Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins Server for CentOS 8

Kurian | 2.233

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

311 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    David H.

Jenkins: IndieDev or Team - a tool for making pro software

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Extensibility; there a tool for practically every development and build automation you can think of.
What do you dislike?
Can bit initially hard to set up if you're not familiar with all of the supporting tools it needs for your given task; if you're doing iOS develop there is a lot more effort required to get everything integrated with Xcode, build profiles etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Build automation for iOS applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you really understand your development & deployment process before you attempt to bring Jenkins into the mix. if your current system it heavily tied to a single user or group of users you will really want to break those cycles before trying to use a CI system like Jenkins. Alternatively if you want to find all the places your build process will break and all the holes in your deployment system trying to dive into Jenkins will do that for you. Be prepared to spend a couple of weeks working out the kinks and adjusting your development regime so that your devs don't break the build process over & over not even talking about failing tests here... just the building process part).


    Steve F.

Flexible, well-supported, enterprise-class CI available for free.

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Highly flexible, customizable, and free/open source build automation that actually works well for any automated process. Comes with a wide selection of plugins and a great community.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins is still in need of some visual modernization (full responsive design, updated/customizable icons, minimalistic but effective visual cues, etc.). It would be nice to see an official mobile app as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In addition to using Jenkins for all of our building and deploying of code (ASP.NET, C#, VB.NET, Classic ASP, static HTML, etc.), we have switched to it for every job that we have. Since it is able to run terminal commands directly (Windows batch commands, PowerShell, Linux bash commands, etc.), we have configured it to run jobs that run SQL commands, sync files, create feeds, load balance our web servers, and more.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out. Don't be scared off by a slightly outdated-looking UI - this is a very advanced and modern application.


    Ananyo S.

Integrated build system for your projects

  • December 12, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Their motto is continuous integration and it really rings true when you see your projects getting built and instantly deployed when you make a simple push. Jenkins is quite easy to set up. It can be configured to pull directly from your repo like github and push to your server at openshift or digitalocean. It shows build status, what process is running and the console output of the process, every build status can be recorded and you can review builds that failed. You can even manually start a build from recent copy. All this can be done from the web interface
What do you dislike?
The web interface in itself is clunky and not so straightforward. I had to jump through some hoops to enable github hooks to build at git push.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have a website in openshift that I use to manage the login system of our club. It was hosted on openshift and openshift mandated ssh git access to push but in our network ssh is blocked. Github worked because of https. Used jenkins to sync the repo. Now I could directly push to github and get the job doen, as simple as a push.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is not as easy as github or openshift, both of these have beautiful interface, easy to spot options etc.. It takes some time to configure jenkins if you have never done this before but once it is set up, you can pretty much forget it. Try it once.


    Information Technology and Services

Most customizable CI

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In Jenkins we can do almost everything we want, you don't have restrictions like others CIs, for example, here we build and deploy mobile projects without restrictions.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes when we want to do simple stuffs we can't just click and it's done.
For example in others CIs, like Travis CI or Cicle CI we can add a yaml file and just wait for the configuration, in Jenkins we need to setup the project, but at least we don't have restriction about what we can do
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using jenkins to build mobile applications, using master and slaves for Android, iOS and Windows Phone. We also use for web applications and integration with AWS and deployment to mobile stores. The principal case that we need Jenkins to solve is to build iOS projects at Mac slave.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins can solve all of your problems to automate, integrate and deploy/delivery, but you'll need to study the documentation.


    Hélio C.

Community Software. Also known as Hudson

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very customizable tool to keep your coding working. Fits well for teams of any size. By running your source code automated tests, you and your team can easily check if that modification will work into production environment as expected/designed.

Jenkins works with a vast range of languages such Java, PHP, Ruby, Python, Clojure, etc. There are tons of templates for each languages ready to be deployed into your own Jenkins' copy, avoid you to redo/search lots of its configurations.

Jenkins can runs Unit Testing, Functional/Acceptance/End-to-end tests; Frontend tests (Casper.js, Mocha, even Selenium is well supported).

There are tons of analytics plugins to keep your code quality based on language's metrics and best practices.

It's a free and open source software, so, you do not fear to get your code check by Jenkins.

Another import thing to mention is: Jenkins has at least 5 years of constant development by open source community. You can easily found Q&A on how to setup, configure, customize it on the Internet.

I do recommend if you have some deploy experience.
What do you dislike?
There is no SaaS version. You need to download and push to your own server to use it.
Also, it's a little bit ugly in a UI wise but it does not compromise in any way your daily basis use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuous Integration; Continuous Deployment; Code Static Analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Price; Community support; Features


    Shayne V.

Jenkins Review From A QA Engineer Perspective

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins has worked out very well for continuous integration for our team. It helps keep code cleaner by providing fast feedback if new code pushed into the repository breaks the build. The nightly builds are utilized by QA quite often to perform in sprint testing and write test cases.
What do you dislike?
As a QA Engineer who writes automated tests, I don't personally write code for our application, however, I hear from our developers that updating Jenkins can be quite tedious which is a drawback. For me personally, the UI looks outdated and can be improved upon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuous integration helps keep our product cleaner and the nightly builds are great for QA to grab the latest and greatest to perform in sprint testing. QA uses the nightly builds quite often to write up to date test cases before they start official QA.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Giving QA access to your nightly builds greatly improves the QA process and to keep test suites up to date. These builds help QA get an early start with in sprint testing before the official QA process begins.


    Gaurav S.

Jenkins is good for automation of product, easy to setup and integrate.

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins have good documentation for setup. Jenkins work fine with rails app and easy to integrate. It's open source, good community. We can easy to run multiple build simultaneous. All about good to start with new app.
What do you dislike?
We try to "CI SKIP" option with rails app. PR but Jenkins not detect it. It always run test. Ci skip is use when only document type changes in a pull request. These kind of PR's have not need to run test. We also try plugins but Jenkins not work. I think it also take a lot of resource for testing a build.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to setup and integrate. When we haven't enough time simply use Jenkins. Also it's open source. Automation of app. is cool feature with Jenkins.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For new project Jenkins is good startup integration. It have awesome features that are easy to use and good articles available on the web. When you have not any measure issue/problem with integration with it or automation process i can say it's good choice.


    Denis B.

An old friend is better two new ones

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* Jenkins very robust and stable software.
* Tons of plugins, for almost everything you ever need (that is also limitation)
* Very smooth start
* Very fast start from build jobs to build pipeline
* Pretty simple configuration
* Tons of information in internet and working recipes
* It is free and open-source
What do you dislike?
Main painful and week point of Jenkins it is it is open-source nature:
Tons of plugins - means some of them already pretty old, bugs not fixed. A lot of plugins duplicated own functions and sometimes conflict with other plugins. You need to be prepare yourself to google a peaces information, test them and repeat, while you will not find working recipe for your needs.
Old architecture of jobs makes you create tons of jobs that sometimes repeat itself (now jenkins moving to workflow plugin it allows do less copy-paste, but still has some edge cases. e.g it uses groovy 1.8 without possibility to change).
Another big disadvantage, it is pretty inconvenient to backup all your configurations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Build, test, deploy front-end code to CDN
2. Build, test, backend code, Github pull requests
3. Make immutable deploys and fast release cycles
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins worth to try, but it will require some time from your build engineer to make it what best suite to you.


    Eduardo S.

Great to integrate your development workflow

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is the best self-hosted CI there is. It takes a little while to set it up correctly, but once you do, there is no match.
What do you dislike?
The UI needs revamping and it should be easier to set it up. It takes too long to figure out which plugins you need and which of the 5 different options is the best, etc... Maybe some website that helped the community to better curate the best plugins would help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Jenkins to integrate with our code on Github, build the versions, run the complete suite of tests, and deploy to staging/production once everything was fine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take your time and set it up properly. It really works very well once you have the whole system setup to meet your needs.


    Retail

Continuous Deploy Continuous Happienss , with Jenkins

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of the Jenkins is it supports all the platforms or language. All you need to search for particular plugin you are looking for. Community is the strength of the Jenkins and it's motivated by open source contributions.
What do you dislike?
Since it's a open source too, it's a great tool and nothing to blame about the product as such.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been test my e-commerce platform and deploying using jenkins. I am successfully adopted CI culture with in the team. Seamless integration and team is very happy about that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One need to know what is continuous deployment and integration, nothing to do with the technical it's more of cultural change,