Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Open Source Collaboration Platform for developers (Ubuntu)

Websoft9 | Mattermost 6.1.0 - Ubuntu 20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

264 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Telecommunications

Started using Mattermost as internal communication tool recently

  • November 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Provides a feature or a common place to hangout together so that even when the team is remote it makes it easier to communicate and get the job done. Also private messages and private channels are possible. Many of the features resemble slack but that is what great about it along with its enterprise-grade features along with deployment possible in private cloud. Also integration with other tools like gitlab, etc is pretty neat.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to dislike but the UI could be slightly better. I have personally liked Slack's UI and find it slightly better than Mattermost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Internal communication tools for deployment and development of software between people located remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think it is definitely a great tool for internal communications within teams and especially for teams who want to not only use a consumer facing tool but an enterprise grade solution which could be hosted in their own cloud or in a private cloud. Great for teams especially who are remote and makes collaboration between each other easier.


    Computer Software

fine for a free IM client

  • November 09, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to create channels, mobile application is helpful
What do you dislike?
sending attachments does not work well on PC, browser version often has bugs and does not communicate messates
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
real time collaboration and communication


    Henning C.

Mattermost for business purposes

  • November 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think Mattermost is one of the easiest ways to communicate with all of your colleagues. Whether on business matters or teambuilding related it is a reliable way to stay in touch. One of the best features among other is the ability to create purpose related channels, i.e. one for each department.
What do you dislike?
The desktop app works perfect for me but the mobile app freezes here and there on my Sony Xperia Z3. Also sometimes i get messages but am not notificated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sending files to co-workers is my main usage of Mattermost. It is a quick way to reach more than one person.


    Information Technology and Services

Useful tool for group communication

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We used this for a YC group and it was fantastic for sorting out the group communications.
What do you dislike?
I wish it would have a daily digest or something about activity on the channels I belong to without just having to have a message that is specifically relevant to me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was a group selection by YCombinator for a project that I was a part of.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for the usage I saw which was group communications.


    Achilleas K.

Free group chat application

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
***********************
MATTERMOST IS INSTALLED HERE IN MINISTRY OF EDUCATION
https://mattermost.minedu.gov.gr/login
All employee in the Department of Software have an account in mattermost and they are using mattermost daily.
*********************
We are using the application the last year in our company. We have created many diffferent channels defined by subject where you join the channel you like or work. The application has version for ios, android and desktop in linux and windows also.
What do you dislike?
I have not faced any problem until now. The application runs without any issue. It is free and we will continue using it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is free without any limit to our work compared to other similar applications like slack...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compared to other paid similar applications is the right choice.


    Internet

Mattermost & Me, the End User

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the group chat and the ability to join multiple groups. Mattermost is also used for meetings. Participants are on one site to communicate internally instead of switching to WebEx then back to MM.
What do you dislike?
The reply feature is not appealing. I often have to search for someone's response to my message. For some reason, the feature to reply to a specific thread isn't commonly used which makes it hard to organize or track responses to certain topics within a large group chat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mattermost is used as a chat option to reach out to team supervisors before escalating a customer issue. You also have an opportunity to share any questions, experiences or issues real time instead of chain emails.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Emojis were recently added back to MM. For a few weeks, they were not included. They matter because sometimes a smile, thumbs up or any other emoji adds some color and life to an otherwise black and white platform. I would suggest allowing my last message or icon for my profile to blink or change the font color. That way when I return to review responses I can easily locate it (especially when those who reply do not use the reply to thread feature).

I also like the feature that a chat message that includes your user name and is linked to your reply sends you an email when you are offline or you get a pop up window to let you know someone replied. This is most helpful when you are away and missed messages. You still receive an email. Also, it helps when you may be using another software and the pop up reminds you to return to the message.


    Marco C.

One of the best self-hosted chat solutions

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a solid, open-source solution if you want to move from Slack or similar proprietary software.
What do you dislike?
There are not so many integrations available and most of them require a certain amount of technical knowledge. It's not like Slack, where you can connect the system to other apps with a few clicks. So, if you're looking for some sort of integration, double-check the current availability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to coordinate a team of translators and reviewers located in different countries and time zones. We managed to streamline our processes thanks to Mattermost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a self-hosted, private alternative to Slack, and you have an IT department and resources to allocate to the implementation and setup, I'd warmly recommend Mattermost.


    Computer Software

It gets the job done

  • August 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface, easy to use, built with business in mind (they don't rely as much on fancy, shiny interfaces, but rather on delivering a simple yet powerful messaging system for large teams).
What do you dislike?
Having come from using Slack for more than 2 years, it seems somehow of a downgrade on some aspects.
There are fewer bots/integrations available, and, while Slack does a wonderful job of keeping in one place teams and messages specific to a large project, Mattermost seems to be more appropriate just as a simple messaging system, suitable for internal communications at your company, without providing the same facilities (not all at least) as Slack when it comes to managing an entire project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It enables fast, efficient communication between company employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for internal communications between company employees.


    Information Technology and Services

Good way to communicate with colleagues

  • August 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Can create channels to communicate on different topics
What do you dislike?
Layout - a little boring , too white - can improvise
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Makes communication easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good product


    Jaideep T.

Excellent alternative to Slack, Easy to Deploy and Private to your Network

  • July 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to setup in AWS, fast and responsive, has all the features of Slack and then some. All conversations are archived for reference. It also has a dark theme which I prefer.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I dislike at this point about the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cross Team collaboration and communication
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No brainer setup and replacement for Slack