Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GeoServer on Windows Server 2019

Cloud Infrastructure Services | 0.0.8

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

25 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Modern GIS and Mapping delivered by a monumental community effort

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Scalability and Affordability. While the technology itself is great and on par with Enterprise Mapping Servers, the most impressive achievement which the others cannot achieve are the scalability and affordability factors that an open source solution such as Geoserver can deliver.
What do you dislike?
The UI. While any UI is good for shell savvy users, it will still be good to have a more user friendly and modern looking UI. This will attract more high level developers and enterprise system architects and will convince them that this is a strong software in terms of capabilities. Also, the online resources and documentation for this software, its plugins and extensions, and the commonly used software pairings could be a bit more easily accessible in structured unified space. For now, setting things up and using the different capabilities sometimes requires visits to many sites and locations to achieve this goal
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Geoserver is capable of delivering me a strong technology for WMS and general GIS management through web application development.


    Richard M.

Great opensource solution

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-The fact that geoserver is open source and is based on OGC and has a clear laid out user documentation provided on their site. Being open source is a bonus when compared to ESRI solutions which can cost substantially more, this is a huge plus for a SME especially given current circumstances.

-The source code for geosever is very accessible

-Works very well with postGIS and handle Raster data with ease, I've found geosever capable of handling even our most storage hungry datasets
What do you dislike?
-Installation / tweaking an install was perhaps not the easiest but nothing to fear. S

-Can have issues when reprojecting into some co-ordinate reference systems.

-Personally struggled to get geosever accessible over https

-An obvious downside of geosever being free is the lack of support you would receive from the paid solutions ESRI provides. However there is a wealth of information, tutorials and help to be found for geosever.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Has allowed the GIS team to take full control of spatial data. The team can administer all spatial data before limiting what end users can see. By creating WMS/WFS of raster and vector data for the ecologists within the organization the relevant information is provided to them without being scared by using spatial data on their own computers. This was previously done using QGIS on desktop with a direct connection to PostGIS which I quickly changed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a wealth of knowledge available our there, when I first started using geosever in another role I worked through the tutorials on their site and played around with uploading data from different streams. Don't be afraid to ask questions on GIS stack exchange if you don't know something.


    Imran K.

Experience Based Opinion

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Connecting database and reflection information is quite smooth and easy.
What do you dislike?
Styling option are more complex, likely to deal with sld etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we were implementing geoserver in a project; the best thing is as an open source no cost at all. It's fantastic in that way actually a company can save thousands of dollar.


    Peter S.

Bushfire recovery

  • October 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Was very helpful for bushfire recovery maps offline to be joined online.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it is tricky to work out how to edit and whether what you havr mapped is draft or submitted.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Working in a silo but also collaborating.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not intuitive. Get a friend to help.


    Manjula B.

Totally cool

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an open geo server for sharing geospatial data
What do you dislike?
Performance problems, visualisation analysis
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can share all my geospatial data to the world without money


    Ahmed Hassan A.

Amazing GIS support

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy use to find any solution for project
What do you dislike?
Some time website hang and need to repoot
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tracking System solutions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Perfect


    Mohsin S.

REcommended

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data interpretability in KMLs from shapefiles
What do you dislike?
Processing speed in way long time for display
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Light files should be used to display with the corresponding symbology
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Coding with the review


    Sharjeel M.

User friendly from other servers

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Since it is an open source and it will help for students and researcher to update their skills in Geospatial technology. To connect different databases to retrieve information that can be displayed in a more friendly way inside a map was never easy.
What do you dislike?
I didn't find any technical glitches, may be its a open source there may be some security issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was trying to share data for data driven decisions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend for students and researcher to use and explore the concepts of Geoservers instead of ARCGIS server etc..


    Nazim Uddin A.

Geoserver is a very professional server where we can easily make queries of lat long data.

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is user friendly. Geoserver is a good summary rather than raw coding.
What do you dislike?
Very few people are award about Geoserver. If it is possible to open a branch office at Bangladesh.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I completed some land use data with Geoserver. At now I am working to build an app for COVID-19 where I will use Geoserver for locate the victims location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Every GIS expert should use Geoserver rather than raw coding.


    Ratheesh V.

Opensource Mapserver

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
create custom Map using Spatial Data & Data Export to different Spatial format Option, Custopn Map Styling CSS & SLD
What do you dislike?
while am Migrating the created custom Map in one Geoserver to another most of the time it's crashing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Last 6 Yer am working in Geoserver for Smart City Projects & CAD Emergency Dial 100 Projects for Street Basemap & 3D Layers & custom Layers, its help a lot to Easy the Geospatial visualization of spatial data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you looking for an Opensource Mapserver for
1) Custom Map & Layer Creation with you on Custom Style Using CSS & SLD.
2) Mainly Standalone Geoweb cache will help to improve the map perfomance.
3) CQL filters for data
4)