Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins Slave for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7

Kurian | 2.x

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

340 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Great tool for deployments

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins makes it super easy to set up jobs for whichever need. I use it to deploy services on-prem or in the cloud.
What do you dislike?
The interface is a little lacking. There is so much customization you can get a little lost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying applications.


    Computer Software

Jenkins: Build great things at any scale

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. It's opensource and can be used at any scale for free
2. Platform independent
3. Huge support from the community
4. Plugins available for most of the third-party services
What do you dislike?
1. UI and UX is very old as compared to other platforms
2. Sometimes integration can be difficult for some third-party services
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins is one of the best platforms for CI and CD. It's easy to install and use but sometimes it's difficult to integrate with other services.


    Computer Software

Jenkins Review

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is great software for creating a pipeline of jobs and automate the process. It serves as a great medium for CI. This has made our work automated. It offers different plugins which has made our job easier. It have great support for docker and kubernetes.
What do you dislike?
A lot of configuration setup is required before we can start using it. It might be cumbersome and tiring process for a new bie. User interface is very obsolete and looks like a decade old interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is good CI/CD Deployment. It is must have for Devops. It helps us in deployment on different machines in just few hours.


    Krinal P.

Essential tool for SDLC

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is a Java-based open-source server that is available for free. To accomplish continuous integration, a series of operations can be carried out in an automated way.
Jenkins can interact with most development, testing, and deployment systems thanks to hundreds of plugins. Moreover, all these plugins are also free to use.
We integrated Jenkins with Docker to generate docker image and deploy on Azure. Every time a single developer makes a contribution, the code is built. We can then determine the commit that caused the build to fail.
What do you dislike?
The UI/UX can be improved as compared to other tools available in the market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As DevOps components, Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery (CI/CD) facilitate the integration of multiple phases of the process.
A tool called Jenkins enables programmers to automate software builds in a continuous way and to receive early alerts of issues in the process.


    Vishwajeet S.

CICD with Jenkins

  • August 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simply your work with Jenkins.
Support every operating system.
Jenkins is fast in compression of other CICD tools.
We get a variety of plugins that make our work easy to complete.
What do you dislike?
While building projects, it takes too long to configure, which I don't like about Jenkins. Jenkins should increase the efficiency to build projects at a faster rate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins helps me to automate, where there is any task that should be automated than Jenkins is the first priority to complete the automation process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is the best tool to build projects freestyle or in pipelines.


    Jagruti P.

Jenkins : Review on my view point experience and usage

  • August 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-> This is an open-source tool, so everyone can use it free of cost and learn this as well.
-> Jankins has a vast amount of plugins, and it's also free, so anyone can add any plugin required for creating their pipeline to job done. I have used many like Jacoco to check the code coverage, Junit for the test, Sonarqube for code analysis, etc.
-> Jankins has open-source community support so you can post your query and get a response sooner, which makes your work faster if you are stuck due to some issues.
-> Easy CI/CD integration will save you most of the time and make you faster available for build on-premises.
-> I Like the most is the SCM feature which is source code management using bit bucket, git, or any repository. If you set up auto-build once user pushes their code, then it will start developing a Build.
What do you dislike?
-> Although I like all features of Jenkins, there are some that I faced when I was delivering my tasks :
1. It has many plugins, but sometimes, because not all plugins are updated as per current technology trends, they might not be compatible. For example, when I was using java 11 in my project and plugin support till java seven so it has wasted most of my time. Still, it was not valuable due to an incompatibility issue.
2. If you have too many pipelines jobs in the projects which perform the different tasks, then it is hard to manage all pipelines as the dashboard is not easily understandable due to the user interface of Jenkins.
3. When some issues occur due to plugins or any other reason, an error message is understandable or not human-readable language.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-> Creating a pipeline of my project, including automation of build creation and deployment, so this CI/CD saved my time in the deployment process. Once I commit my code, SCM will fetch the code through the pipeline and then start to build and deploy on the server, which saves a lot of time, especially if you are working on Agile methodologies where each sprint you have some deployment and go-live of system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure plugins are available as per technology trends; otherwise, you need to find alternate solutions


    Praveen K.

Jenkins : best continuous integration tool

  • August 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to integrate with other tools and software. For creating the end to end pipeline, it's a great tool to work with for DevOps and Linux admin.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the new plugins are not compatible with the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have created end-to-end pipelines for software development. Developers push the code on the github, and it will automatically get deployed on the Cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is the best continuous integration tool available in the open-source software community.


    Avinash Gourav S.

Easy for deployments.

  • July 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's so easy to use, i used to build my pkg over here, .yaml files
What do you dislike?
It goes down sometime while deploying the pkg.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used to build the pkgs.


    Binayak B.

Robust with Variety of integrations

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The number of integrations modules that it has is amazing along with the huge open source support for various upcoming products. Multiple language support for easy build of pipelines including groovy, bash etc. Easy to deploy solution with a good community support for most of the issues.
What do you dislike?
There could be a better Role based access control available with granularity on the access levels. Often being used with the root user it opens up attack surface quite a few number of times. Proper notification system for open access should be highlighted to users to notify them of the urgency to protect the resources as often Jenkins runs with elevated privileges.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Main component of Devsecops. Easy to deploy and integrate industry products. Not a very steep learning curve. Even simplest of logic can be implemented to check or validate environment with short code snippets. Easy to control job mechanisms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Amazing product, owing to a huge community to support for all queries, a very less learning curve and widespread industry usage.


    Computer Software

You can't go wrong with Jenkins

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is the standard CI/CD solution that everyone starts from. It is versatile, has an LTS version and a multitude of plugins suitable for every imaginable use case.
What do you dislike?
Plugin hell. It is very easy to get carried away and install each and every plugin that looks suitable for a use case and forget it installed, even when not using it. If you lack the discipline to work with very few plugins, you end up with a system with so many interdependencies that no upgrade is possible, and in the end, you are forced to abandon it due to complexity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins is used for building and testing software primarily. However, you can "subvert" it into a glorified cron scheduler that can run complex jobs and not necessarily shell or other scripts. You can also use it as a deployment system where you can program the logic of the deployment the exact way you want it. Finally, if you are up for the task, you can even use the agents it provides for remote execution for network/host management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is where you start your CI/CD journey from. If you make an effort to learn Groovy, it may be where you stay anyways. But even if you do not want to stay with Jenkins, it is this software and its capabilities that define the bar that every other CI/CD software needs to pass to be seriously considered by anyone. And that is why it is worth it to work with Jenkins.