Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Karaf on CentOS 7 by Neodoo

Neodoo Microsystems | centos_7_karaf_4.2.8_v1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mohd S.

Server

  • September 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is the best server to connect with JSP, servlet, and other java technologies.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, but all the time need to compile if changes have been made.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can test in real-time applications that need to go live. We can test before going live.


    pranjali s.

Used Apache Karaf , while using jboss fuse for supporting requests from multiple platforms

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works as a standalone container. Supported multiple platform
What do you dislike?
It felt quite complicated . The solutioning had quite long process of sending a request from database to the outbound application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had a b2b outbound solution , wherein we were getting requests from multiple platforms . Karaf was quite helpful
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recommended


    Financial Services

Apache karaf application server Benefits

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s very easy deploy either directly or using devops . Also have command based to Manages environments. Good handles on server load in distributing system and great on process management and memory management
What do you dislike?
Need to improve the cloud api call in order to update configuration and properties
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have applications with heavy load on memory and cache occupancy so we chose karaf as our application server on a distribution slides so we can share the application load by share thread pool
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will always recommend as to do your deployment application on Apache karaf


    Marcel S.

First impressions

  • December 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick setup and running - in a SpringBoot application just add annotation @KafkaListener to your Consumer and you are good to go.
Also you can explore more complex setups while using a running application.
Also horizontal scalability is a big like.
What do you dislike?
I wished that a graphical explorer interface would be provided for inspecting topics
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Synchronization between legacy code and new developed application. Just used single point of change in old application to be able to export data that can be consumed by multiple new apps, in different ways.
Also persistence of messages removed a concern about disaster recovery or simple crashes of kafka consumers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Solid performance, robust implementation. It is very easy to start and build as you go.


    Sporting Goods

Karaf Container is a modern and polymorphic container.

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Folder based hot deployment, Centralized Logging System,It has it's own way of provisioning bundles and start levels. (org.apache.karaf.features) and Karaf has it's own maven plugins as well.
What do you dislike?
1) Class-loading is the most obvious challenge when using OSGi.
2) some open source libraries may be not fully compatible with OSGi infrastructure and it may be hard to use them out of the box as it is in standard Java applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OSGI bundles can be installed, started, stopped, updated, and uninstalled without bringing down the whole system


    Arpit S.

Best Match Fault Tolerant Server for Batch Application

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Deployment process of a batch applications was very simple in Apache Karaf even in the Clustered Environment.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the deployment of image on the servers were not reflected properly on all the servers so we need to re-deploy the application on all the servers again.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business requirement was to generate a transaction report in .csv format for all the Credit Card transactions. There was a huge amount of Data to pick and files that were generated after our successful run were in GBs. We need to run our Apache Batch application in a Clustered Way in and the process needs to be quick and fault tolerant.
With the Master/Slave Architecture the application was running on 10 servers in Apache Karaf in a clustered way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best server for batch applications


    Ahsan K.

Modularization approach

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Making logical independent modules,
Wrapping normal jar, predefined dependencies as a features, anatomy of each bundle, powerfull shell command and bundle life cycle.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes resolving dependencies takes so much time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1 Wrapping normal jar helps to embedded as a bundle.
2 Installing lucene dependencies as a feathers part, I was able to work on search on my application freely.


    Kaleeswaran K.

Developed nano service using Jboss Fuse and Apache Camel for banking application

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compatibility Set , OSGI bundle, Service, private and public API and modularity
What do you dislike?
Required expert to develop app using Fuse
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Versioning with compatibility set, Service discovery using Service, Easy scale and deploy


    Hospital & Health Care

Good implementation of poor standard

  • December 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nice implementation, in boundaries of OSGI achieves quite good results. It is the result of human design, it would be better if it is the result of more natural human action.
What do you dislike?
OSGI standard is artificial and too complicated. There are probably better solutions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Modularity, plug and play, scaling, maintainability


    Telecommunications

Karaf is awesome!

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Hot pluggablity of changes on the web server.
What do you dislike?
Nothing specific until now. It may be a challenge in the pure CNA
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mediation server with hot adapter updates
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if it fits the use case