too much, since you can customize most things.


    Computer Software

Enterprise = Reliability

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability you get with the Enterprise edition of RedHat. My experience with RedHat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) was actually in college. My school used a cluster of these machines in a Linux lab that made school projects and development a breeze. The ability to remote into them was a fantastic ability. As long as the school's internal network was up, there were generally no issues.
What do you dislike?
There were times when particular machines would "go down" or become unresponsive. When that was the case, I just had to connect to a different machine in the cluster of machines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having the license to deploy dozens or more machines with RHEL can help achieve a very reliable cluster of Linux servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider RHEL only if you need a reliable cluster of Linux machines. Obviously as a consumer or for less important use cases, you could use one of the many open source Linux distributions out there. There are other alternatives which also provide reliability.


    Hans D.

The go-to enterprise Linux distribution

  • January 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat is universally recognized by businesses as the gold standard for Linux distributions. With great support, a great user community, and being a platform that many packages and applications are based off of, implementing Red Hat is one of the best decisions a company looking for a solid Linux partner can make.
What do you dislike?
Red Hat is one of the most expensive distributions out there. That cost comes with great support and service, but there are other enteprise-grade distributions that are far cheaper and provide similar functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Red Hat is the foundation for any enterprise-wide Linux solution. It is a solid solution for web, email, file sharing, IT security, and policy management deployments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out other distributions based on Red Hat such as CentOS to see if the distribution, pricing, and support make more sense for your business, especially if you are not needing the level of support a Red Hat support contract provides.


    Consumer Services

Multipurpose Linux OS, works for development and production

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Worked with RHEL 6+ quite a bit and found it really great for day to day use for my job. We also had similar systems on production so it made for a great testing environment as well.

I have used RHEL on a daily basis for over 3 years and it something that never made me miss traditional operating systems like Windows or Mac.
What do you dislike?
While RHEL has support for lot of software I would use, there were several times when I would need some software to work with it and it either wouldn't or there was a problem with packages. Installing software on command line was a nightmare. It lacks support documentation among other things as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL was sort of replicating our production systems, it was stable and hardly crashed which made it a great development environment which is why our company invested heavily into it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very similar to other desktop experiences, so things would be easy to switch over to.


    Research

Generally a more reliable version of Linux

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability of the packages from their repositories is one of the best reasons to use RHEL. Also the remote management system allow the admin to regularly schedule packages and updates as well as remotely install new packages to all systems using their online tools. Hopefully this feature sticks around as they might be replacing it shortly.
What do you dislike?
Their current changes to centralize remote management of systems around the IT department rather than smaller groups. Some of the changes with gnome 3 and the other GUIs has been a little annoying. Gnome 3, which is now the standard GUI for RHEL, is taxing on the system performance. It's performance seems to be closer to Windows that to what Gnome 2 was like. One other annoying feature is how long it can take for them to get the most up to date packages in their repository. I feel like it takes them months to catch up with the not so reliable repositories.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using RHEL we have been able to customize our Linux distributions to our liking, installing all the repository packages we desire, and removing the ones we do not. RHEL has also provided a more stable environment within our cluster, and has simplified our interactions with older systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you understand their new remote management changes before purchasing.


    Information Technology and Services

Great for the job, comparable desktop experience with windows

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Have been a Windows/Mac user and RedHat is comparable with them when it comes to desktop experience. Also has all the great tools a Linux environment provides for developing software.
What do you dislike?
Lack of software which are popular on Mac and Windows, but it looks like they are catching up
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy access to Linux terminals and development experience and setup on par with our production software.


    Timothy S.

RHEL For Servers

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the gold standard of Linux. YUM is easy to use. All the software for development and servers is available for RHEL. Anything you want to do is available on RHEL.

RHEL supports containers and VMs and is the Linux you need.
What do you dislike?
RHEL is expensive and it is not the most frequently updated OS. It is good because it is reliable, trusted by banks, used in PAAS' and works. But if you want the newest features like containers, you have to wait a very long time. It's the use of new vs stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Java services and web services. RHEL just works, especially with JBOSS, Jetty and Tomcat. Postgresql and Mysql run very well on RHEL as do any Java enteprise servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out Centos and then see if you need and want RHEL. RHEL provides full paid support that can come in handy when issues arrive or you face weird problems. This has come up at some enterprises where things would have weird issues or things wouldn't work well together and RHEL support was able to fix it.


    Marius P.

We are the Premier Red Hat partner in Romania.

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a rock solid Linux operating environment.
What do you dislike?
Pricing is starting to be an issue.

There is not dtrace for linux.

There is no ZFS for linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Many problems are solved with RHEL ranging from the research institutions doing HPC to banking and financials.


    Yehuda K.

Responsive Support but package age is sometimes noticable

  • January 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support is the best. We had an obscure problem with CUPS and RH support jumped right into it and patched it. They even included us in the discussion between the developers of the best way to handle the problem, so we knew what was going on.
What do you dislike?
I get that so much of the stability of enterprise distributions comes from locking down the packages available from the system repos, but it really hurts interoperability between systems with different versions. Specifically, we have NFS mounted home directories and RHEL 7 systems use a newer version of Git than RHEL 5 systems and the git config files are not backward compatible, so we had a lot of users complain about errors when they used git as we upgraded machines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is great to run Linux servers with 1st class support for any issues that come up. We keep things simple, so any problems are usually due to actual bugs and when we send reports in, RH fixes them pretty quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We get academic pricing, so I honestly don't know the real-world cost, but it is probably worth it for mission critical systems.


    Nagarjuna Y.

RHEL - Best Linux Operating System for Enterprise Users

  • January 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. From RHEL 7 their OS run on everything, from the server in the back-room, to datacenters and the cloud there are no limitations compared to other vendors this possible because of apps on RHEL 7 run independently from the underlying operating system and from one another this enables me to move my Dockerized apps from a container on bare-metal to a virtual machine to a cloud as needed without limitations.
2. Redhat Linux has every feature which are required for the enterprise users after the release of Docker with in days Red Hat got partnered with Docker which is quite good thing.
3. Top-notch Support.
4. Integration with Satellite make the management quite easy
What do you dislike?
1. While all the other Linux distributions are free it is quite difficult to pay some bucks from your pockets specially for startups if it is a enterprise then there is no worry though CentOS (Red Hat's Open Source Version of Linux)is opensource and is available to use for free CentOS lacks behind for few weeks in case of features.
2.Licensing is the most frustrating thing there is no proper documentation and RHEL is quite expensive too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Operating System for our mobile back-end,Satellite integration made my life easier for managing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Redhat Linux only for users who wants their servers to be highly available,fault tolerant with automatic recovery otherwise it is better go with CentOS which is also a Red Hat OS which is an opensource version.