Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins Server for CentOS 8

Kurian | 2.233

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

305 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gaurav S.

Jenkins is good for automation of product, easy to setup and integrate.

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins have good documentation for setup. Jenkins work fine with rails app and easy to integrate. It's open source, good community. We can easy to run multiple build simultaneous. All about good to start with new app.
What do you dislike?
We try to "CI SKIP" option with rails app. PR but Jenkins not detect it. It always run test. Ci skip is use when only document type changes in a pull request. These kind of PR's have not need to run test. We also try plugins but Jenkins not work. I think it also take a lot of resource for testing a build.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to setup and integrate. When we haven't enough time simply use Jenkins. Also it's open source. Automation of app. is cool feature with Jenkins.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For new project Jenkins is good startup integration. It have awesome features that are easy to use and good articles available on the web. When you have not any measure issue/problem with integration with it or automation process i can say it's good choice.


    Denis B.

An old friend is better two new ones

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* Jenkins very robust and stable software.
* Tons of plugins, for almost everything you ever need (that is also limitation)
* Very smooth start
* Very fast start from build jobs to build pipeline
* Pretty simple configuration
* Tons of information in internet and working recipes
* It is free and open-source
What do you dislike?
Main painful and week point of Jenkins it is it is open-source nature:
Tons of plugins - means some of them already pretty old, bugs not fixed. A lot of plugins duplicated own functions and sometimes conflict with other plugins. You need to be prepare yourself to google a peaces information, test them and repeat, while you will not find working recipe for your needs.
Old architecture of jobs makes you create tons of jobs that sometimes repeat itself (now jenkins moving to workflow plugin it allows do less copy-paste, but still has some edge cases. e.g it uses groovy 1.8 without possibility to change).
Another big disadvantage, it is pretty inconvenient to backup all your configurations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Build, test, deploy front-end code to CDN
2. Build, test, backend code, Github pull requests
3. Make immutable deploys and fast release cycles
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins worth to try, but it will require some time from your build engineer to make it what best suite to you.


    Eduardo S.

Great to integrate your development workflow

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is the best self-hosted CI there is. It takes a little while to set it up correctly, but once you do, there is no match.
What do you dislike?
The UI needs revamping and it should be easier to set it up. It takes too long to figure out which plugins you need and which of the 5 different options is the best, etc... Maybe some website that helped the community to better curate the best plugins would help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Jenkins to integrate with our code on Github, build the versions, run the complete suite of tests, and deploy to staging/production once everything was fine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take your time and set it up properly. It really works very well once you have the whole system setup to meet your needs.


    Retail

Continuous Deploy Continuous Happienss , with Jenkins

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of the Jenkins is it supports all the platforms or language. All you need to search for particular plugin you are looking for. Community is the strength of the Jenkins and it's motivated by open source contributions.
What do you dislike?
Since it's a open source too, it's a great tool and nothing to blame about the product as such.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been test my e-commerce platform and deploying using jenkins. I am successfully adopted CI culture with in the team. Seamless integration and team is very happy about that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One need to know what is continuous deployment and integration, nothing to do with the technical it's more of cultural change,


    Alan H.

the defacto tool for running tests and deploying code

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins simply works, it automates running my scripts. It has many plugins available for extra features and connecting with external sources.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins simply runs builds. It's so simple, there is nothing to dislike. It has many extensions, and some extensions have a few bugs but Jenkins itself is very stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run our tests automatically, similar to travis-ci.org. We have Jenkins builds for deploying software to production machines. These builds can be run programmatically through Jenkin's api so we no longer have to run command line scripts or ssh into machines to deploy code.


    Danny G.

Vital tool in my CI/CD toolbox

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is a comprehensive solution that has covered literally every build scenario I have encountered. When I am not just fooling around and I know I need build solution that is stable, integrates with everything, and scales - I turn to Jenkins. Critical features:
* Support for literally anything you want to build
* Support for nodes on special targets
* Scales
* Webhooks, Plugins, Scripting, Integrations
* REST API
* Remote triggers
What do you dislike?
Bless their hearts, they've really been trying on the UI - and improving, but it still screams legacy and it's fairly clear that their Web UI team hasn't really caught up. It's a turn off for many who look to Travis and others because they're sexier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cross-platform builds across many software tools in many languages, complete integration with entire back-office stack (Slack, Intercom, SFDC, Google Apps, GitHub, Jira, Bitbucket, Mandrill, etc), multiple, dependent builds against Pull-Requests and tracked branches, automated versioning and deployment of build artifacts, etc.

Jenkins has allowed me to drastically reduce my cost in testing and releasing software, while allowing me to release far more rapidly, with a stronger assurance of acceptance and quality.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suffer through the kludgy UI and look to the rich body of blogs and guides to see how others are utilizing Jenkins to solve their problems. While you're builds are probably not exactly alike, it's almost guaranteed that someone has asked the question you're stuck on and posted an answer online.


    Imran H.

used it extensively for our distributed CI system. also worked on plugin development

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the code readability , and ability to extend mechanism. also deployment is super straightforward.
Continuous integration systems are a vital part of any Agile
team because they help enforce the ideals of Agile
development
Jenkins, a continuous build tool, enables teams to focus on
their work by automating the build, artifact management,
and deployment processes
Jenkins’ core functionality and flexibility allow it to fit in a
variety of environments and can help streamline the
development process for all stakeholders involved
What do you dislike?
hudson documentation itself is not verbose,
Poor documentation
The most useful information found about Jenkins is on StackOverflow and various strange corners of the internet that careful Googling may sometimes find. The actual documentation for Jenkins is poorly organized and extremely vague and outdated. Documentation for plugins, even the plugins most heavily relied upon, is almost non-existent.
Outdated Interface
The Jenkins interface seems outdated and clunky by today's standarts.It does not follow good design principles, has no whitespace which makes the views feel crowded and confusing.
High overhead
Unlike some of the simple and hosted alternatives, users need to host and setup Jenkins by themselves. This results in both a high initial setup time as well as time sunk into maintenance over a projects duration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we solve a lot of automation and testing and also artifactory deployment via jenkins.
Highly customisable
Jenkins is by far the most customizable solution on the market. There are over 400 plugins to support building and testing virtually any project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use the latest workflow strucuture as suggested by cloudbees .


    Andrei R.

I use Jenkins for almost 8 years

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing in Jenkins is its simplicity to create build process I need. No matterer where do you store you code, no matter what language do you use - you can always make what you need.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins has old interface and navigation, so sometimes it's hard to use it. People also choose for the Look And Feel, so Jenkins team could improve it a little.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins helps me in organizing Continuous Delivery process. Out team is small, so we need automation very much.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a day or two. There is an adoption barrier, but once you configured it you will enjoy it.


    Blake C.

Used to kick of the building and deployment of outr code.

  • December 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is streamlined and has a breadth of functionality.
What do you dislike?
There is a bit of a learning curve, and finding the functionality that you need can occasionally be tedious
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to have a controlled way to build, track and deploy code to our servers.


    Education Management

the best Continuous Integration Software

  • September 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy integrations with other tools using plugins makes build automation and code integrations easier. with plugins for code analysis makes code review possible. I highly recommend jenkins for Continuous integration for mid sized companies. jenkins helps better automated deployments.
What do you dislike?
scalability is a main issue with jenkins. also queue priritization could be made better. automated deployments could be made better. could be made better console features.could be made better user profile managerment could be made better. design and test environments could be made better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
trying to integrate a huge core app with jenkins makes continuos integration easier